We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Beautiful, Clean, Great atmosphere, GREAT location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Lantern Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Roanoke
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Black Lantern Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Roanoke B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Suffolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Clean, Great atmosphere, GREAT location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

The Black Lantern Inn is not your "ordinary" B & B. All the finishes, done by both of the Inn's owners, are top shelf finishes, the pride of the owners shines through in the overall way the inn is decorated and cared for - which is not your typical "Victorian" type B & B - its more like a world class hotel suite...All I can say is, "WOW"... It went from a house that was falling down almost, to a classy, beautiful, and extraordinarily clean B & B. The breakfasts that Ron ,the innkeeper, (Who lives onsite) prepared for us, were wonderful. THey were not so filling that we couldn't eat later on, but certainly filling enough, to get us through to late afternoon. And delicious, on top of that. Ron and I happened to have the same love of the same type of music, and he put on some of that music in the morning for me. LOVED it. We also enjoyed chatting with both Ron and Claire. They are two very interesting people. The bed (kingsized and cushy) was the most comfy bed we've ever slept in in a B & B... and we've stayed in many. The sheets were soft,, 600 thread count, just superb. Everything about our stay was fantastic, and we will definitely be regulars at The Black Lantern Inn, when we go back to Roanoke.

Room Tip: The Venetian Room is on the first floor, is absolutely beautiful and comfortable. If you need that f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dragonflies8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
107
11
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

My husband and I had planned to spend one night in Roanoke before heading south to Asheville, NC, as many other travelers do. Staying in this wonderful B&B reminds me of why this type of lodging is so much better than in a hotel. The beautiful house has been redone by Ron and Claire, the owners, with the utmost taste and quality. Immaculate, well-appointed, comfortable. Ron greeted us warmly, offered good tips for restaurants (Local Roots, excellent!), and helped us get settled. We were greeted with home-made chocolate chip cookies, beverages, and basically access to the whole house, including the front porch. Breakfast the next day was delicious and filling, and got us through the Blue Ridge Parkway without having to have lunch. Ron kindly did everything to accommodate my food allergy as well as to assure our utmost comfort. This is the way B&B's should be. Ron is proud of his inn and of his hospitality, as well he should be. I couldn't recommend it more highly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pvf_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Beautiful B&B. I couldn't have asked for a more comfortable, cozy place to stay or a better host. From the moment you step foot through the door you know Ron not only put his heart into restoring the home, he'll also put 110% into ensuring your stay is as comfortable as can be. If we ever visit Roanoke again, we will definitely be staying at the Black Lantern Inn.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malacoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Look no further. This is where you should stay next time you are in Roanoke. The Black Lantern Inn is a beautiful bed and breakfast tucked away in the center of Roanoke within walking distance to many local spots. This 100+ year old home has been restored to perfection. There is not single nail out of place, nor a single squeak from the floor. Ron, our friendly host, is a true master craftsman and it shows. The design is thoughtful - our room was spacious and the bed super comfortable. AND, this place is spotless. As is common, we shared a bathroom with the other tenant on our floor. The Inn provides complimentary soda and beer, wine and champagne can be purchased at a very reasonable price through the honor bar. We arrived to yummy homemade chocolate chip cookies. As it happens, Ron can cook a mean breakfast, too.

The Black Lantern Inn is a little slice of heaven and we will be back. Do stay here the next time you are in town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Black Lantern Inn, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thanks Danielle and Michael for taking the time to write such a kind review. I just want to make a little correction for future guests. Each of the guest rooms has its own private bath, two en-suite and one located just outside the room. Your nice review has prompted me to label the bath door to avoid any further misunderstanding.
Sincerely, Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

After two nights in a local hotel with a noisy A/C unit in the room I canceled my remaining nights and moved to the Black Lantern Inn. Booking via the web site was easy and the location was very good with neighborhood areas to walk, parks and restaurants all very convenient. Appreciated amenities included free parking, Internet, use of a kitchen/refrigerator and wine and beer available for purchase. Accommodations were clean and charming. Working from the back deck was relaxing. Ron was a terrific host and he makes a delicious fruit and yogurt parfait!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

A night at the Black Lantern Inn is a welcome reprieve from the rest of the world. I recently had a lovely stay in the Skyline room, on my way to and from a conference. With the excellent ratings, I figured I couldn't go wrong booking twice. I didn't.

The innkeeper, Ron, is the absolute epitome of the best host ever. He seems to be able to sense whether you want to be alone, or hang out with him on the porch. We enjoyed his company, quite a bit, and not only enjoyed good conversation, but learned a lot in the process. We were extremely glad to have made his acquaintance.

Upon enquiring how he was able to create such a successful B&B, (and the building has quite a history, but I'll leave that for Ron to tell you), he told us, "Well, if you're going to have a good bed and breakfast, you should have good beds. And good breakfast."

Sounds simple, doesn't it?
There were $1,000+ Vera Wang mattresses, and gourmet, from scratch breakfasts, created by Ron. And it was not lost on us.

My friend and I only hesitate to write such a glowing review because we don't want our room all booked up. Roanoke is definitely on our destination list now, if only because of the Black Lantern Inn. http://c1.tacdn.com/img2/x.gif

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank haron62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cresco, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Wonderful experience. Breakfasts were awesome. The B&B is charming-the decor and attention to detail in the building and its furnishings and accessories is "spot on".....and the privacy and comfort offered are excellent. Claire was not present during our stay, but Ron was a great host and we all liked him immediately. Nancy served us breakfast and she is another gem in this jewel of a B&B

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
1.1 mi away
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.2 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#3 of 40 in Roanoke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
3.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Lantern Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Lantern Inn

Property: Black Lantern Inn
Address: 1526 Franklin Rd SW, Roanoke, VA 24016-5207
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Lantern Inn has charming and unique rooms with incredibly luxurious bedding, welcoming lounging areas, impeccable baths and great breakfasts.The hospitality and luxury amenities make a stay at our Inn an experience of warm ambiance found in distinctive bed and breakfast accommodations. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing