We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“No complaints!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“No complaints!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

The room with amenities was fine. The staff was courteous and friendly. The breakfast was fine for our needs. Nice large area for breakfast, and the fresh flowers on every table was a touch I appreciated. The breakfast attendant was pleasant. The pool area was clean, and the hot tub was just what we needed after a long day. Homemade cookies in lobby were very good!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cyberbren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    176
    67
    29
    14
See reviews for
255
147
30
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

We were on our way from Chattanooga to Richmond, VA and decided that we should stop and start the drive the next morning. We did some searches on our phone thru expedia and orbitz and decided to call some hotels directly.

At Country Inn and Suites we were quoted a price, and said that we would be there shortly. When we arrived to the location, the innkeeper had no idea what we were talking about. Apparently our call went directly to the main Country Inn and Suites reservation system. Which meant, the price we were quoted over the phone did not match the price that she was quoting us from her system.
However, she did agree to match the price we were quoted over the telephone.

I always like staying at Country Inn & Suites (Savannah historical district being my fav), and this one was no different. The beds were comfortable. The only complaint, which wasn't the hotels fault, was a late arriving bus who brought in travelers coming in for Obama who was speaking the next day. There were a lot of giggling, screams, slamming of doors until at one point my mom peeked out the door, which silenced some of them. Basically, people arriving late of night need to learn some respect when entering a hotel late at night!

Breakfast was okay. Cereal you can't mess up with.

Would we return to this location? Definitely!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daischop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keyser, West Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

What I expected. Seemed a little short staffed. I rarely comment on service because I don't need to be waited on. I did however make one request and it was delivered to my room promptly.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MountainGhost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northwest nj
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

We came upon the Country Inn & Suites by chance. On our way from NJ to SC, we decided to stop for the night. We picked up some hotel booklets at the welcome center and started dialing.

CI&S was a welcoming stopover. After a pleasant welcome at the front desk we found our room clean and well amenitzed. The pool area was a nice way to end the day of driving...hottub! Breakfast the next morning was good the room and seating was good and all the service people throughout the property were smiling and congenial. Nice start to the day.

Only negative observation, the lighting in the room could be brighter....but that's a minor detail included here for the Inn's information. Rooms were quiet and my son's sleeper sofa was comfortable (so he's told us). The suite room was perfect for us to refrigerate our 'road food' for the next day's drive.

Based on our stay here, we've booked another stay at a different CI&S property during our upcoming stay in SC. Hope it lives up to or exceeds our experience in Roanoke.

Note: don't eat at the Mexican Restaurant next to the hotel if you actually know about Mexican food. Brown gravy does not belong on enchiladas!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

We were in Roanoke over a weekend. Our party consisted of three children and two adults. We found the Country Inn and Suites to be just what we needed. The room, a one bedroom suite, had two queen beds in one area and a double sofa bed in the other. Each area had a TV. My girls enjoyed sleeping on the sofa bed and having their own TV. However, I couldn't have slept on that sofa bed. I would have given this hotel five stars if it weren't for the really worn condition of the sofa bed. When I pulled the bed out, I noticed that stuffing was coming out of the mattress. Time for a replacement! Other than that, the room was clean, the pool was nice, and the breakfast had just about everything -- waffles, eggs, sausage, cereal, pastries, bagels, coffee, juice, milk, etc. (Scrambled eggs appeared to be the reconstituted variety, but they tasted fine.) The staff was very nice. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pittardm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed over during a bluegrass festival. What a wonderful hotel. Their staff were welcoming at 12:00 am and also gave a discount for only coming at 12:00. A very nice pool and breakfast was great. If ever there again you will find us staying here. What a wonderful price as well. Charming murals in the pool area.

Room Tip: Book a few days before your stay!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corning, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

Briefly: older decor, dirty floor, older bathroom. Nothing special. Pool area and jacuzzi looked nice but had shut down within hours of making reservation due to minor accident with a guest. They refunded a portion of our bill due to this since we had specifically chosen this hotel for the pool and jacuzzi.

Night clerk was very kind and helpful and went out of her way to get me fresh hot water for my tea.

Would not stay here again simply b/c I know for the money I can stay at a newer, more upscale hotel chain.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ethel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
8.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#3 of 40 in Roanoke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
3.4 mi away
Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
Address: 7860 Plantation Road, Roanoke, VA 24019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Roanoke
#4 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#5 Family Hotel in Roanoke
#11 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke Hotel Roanoke
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
Country Inn Roanoke
Roanoke Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing