We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large rooms, nice pool, good service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
Ranked #8 of 40 Hotels in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Large rooms, nice pool, good service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Stayed there after a long drive from SC. The welcome at the front desk was polite. The hotel itself is spacious. The room was very large, clean, and comfortable. We enjoyed the indoor pool with our two years old child. It was clean, with a lot of available towels, and spacious too. Wi-fi was easily accessible and at high-speed. Finally, the included breakfast was one step higher than usual in this hotel category. Moreover, the lady at the breakfast was very nice with us as with the other guests. Would certainly go back there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luc P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    193
    77
    35
    15
See reviews for
293
164
33
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bear, DE
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed here while driving to TN. Room was clean. Comfortable bed. Typical free breakfast. Close to 81. We decided to book this hotel again for our drive home. I am very picky about hotels and was pleased when we checked in. Room did have musty smell when we first entered but once air was on it went away

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mosween
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bound Brook, New Jersey
Level Contributor
159 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

This hotel is just off 81, going south 10 miles before Roanoke. It is clean. The free breakfast is adequate and varied with hot food and fresh fruits as well as the usual things. They have a pool which I have not used. The personnel are friendly and helpful. The only negative is the AC which is in the room and noisey.

Room Tip: We prefer the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesV1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

This hotel would have easily received a "five" out of five from me except for the presence of a large number of youth sports team members that detracted from our stay in a couple of ways. First, the good... the room we had was very spacious and comfortable. The free WiFi was excellent. There were plenty of outlets. The hotel is obviously well maintained. The only downside was that the large number of youth were pretty much unsupervised by their adults. For example, some girls engaged in a silly string attack in the room across the hall from us late in the evening, which led to some loud shrieking and associated noise and yelling. The next morning they completely filled the breakfast room, leaving no place for other guests to sit. The breakfast was quite good (eggs, sausage, fruit, cereals, waffles, etc.) but I would have preferred not having to eat it in our room. Now the overload of young people clearly was not a common occurrence at the hotel. I was most impressed after we returned home and I was invited to complete a survey about our stay. I mentioned the breakfast room situation and the silly string attack in the survey, and received an email from the manager within 24 hours. She apologized for the rowdiness of the youth and noted that their adult leaders had signed an agreement about how they were supposed to conduct themselves and the supervision required. Since they didn't live up to the agreement, she said they would not be allowed to stay there again. Because of that and because the high quality of the hotel in general, we plan to stay there on our next Roanoke trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenbrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Perhaps my review is coloured by having stayed in Quality Inns and Comfort Inns in the preceding nights which are a stark contrast to the spacious, clean and well equipped rooms found here. The staff are friendly and helpful. Having an indoor pool and whirlpool are a lovely extra. The Internet access really is fast and you don't have to keep logging in unlike the former hotels mentioned. It's the little things I notice such as well equipped bathroom supplies and plenty of electrical sockets available for recharging our many "gadgets". The walls and floors are solidly built and well carpetted so the rooms are quiet. There is a wide range of foods for breakfast from fresh fruit, cereals, bagels, pastries, cooked sausage, egg etc plus a choice of good coffees. The dining area is also spacious allowing plenty of "elbow space" when eating.
The location is excellent for those travelling on I-81 and close to fuel and other stores. I have already booked this hotel for a future stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jax586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I were here on Friday headed to New Jersey and we liked this place so much we decided to stay the night on our way back to Tennessee. I'm thinking about taking a picture and forwarding it to the dump we just left in Atlantic City so they can see what a REAL hotel looks like.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank DaemonW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

enjoyable overnight stay. friendly staff, good food, clean rooms, clean pool and spa. would recommend this hotel

Room Tip: ask for walk in rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
6.8 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#4 of 40 in Roanoke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
5.6 mi away
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Roanoke North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
Address: 7860 Plantation Road, Roanoke, VA 24019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Roanoke
#4 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#5 Family Hotel in Roanoke
#11 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Carlson, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke Hotel Roanoke
Country Inn Roanoke
Roanoke Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing