We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just okay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View
Ranked #22 of 40 Hotels in Roanoke
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights while we were in town for a wedding. Positives: pet friendly, friendly staff, convenient location. Negatives: noisy room, in our first room everything felt damp so we switched rooms (staff was helpful and accommodating). Our second room was dryer but still seems like the sheets weren't completely dry when they made the bed. Everything else was fine, we especially appreciated the dog walking area.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank KCG21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Dear KCG21,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. I am very delighted to hear that our location worked for your needs and that your found our staff commendable. I am also particularly appreciative of your comments about our pet facility. It is always motivating on our end to receive commendable feedback from our valued guests like you.

On the other hand, I am sorry for any inconvenience the noise challenges and condition of the room may have caused you. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Thank you for your time and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Best Regards,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (248)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 248 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2014

This is a good hotel, near the ROA airport. The shuttle is quick and convenient. We has 3 days of meetings there and the food and beverage people odd a good job for us. The wireless internet was extremely slow--which is not good for a business traveler.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank screenname000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nordway, General Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2015

Dear Screenname 000,
Thank you for the review on our property, we value each and every comment! We look forward to your next stay with us, when your travels should bring you back through the Roanoke Valley!
Holiday Inn Management!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

I was exceptionally pleased with this hotel. The location is maybe a little out of town but the quality of the accommodation was excellent. The room was super clean, modern, spacious and comfortable, and had all the amenities we needed (including fridge and microwave). The swimming pool and gym was a great bonus and we even had a neat little bar area.

We were only doing a 1 night stop passing through but I almost wished we could have stayed a little longer as it was one of the most comfortable hotels we have stayed at to date on our trip.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saramarsdenille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nordway, General Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2015

Dear Saramarsdenille,
Thank you for the review on our property, we value each and every comment! We look forward to your next stay with us, when your travels should bring you back through the Roanoke Valley!
Holiday Inn Management!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Whenever we have an early morning flight out of the Roanoke airport, we spend the night at the Holiday Inn Valley View. We always request a first floor room so that we do not disturb the other guests when we check out. The hotel employees are always courteous and most helpful. There is a restaurant on the premises offering a wide variety of selections.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Earle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nordway, General Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2015

Dear Earle M,
Thank you for the review on our property, we value each and every comment! We look forward to your next stay with us, when your travels should bring you back through the Roanoke Valley!
Holiday Inn Management!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

This is our second stay here in a year while traveling across country with a dog. We had a king executive room. During the day, the room is dark. I believe it's an older hotel as evidenced by the wall coverings, decor, noisy elevator and architecture. The room was clean. It looked out onto the inner indoor courtyard and there was a slight chlorine smell from the pool that is located in the same courtyard. The hotel is not 100% non-smoking so there is a stuffy smell to the room I think dating from when it might have been a smoking room. It does not, however, smell like smoke. The bed comfort was good. The hotel gladly accepts pets so that is a plus for us and there us a pet walking area outside. We didn't eat here because it didn't interest us. The hotel is conveniently located off of 81 and there are restaurants within a short distance. The wifi is free and is of average speed. The hotel seems to attract groups. This year, there are school sport teams here and last year there was a cat(animal) convention which we found to be kind of fun. Except for a lot of people in common areas, the crowds did not pose a problem. Overall, I find this hotel to have really nothing special about it but also nothing really negative about either.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank JoanneLebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear JoanneLebel,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room conditions prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Recently stayed here on a weekend visit in Roanoke. My check-in experience was excellent, as I was greeted by one of the friendliest people I've run into in a long time. My room was clean, if a little worn around the edges. Unfortunately during my stay, the pool and spa were closed for renovation/repairs, which wasn't a big deal. The hotel is located on the far north side of town near the airport and mall, so there are dining options available just down the road.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank semistatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Dear semistatic,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. I am glad to know that you had a good check-in experience and you found our staff to be friendly. I apologize if the closing of the pool and spa facilities were an inconvenience. Despite this, it is nice to know that you had a good overall stay and we look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Regards,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

We stayed at this hotel to attend a Virginia Tech football game. It was okay but definitely not 3 stars as advertised. Looks like they made unsuccessful attempts at renovations. The "restaurant" is a glorified bar in the lobby next to an indoor pool. The entire lobby smells of chlorine from the pool. The door to our room would not shut and had to be slammed several times to get it to close and latch. The side entrance to the hotel was unlocked so that anyone could come in right to the elevator without passing the main desk in the lobby. There were stains on the bed linens.

Room Tip: Next door at the Marriott Courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Patricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear patricia f,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are sorry for the shortfalls you have experienced during your stay. Your comments are highly valuable and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood
1.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Roanoke
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Roanoke
Hyatt Place Roanoke
#9 of 40 in Roanoke
582 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
3.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Roanoke North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View

Address: 3315 Ordway Dr NW, Roanoke, VA 24017-1916
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 40 Hotels in Roanoke
Price Range: $110 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel Roanoke is nestled in the Blue Ridge Mountains and is centrally located to downtown Roanoke, 2 miles off I-81 and 1 mile from the Roanoke Regional Airport with complimentary airport shuttle. The hotel has 153 oversized guest rooms. All rooms have complimentary wireless and hardwired internet access. All public areas offer complimentary wireless internet access. Our event space and outstanding service makes Holiday Inn Roanoke the optimal meeting place in Roanoke. Our Catering Director coordinates every detail of your event, making us the favorite for weddings, conferences, banquets, military and family reunions and corporate meetings. Maintain your exercise regimen in our fitness center, swim year round in our indoor heated pool or relax in our hot tub. Catch up on work in our complimentary business center at this Roanoke Hotel. We are the only hotel in Roanoke that offers a private outdoor recreational area featuring two volleyball courts, outdoor heated pool, horseshoe pit and picnic area. Unwind in our full service restaurant Passports, for a sumptuous Dinner, cocktail or start your day with a hearty breakfast. Relax, it's Holiday Inn! Area attractions nearby: Blue Ridge Parkway, Virginia Tech, Valley View Mall, Taubman Museum of Art, Martinsville Speedway, Roanoke and Salem Civic Centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View Hotel Roanoke
Roanoke Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing