We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Fantastic Pool!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View
Ranked #21 of 40 Hotels in Roanoke
Frrdonia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Pool!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our vacation in Roanoke because of this hotel. The room was clean and comfortable. The pool was awesome and the kids couldn't get enough of it. We loved that the indoor and outdoor pools were attached to each other and the hot tub was wonderful. It was so nice and easy to go from one to the other. We also loved that our room looked out over the pool and breakfast area. I think the breakfast should have been included with the room. Over the weekend they served a buffet style breakfast that was $10/adult, but my kids ate free. It was the typical buffet style breakfast that is usually served at almost any hotel. Then on Monday they were serving breakfasts made to order, but I felt the prices were high and you can go anywhere for the additional money. The kids do eat free with a paid adult though. Because I have 4 kids , providing breakfast is important. The pool for us made up for the breakfast issue. It was relaxing and clean. All the employees at the hotel were kind and helpful. We were very happy with our hotel stay and would definitely recommend to others.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank JulieD1228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nordway, General Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear JulieD1228,
Sounds like we made the kids happy! As long as the kids are happy, then Mom is happy! Our breakfast buffet is served fresh as opposed to some of the other chains serving less than fresh continental breakfasts. Perhaps the next time your travels bring you to Roanoke, you may want to look at some of our package pricing options that do include breakfast. As always, kids eat free at Holiday Inn. We look forward to your next stay with us!
Enjoy the rest of your busy Summer!
At your service,
Neil B. Ordway, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    68
    51
    17
    12
See reviews for
52
43
9
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
High Point, NC
Level Contributor
81 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Our stay was a family stay for one night visiting family. The hotel lobby is very nice. The restaurant area is awesome, filly enclosed, indoor pool there with full sky lights. The area is really nice. The rooms, hallways and elevators are dated. The elevators had no AC, big deal as I'm not staying in the elevator. The rooms are older, clean, but older. Not a lot of ease of access outlets for charging things. Old 90s style wallpaper. Is clean, just worn in places. I would stay again without a problem.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank rallyrabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nordway, General Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear rallyrabbit,
Thank you for your most recent comments with regards to your stay with us! We value your feedback. I can share with you that we have a lot of exciting changes that will be starting soon to make your stay even better with us!
See you the next time your travels bring you back to the Roanoke Valley!
At your service,
Neil B. Ordway,GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Park, Maryland
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed three nights there in total.
In general its not very decent experience.
First we were not notified we had to pay extra for our guinea pig which is caged,
but this is probably Expedia's problem yet they should have better communication with booking agents.
Second the food was horrible, we ordered Farmer's choice breakfast one day and had chicken teriyaki for dinner the other night. Breakfast was very bad for almost $15, eggs were tasteless, croissant was charred, sausage tastes like the cheapest brands. Chicken teriyaki tastes like a whole bag of salt was added!!
Third, the walls and doors were not sound proof AT ALL. We heard people talking in the hallway throughout the night.

Apart from that, room was pretty comfortable, and we enjoyed sitting at the poolside.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ngaman L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nordway, General Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Nhaman L,
Thank you for your comments with regards to your stay with us. As your remarks are masked and I am unable to truly find out your stay information or your name to assist you. Would you please email me.. my contact email address is nordway@roanokeholidayinn.com.
I have been researching your issues with my front desk staff. Noone seems to know anything about a guinea pig. This certainly should trigger someone's memory as we do not get many of those brought in.
I look forward to your reply via email.
At your service,
Neil B. Ordway,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Jefferson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

We arrived later in the night but the staff at the front desk were very nice and courteous. The room was clean, air conditioner worked great and even had a nice flat screen TV. Beds are a bit too firm for my taste, but not as hard as some hotel beds I've slept on.

Only drawback I really noticed is the lack of space for the continental breakfast. Roughly 5 or 6 tables for the whole breakfast rush. We got lucky the first morning and got a table, but the second morning, not so lucky, had to take our breakfast back to our room.

I would certainly recommend this hotel for anyone that doesn't want to pay the crazy high prices of some of the other large chains in the Roanoke area.

Room Tip: Higher numbered rooms (ex. 134, 234, 334) are right at a door you can come and go without going thro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nordway, General Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Nathan H.
Thank you so much for your feed back and even your room location tip! Travelers will certainly appreciate that!
We are in the works for a new restaurant layout and complete hotel reno! Timeframe is not certain at this time, however stay tuned and we look forward to your next stay with us!
At your service,
Neil B. Ordway, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights while we were in town for a wedding. Positives: pet friendly, friendly staff, convenient location. Negatives: noisy room, in our first room everything felt damp so we switched rooms (staff was helpful and accommodating). Our second room was dryer but still seems like the sheets weren't completely dry when they made the bed. Everything else was fine, we especially appreciated the dog walking area.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank KCG21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear KCG21,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. I am very delighted to hear that our location worked for your needs and that your found our staff commendable. I am also particularly appreciative of your comments about our pet facility. It is always motivating on our end to receive commendable feedback from our valued guests like you.

On the other hand, I am sorry for any inconvenience the noise challenges and condition of the room may have caused you. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Thank you for your time and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Best Regards,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
92 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

This is a good hotel, near the ROA airport. The shuttle is quick and convenient. We has 3 days of meetings there and the food and beverage people odd a good job for us. The wireless internet was extremely slow--which is not good for a business traveler.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank screenname000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nordway, General Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View, responded to this review, May 11, 2015
Dear Screenname 000,
Thank you for the review on our property, we value each and every comment! We look forward to your next stay with us, when your travels should bring you back through the Roanoke Valley!
Holiday Inn Management!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
122 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

I was exceptionally pleased with this hotel. The location is maybe a little out of town but the quality of the accommodation was excellent. The room was super clean, modern, spacious and comfortable, and had all the amenities we needed (including fridge and microwave). The swimming pool and gym was a great bonus and we even had a neat little bar area.

We were only doing a 1 night stop passing through but I almost wished we could have stayed a little longer as it was one of the most comfortable hotels we have stayed at to date on our trip.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saramarsdenille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nordway, General Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View, responded to this review, May 11, 2015
Dear Saramarsdenille,
Thank you for the review on our property, we value each and every comment! We look forward to your next stay with us, when your travels should bring you back through the Roanoke Valley!
Holiday Inn Management!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Roanoke Airport
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Roanoke Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View

Property: Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View
Address: 3315 Ordway Dr NW, Roanoke, VA 24017-1916
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 40 Hotels in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel Roanoke is nestled in the Blue Ridge Mountains and is centrally located to downtown Roanoke, 2 miles off I-81 and 1 mile from the Roanoke Regional Airport with complimentary airport shuttle. The hotel has 153 oversized guest rooms. All rooms have complimentary wireless and hardwired internet access. All public areas offer complimentary wireless internet access. Our event space and outstanding service makes Holiday Inn Roanoke the optimal meeting place in Roanoke. Our Catering Director coordinates every detail of your event, making us the favorite for weddings, conferences, banquets, military and family reunions and corporate meetings. Maintain your exercise regimen in our fitness center, swim year round in our indoor heated pool or relax in our hot tub. Catch up on work in our complimentary business center at this Roanoke Hotel. We are the only hotel in Roanoke that offers a private outdoor recreational area featuring two volleyball courts, outdoor heated pool, horseshoe pit and picnic area. Unwind in our full service restaurant Passports, for a sumptuous Dinner, cocktail or start your day with a hearty breakfast. Relax, it's Holiday Inn! Area attractions nearby: Blue Ridge Parkway, Virginia Tech, Valley View Mall, Taubman Museum of Art, Martinsville Speedway, Roanoke and Salem Civic Centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View Hotel Roanoke
Roanoke Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing