We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable stay at the country inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
gatineau
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“comfortable stay at the country inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

we had a comfortable stay at the country inn of roanoke. the staff is very kind and helpful.the room was clean and the bed was comfortable. there is a nice pool and hot tub there too
the breakfast was very good.


i would stay there again with no hesitation.

Room Tip: ask for a suite,there is a couch,microwave and refrigerator
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chainsman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    148
    54
    26
    12
See reviews for
218
119
24
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

My husband and I went up to see my nephew graduate from VMI in Lexington. We decided to stay here because it was on the other side of Roanoke from where we were coming and it is a lot cheaper than any other hotels from the Lexington area. I researched a lot of hotels and read a lot of reviews before I book anything. This hotel did not disappoint me. It had GREAT BEDS that slept very good. WONDERFULLY CLEAN. QUIET YET CLOSE TO I-81. It is only about 1 hour or so to Lexington. BREAKFAST WAS SUFFICIENT.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthCarolinaLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perkasie, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We decided that the Roanoke area was a halfway point from Bucks County, PA to Charleston, SC. We chose the Country Inn & Suites because it had good reviews. We were not disappointed. The hotel was convenient to I-81, it was clean. The room was nice and the beds comfy. The bathroom was clean and the shower had good pressure and plenty of hot water. There were plenty of options for breakfast from fresh made waffles, to hot oatmeal, juice, cereal, fruit, yogurt, eggs, sausages and biscuits with gravy. We reserved online, while on the road. The whole process was smooth and easy. We make this trip every year and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the back. The room was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

We arrived to Roanoke after travelling about 24 hours, it was nice to have a clean room with a good bed. The person who greeted us was friendly so I felt myself welcome. She had to answer phone quite often so the checkin too little longer. I was pretty tired after travelling all the way from northern Europe, so I was just happy to start sleeping. Because of the time difference we woke up quite early so it was nice to have breakfast start at 6am. Most of the time we were the only one eating there. The breakfast selecting was good for us, so we were ready to drive on. We even got some directions to Blue Ridge Parkway.

The only little strange thing was that during the checkin the lady talked about upgrade to a king suite, but the room she gave us was a standard room.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimulus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bound Brook, New Jersey
Level Contributor
153 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We have stayed here many times on our way back home. It is 1/2 mile from 81 and exit 146 just a little north of Roanoke Va. The parking is large. The hotel is clean and the rooms large a clean. One real plus is the pool. Our grand kids had a great time in this large warm pool. The breakfast is included and copious. The only negative is the noise from the AC and it is hard to regulate to a convenient temperature. The front desk people are friendly and have free cookies.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JamesV1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachtree City, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We travel frequently to see family in Pennsylvania, and this has become our regular stop over. The staff is friendly. The hotel is clean, and have been very accommodating. We have stayed several times over the past 2 years and have never had a problem. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debbies_Just_Peachy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
244 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The string is finally broken.

We have stayed exclusively at Country Inns & Suites since we first discovered them and their franchise-wide no smoking anywhere in the building policy. It was great. Every one we went to was good.

Now, we found one that I would not stay at again. This particular CI&S property was dank. The first room we went to was so humid that I'm sure there was something growing under the carpet. Had to be because the scent of "Carpet Fresh" (or similar nasty odorant used to mask the smell) was strong. So we switched to an upper floor. That room wasn't much better, but it was 1 am and we had to sleep.

On our return trip back down I-81, we kept driving even though we were tired, just to reach another CI&S (separate review) another 90 minutes down the road.

Room Tip: Avoid bottom floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Online Customer Care at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear SCDad,

Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room. We will discuss the conditions of your room with our staff to ensure all guest rooms are up to Country Inns and Suites by Carlson standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
6.8 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#4 of 39 in Roanoke
4.5 of 5 stars 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
8.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
Address: 7860 Plantation Rd, Roanoke, VA 24019-1610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Roanoke
#4 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#5 Family Hotel in Roanoke
#11 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Carlson, Odigeo, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke Hotel Roanoke
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
Country Inn Roanoke
Roanoke Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing