We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yummy Barbeque” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue's BBQ - CLOSED

Blue's BBQ
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Yummy Barbeque”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

I am very picky about my barbeque, because so often it's bland. Not this place, it was quite tasty and the service was great, which is hard to find these days. I had the Memphis pulled pork sandwich! I will definitely return

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank scross9475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    84
    44
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
247 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Dive Bar Atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

If you like a divebar atmosphere...this is a great spot for hanging out before/after dinner at one of Ronaoke's great restaurants. Food here is mostly bar fare. Food and service were adequate, nothing stellar. It's location is kind of tucked away downtown in a corner, you might walk by and not realize that it's there. Blue music seems to be it's overall theme, but during the Saturday we were there sports was the focus on the tv over the bar.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Caytoncristy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond
Level Contributor
110 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Awesome Brisket and friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stumbled upon Blue's BBQ recently on a trip to Roanoke. What a find ! Bartender "Bobbie O'Malley" (not really) and the rest of the team did a great job accommodating us. We sampled some of their brisket and sauces, as well one of the chef's let us sample some chili he was working on. This is a great restaurant to be sure to visit while in Roanoke.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tripin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Haven, New Jersey
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“BBQ Hideout in a corner across from the Market”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

We spent about 10 extra minutes walking around trying to locate this place and we were glad that we did not give up. We love barbecue and our standards are pretty high. This is a noisy and very informal place. The pulled pork with the spicy Carolina mustard-based sauce was very good as were the sides, especially the fried okra. Would go back when in town.

Helpful?
Thank Junebug818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
138 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“This Stuff is Magical Stuff of Magic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

After a week of pulled pork adventures, we thought we had porked it all. Nope. This pork was so delicious that it was worth eating so much that we thought we would actually die of pork intake. I had the memphis. He had the Carolina. They were both top notch but mine was topper of the notches. The fried mac and cheese was also stinking amazing. Eat this pork. Eat this pork now.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Fferffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue's BBQ also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing