We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Roanoke
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (245)
Filter reviews
245 results
Traveler rating
240
5
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
240
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews skyline room guest kitchen bed and breakfast bamboo sheets wonderful hosts b b's one night every amenity kitchen area first floor fire pit the blue ridge parkway spent two nights top floor place to stay mill mountain star cookies
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 245 reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2019 via mobile

Chris and Jane are the most wonderful innkeepers-so warm and friendly. The Inn is beautifully decorated but not stuffy. Our arrival was met with a friendly greeting and a glass of wine. Breakfast was wonderful accompanied by great conversation with both Chris and Jane and their adorable little dog, Jax.
We would go back in a heartbeat. We highly recommend The Black Lantern Inn.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank JTB46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris-Jayne-A, Owner at Black Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2019

What a great way to start our day, reading your review. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2019

The Black Lantern Inn is one of the nicest B&B's ever. The room was warm and inviting, the breakfast amazing and Chris and Jayne such wonderful hosts. We can't wait to go back and sit in the back yard by the fire pit. Great location. Our new place to stay when visiting Roanoke.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Maps04538575094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris-Jayne-A, Owner at Black Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2019

We're so glad you enjoyed your w/e, and we look forward to that next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2019

• We stayed in the Skyline Room which is actually a studio apartment with the shared kitchen downstairs.
• Chris and Jayne were kind, welcoming and enthusiastic. Jayne made us the most incredible breakfast. Very healthy, very flavorful, very innovative.
• The Inn was immaculate.
• We picked up food from a near-by restaurant for dinner. The lasagna was (surprisingly) very good. Enough so we traveled with the left-overs for later.
• I’m not sure Roanoke would be a destination but the stop was a restorative and happy one.
• The Inn is on a main street so it had some street noise (not awful but noticed) until about 10pm.

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank Katie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Departure812403, Owner at Black Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2019

Thanks for taking the time to review, and we can't wait to try that lasagna!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2019

Our visit was wonderful. This was our first time staying at a B&B so we really didn't know what to expect, but the Black Lantern Inn set the bar very high. Chris and Jayne we're absolutely wonderful and we felt so welcomed. The suite was comfortable and the breakfast was delicious. We truly enjoyed chatting with our hosts and hope to visit again in the future.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jamiballen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris-Jayne-A, Owner at Black Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2019

So glad your first B&B experience was a pleasant one. Looking forward to continuing our conversation on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2019

The Black Lantern Inn was a beautiful, well organized, clean and homey B&B with generous and cheerful hosts, Chris and Jayne. Their hospitality is above and beyond. The outstanding breakfasts in the morning leave you feeling satiated and ready to explore Roanoke. The Black Lantern would be ideal for ANY trip to Roanoke - couples weekend, business, overnight respit, etc. I can't recommend this property and their hosts enough!

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Erin38110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Departure812403, Owner at Black Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2019

Thanks for that glowing review! We're so glad you enjoyed your time here and hope to see you again. Roanoke has lots to offer, and we're glad to be part of it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews