We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wonderful B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Lantern Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Roanoke
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Black Lantern Inn
Save
You added Black Lantern Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 5 Roanoke B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

My fiancee and I stayed in the Venetian room for two days last weekend and it was a remarkable and lovely experience. We made arrangements to come in late at night and Ron graciously accommodated our arrival. The room was immaculate and beautiful, with a canopied bed and lovely rugs. Ron used to be a contractor, and you can tell that all of the work on the house was done exactingly. Our breakfasts - soft scrambled eggs with basil, sausage or bacon, blueberry pancakes, crispy potato pancakes, a bowl of granola, fruit and yogurt with honey - were ample and delicious. We could not have asked for a better experience. We felt very well taken care of, and the room felt completely private, though tucked away on the first floor.

Room Tip: The Venetian has a beautiful, canopied king bed and a jacuzzi bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DoctorNo202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
101
11
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Blacksburg, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I didn't know exactly what to expect going into this adventure, but I was met with warm hospitality, excellent amenities, and delicious food. We were in the Tiger Eye room, which offered a wonderfully comfortable bed, access to the whole second floor kitchen area, and an adorable breakfast seating area where we were served omelettes, pancakes, hash browns, sausage, and the most delicious yogurt I've ever had in my life. I would definitely recommend this inn to all of my friends and if you get the chance, make the switch from a boring hotel to this pampered night of relaxation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Casey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at the Black Lantern Inn twice and can't recommend it highly enough. Our first experience was 2 or 3 years ago, and although I'm late writing this, we stayed there again this past October and the experience was just as good. We arrived on bicycles on a Sunday and found there were no restaurants open. Ron went WAY out of his way to accommodate us by picking up pizza, beer and wine for us. The next day he insisted we borrow his vehicle to drive to a bike shop (I left my cycling shoes at home). The breakfast was outstanding and plentiful. Our stay this past October was equally comfortable - we LOVE the Skyline Room on the 3rd floor - all rooms are beautifully decorated and the bedding is super comfortable. Ron and Claire allowed us to have friends come in for their wonderful breakfast, and they will all go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StickieVickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Carbon, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

While on our honeymoon, my wife and I decided to visit my childhood hometown of Roanoke, VA. We made reservations to stay at the Hotel Roanoke, but wound up coming to town a night early. We looked for a bed and breakfast for the extra night, and chose the Black Lantern Inn. We certainly made the right decision! The house was beautiful, our room appointed with a canopy bed and an amazing private bath. We were greeted at the door by Ron, the Innkeeper, showed to our room, and given a tour of the Inn, which I remembered from my childhood as being boarded up and quite an eyesore. Ron made recommendations for our dinner plans, provided us with drinks, and some friendly conversation (like the oddity that I grew up in Roanoke and moved to Illinois, whereas Ron is from Illinois (Chicago, to be exact) and wound up in Roanoke! Breakfast the next morning was incredible from start to finish (the honey-and-granola-topped fruit and yogurt has become a favorite in our house!). An absolutely delightful stay in a surprising, hidden gem in the Star City!

Room Tip: From what we saw, any of the guest rooms would make for a wonderful visit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gate City, Virginia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We arrived a bit early and were warmly greeted by our host. He even offered to help us get our things from the car. This inn is finished to a very high standard. Every detail was just perfect. Our room on the main floor had its own bathroom complete with a tub with several hot water jets. Everything in the room worked as expected. There were several TV channels. The temperature was just right. Breakfast the next morning was on time delicious, and the portion size was generous. We have traveled extensively and this was one of the best B&B experiences we have had in a long, long time. We would highly recommend this place to all who visit Roanoke.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allendale, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Our first visit to the Black Lantern, Ron was there to greet the weary travelers at close to 11 pm and show us to the very comfortable, well appointed Venetian Room. Ron again accomodated us the next morning by serving us an early breakfast. Upon request, he provided us his recipe for the scrambled eggs which were so light and uniquely enhanced. The Black Lantern is very guest-centric - many small conveniences have been thoughtfully provided to ensure the stay is relaxing and fun. It doesn't get much better!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FrancescaJuliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

My fella and I were blown away by the Black Lantern in every respect. It was romantic, relaxing and ideally located. The House is newly renovated by the Inn Keepers themselves, and everything was beautifully done. The house is fresh, clean, and comforting. Ron and Claire, the Innkeepers, went out of their way to graciously accommodate our very specific dietary needs. They also strike the perfect balance of being welcoming, engaging the guests and leaving folks to relax alone. Besides the unbelievably luxurious bed, our favorite B&B perk was the new set of bikes/locks/helmets available for our use. We biked all over downtown Roanoke until late in the night. Next morning, after breakfast, we went for a ride on the nearby greenway. The location is ideal, and Ron has even made maps for guests to take so they can have an experience with less car traffic. We will absolutely be returning to the Black Lantern Inn!

Room Tip: I think all of the rooms are beautiful. For the most privacy, book the Skyline room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank applesqueeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
1.1 mi away
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.3 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#3 of 39 in Roanoke
4.5 of 5 stars 672 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
3.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
3.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Roanoke
Hyatt Place Roanoke
#9 of 39 in Roanoke
4.0 of 5 stars 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Lantern Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Lantern Inn

Property: Black Lantern Inn
Address: 1526 Franklin Rd SW, Roanoke, VA 24016-5207
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Lantern Inn has charming and unique rooms with incredibly luxurious bedding, welcoming lounging areas, impeccable baths and great breakfasts.The hospitality and luxury amenities make a stay at our Inn an experience of warm ambiance found in distinctive bed and breakfast accommodations. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing