We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best breakfast in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Lantern Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Roanoke
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Black Lantern Inn
Save
You added Black Lantern Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 5 Roanoke B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This Inn is lovely! Painstakingly well thought out, each room is unique and comfortable. It's quiet and charming while Ron & Claire, the proprietors are respectful of privacy and very helpful. Ron did every bit of the rebuild himself and it is done to perfection! The breakfast of eggs Benedict over a potato cake instead of an English muffin is to die for! It is a fabulous little get away in the middle of town, close to everything and they even have loaner bikes to take out onto the nearby greenway bike trail! Perfect place!

Room Tip: The skyline room is really beautiful and cozy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovelylisa10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
101
11
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I just returned home from the Black Lantern Inn. Where to start? The house itself is amazing. I loved looking at the before and after photos. As stated in some other reviews, the renovation was detailed and every space within the Inn is both beautiful and comfortable. Then on top of the space is Ron. He claims to have just started cooking when he opened the Black Lantern. Can that really be believed?? The breakfasts were delicious - I've never had better pancakes and french toast. Everything was prepared fresh and at whatever time I desired. There is more than one space to eat breakfast, but I enjoyed the dining room facing into the kitchen. I felt right at home chatting with Ron as he was preparing the food. Definitely will be back to the Black Lantern if I return to Roanoke.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotia NY
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed here on a trip to take in the Skyline Drive and Blue Ridge Parkway; the Inn is exceedingly convenient for easy-on easy-off from the Blue Ridge. Our host Ron was very accommodating and obviously very proud of the wonderful restoration work he has undertaken on this beautiful old house. It is a pleasant walking neighborhood, and Ron directed us to a delightful restaurant just a short walk away. Every detail has been considered, and Ron's fresh cookies and gorgeous breakfast were a delight.
The room was sumptuously furnished with a very large comfortable bed. Proximity to I-581 is a little close, but that makes access from the highway convenient.
We would happily stay there again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the highway if available, although noise was not excessive and did not intr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RamblinMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We spent two nights at the Black Lantern Inn and loved it. The restoration work Ron did on the Inn has made it exquisite and welcoming. Everything was great: Ron's gracious greeting and help with everything from what to see and do to where to eat or jog, delicious chocolate chip cookies in the evening, spectacular breakfasts, beautiful room (The Venetian), very comfortable bed, lovely bathroom with jetted tub, fresh flowers in our room and at breakfast. We're sorry we don't have more occasions for traveling through Roanoke!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlancheIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The only negative I could possibly come up with is that it's kinda tricky to find. BUT beautiful place -- Ron redid it himself. Looks brand new inside. Spacious rooms and bathrooms. Wi-Fi. Flat screen tv's, super breakfast whenever we wanted.
Reasonable price for what you get. Don't think you could possibly go wrong with these guys.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redbaronjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

My two nights at Black Lantern Inn, May 3-4, were most pleasant. The bed part of the B&B was lovely -- very comfortable! And the breakfast part, wow! On the first morning Ron served the best blueberry pancakes I've ever had, scrambled eggs with herbs, sausage, diced fruit with yogurt and his signature potato cake. He takes great care with his cooking, and it really shows. The second morning was just as good: French toast, fried egg, bacon and potato cake. Yum!
The house is well decorated Roanoke style, with many interesting pieces of art and history. As it gets a bit warmer, it will be nice sitting on one of the three porches.
One tip: be sure to read the directions on the web site. Parking is off an alleyway behind the house, and the gravel drive is easy to miss. But once you get there, you'll be pleased.

Room Tip: I stayed in the downstairs room, a good choice for privacy and easy access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WhyNotPatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Along with my husband and 8 month old baby we spent a night at this wonderful inn. Ron is so welcoming, the rooms are beautiful and the breakfast was plentiful & fantastic. We highly recommend this inn. We had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NWAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
1.1 mi away
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.3 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#3 of 39 in Roanoke
4.5 of 5 stars 672 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
3.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
3.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Roanoke
Hyatt Place Roanoke
#9 of 39 in Roanoke
4.0 of 5 stars 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Lantern Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Lantern Inn

Property: Black Lantern Inn
Address: 1526 Franklin Rd SW, Roanoke, VA 24016-5207
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Lantern Inn has charming and unique rooms with incredibly luxurious bedding, welcoming lounging areas, impeccable baths and great breakfasts.The hospitality and luxury amenities make a stay at our Inn an experience of warm ambiance found in distinctive bed and breakfast accommodations. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing