We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place prior to graduation in Lexington, VA”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
Ranked #7 of 40 Hotels in Roanoke
North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“great place prior to graduation in Lexington, VA”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

My husband and I went up to see my nephew graduate from VMI in Lexington. We decided to stay here because it was on the other side of Roanoke from where we were coming and it is a lot cheaper than any other hotels from the Lexington area. I researched a lot of hotels and read a lot of reviews before I book anything. This hotel did not disappoint me. It had GREAT BEDS that slept very good. WONDERFULLY CLEAN. QUIET YET CLOSE TO I-81. It is only about 1 hour or so to Lexington. BREAKFAST WAS SUFFICIENT.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthCarolinaLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    208
    78
    38
    15
See reviews for
337
184
35
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perkasie, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We decided that the Roanoke area was a halfway point from Bucks County, PA to Charleston, SC. We chose the Country Inn & Suites because it had good reviews. We were not disappointed. The hotel was convenient to I-81, it was clean. The room was nice and the beds comfy. The bathroom was clean and the shower had good pressure and plenty of hot water. There were plenty of options for breakfast from fresh made waffles, to hot oatmeal, juice, cereal, fruit, yogurt, eggs, sausages and biscuits with gravy. We reserved online, while on the road. The whole process was smooth and easy. We make this trip every year and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the back. The room was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

We arrived to Roanoke after travelling about 24 hours, it was nice to have a clean room with a good bed. The person who greeted us was friendly so I felt myself welcome. She had to answer phone quite often so the checkin too little longer. I was pretty tired after travelling all the way from northern Europe, so I was just happy to start sleeping. Because of the time difference we woke up quite early so it was nice to have breakfast start at 6am. Most of the time we were the only one eating there. The breakfast selecting was good for us, so we were ready to drive on. We even got some directions to Blue Ridge Parkway.

The only little strange thing was that during the checkin the lady talked about upgrade to a king suite, but the room she gave us was a standard room.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimulus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bound Brook, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We have stayed here many times on our way back home. It is 1/2 mile from 81 and exit 146 just a little north of Roanoke Va. The parking is large. The hotel is clean and the rooms large a clean. One real plus is the pool. Our grand kids had a great time in this large warm pool. The breakfast is included and copious. The only negative is the noise from the AC and it is hard to regulate to a convenient temperature. The front desk people are friendly and have free cookies.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JamesV1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachtree City, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We travel frequently to see family in Pennsylvania, and this has become our regular stop over. The staff is friendly. The hotel is clean, and have been very accommodating. We have stayed several times over the past 2 years and have never had a problem. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debbies_Just_Peachy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemson, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

The string is finally broken.

We have stayed exclusively at Country Inns & Suites since we first discovered them and their franchise-wide no smoking anywhere in the building policy. It was great. Every one we went to was good.

Now, we found one that I would not stay at again. This particular CI&S property was dank. The first room we went to was so humid that I'm sure there was something growing under the carpet. Had to be because the scent of "Carpet Fresh" (or similar nasty odorant used to mask the smell) was strong. So we switched to an upper floor. That room wasn't much better, but it was 1 am and we had to sleep.

On our return trip back down I-81, we kept driving even though we were tired, just to reach another CI&S (separate review) another 90 minutes down the road.

Room Tip: Avoid bottom floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Online Customer Care at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear SCDad,

Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room. We will discuss the conditions of your room with our staff to ensure all guest rooms are up to Country Inns and Suites by Carlson standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We where driving from New York City to Nashville and stopped here overnight. We got to the hotel at 2:40 and they would not let us check in until 3:00 p.m. We did eat at the mexican place on the property, but we where not happy that they wouldn't let us check in 20 minutes earlier. Otherwise this hotel was fine for a one night stop over. Was close to the interstate which is why I chose this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ny004snils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
6.8 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#6 of 40 in Roanoke
740 reviews
3.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn at Valley View
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81
5.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke - Downtown
8.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
Address: 7860 Plantation Rd, Roanoke, VA 24019-1610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Roanoke
#4 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#5 Family Hotel in Roanoke
#11 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke Hotel Roanoke
Country Inn Roanoke
Roanoke Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing