We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“What a dump” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in Roanoke
2 reviews
“What a dump”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

First room smelled like smoke. Second room smelled like smoke. Front desk was unpleasant and indifferent. Almost rude. No working ice on my floor. A very dated building with an obvious lake of maintenance New and modern hotels near location. No way is this a3 star.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Larsthescot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Larsthescot,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding customer service and the smell of smoke in the room. We will address these point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    63
    47
    15
    10
See reviews for
45
40
9
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Happened to stay here for two nights. we were to land at the Roanoke airport at 11:00 pm and the hotel was to arrange for our airport pickup. But our flight got delayed and landed at 1:00am. The hotel pickup wasn't available at that time, however, when we called the hotel, they immediately arranged for taxi to pick us up.
The rooms are good, functional, with a working table and sitting area, seperate from the bed. The bathroom had good and adequate supplies. The breakfast, included in the room, was decent and had good variety. The area has good restaurant and the hotel provides complimentary shuttle to and from these restaurants. They drop you off and when you are done, call the hotel and they again come to pick you up. That was very helpful for me, as I did not had any transport.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JPA1605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nordway, General Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View, responded to this review, May 11, 2015
Dear JPA1965,
Thank you for the review on our property, we value each and every comment! We look forward to your next stay with us, when your travels should bring you back through the Roanoke Valley!
Holiday Inn Management!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
99 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This hotel was a surprise! You never know what you are going to get with a Holiday Inn.... but this one is nice. The rooms are bright and clean. However, their pillows are all messed up. They have the soft / firm markers, but both rooms I had all the pillows were hard as rocks and overstuffed. Ouch. :( Everything else seemed OK for the room. The AC worked great in our room. The water pressure in the shower is not so great for rinsing long hair, but it worked.
The breakfast in the restaurant ends at 9:30, I think that is a bit early, glad we got there in time. However it is overpriced, and the food mediocre, I was not impressed.
The fitness center is well kept. Small, 2 treadmills and a stepper I think. Also an all in one weight machine. They will also take you to a Gold's Gym if you are a priority club member.
The pool looks nice, but I haven't had a chance to try it out. There is a volleyball net set up in the yard also!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank njkrisko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nordway, General Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear NJKrisko,
Thanks so much for your most recent response! We value your feedback and continue to improve off comments and suggestions such as yours. We look forward to your return visit!
At your service,
Neil B. Ordway, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

We always stay here when in town. Although some of the rooms look a little dated, the employees make this hotel wonderful. We checked into our room yesterday, and our AC was not working, the front office clerk working this morning moved us to a nicer room, at no extra charge. The entire front office is super friendly (even the night audit, which is odd for most hotels). We really enjoyed our second stay here, and will continue to come back here.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ismaray J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nordway, General Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Ismaray J,
Customer service is paramount at not only our Holiday Inn but all of our Holiday Inn Properties. We value your feedback and look forward to your visit with us and the Roanoke Valley soon!
At your service,
Neil B. Ordway GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Holiday Inn on Ordway Drive is awesome. Most all of the staff go out of their way to extend great hospitality. The rooms are clean and nice and I love the jacuzzi and pool. I stay at this Holiday Inn near Valley View several times a year and would stay more if I could.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pools or restaurant are my favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nordway, General Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you PamD!
We are your home away from home... so glad that you can feel comfortable here just as much as your home. We look forward to your return visit!
At your service,
Neil B. Ordway GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owings mills
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We were supposed to stay at the Tanglewood Holiday Inn but they gave our room to someone else and then made us go to the Valley View one at 10 p.m. at night with two young kids in tow even though THEY were the ones that made the mistake. They gave us a NASTY smoking room which is not what we asked for. We didn't even get a nice room even though Holiday Inn messed up!!!! The pool was DISGUSTING! Above the water line/on the tile you could literally scratch your name in the filth...and people did! The restaurant customer service was stalkerish in nature as we had to literally ask the waitress to leave the table as she was standing there staring at us. We will not be staying there again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thankyoupaige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nordway, General Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Thankyoupaige,
I appreciate your input on your most recent stay with us. I apologize for the Holiday Inn Tanglewood overbooking and thus relocating to our hotel. I have forwared your response to my Engineer regarding the pools. We are slated to have both pools renovated soon! I completely understand your concerns and not wanting to return; however, I would like the opportunity to show our true level of hospitality. When this occassion does arise, please contact me personally.
At your service,
Neil B. Ordway,
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I don't know if it is the website booking or what but i have always requested a inside room overlooking the pool or lobby the heating and air seem to stay more consistent. This time no mention at all about on my reservation this was not the first time this has happened. Also a very yappy dog that barked at anything that moved. The staff has always been great but i think it is time for a change. sorry

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nordway, General Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Ron H,
Thank you for your most recent comments! We value all guest feedback. I have sent a private message to your email address that we have on file.
Best Regards,
Neil Ordway,
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Roanoke
Hyatt Place Roanoke
#9 of 39 in Roanoke
4.0 of 5 stars 376 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Roanoke Airport
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View

Property: Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View
Address: 3315 Ordway Drive, Roanoke, VA 24017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel Roanoke is nestled in the Blue Ridge Mountains and is centrally located to downtown Roanoke, 2 miles off I-81 and 1 mile from the Roanoke Regional Airport with complimentary airport shuttle. The hotel has 153 oversized guest rooms. All rooms have complimentary wireless and hardwired internet access. All public areas offer complimentary wireless internet access. Our event space and outstanding service makes Holiday Inn Roanoke the optimal meeting place in Roanoke. Our Catering Director coordinates every detail of your event, making us the favorite for weddings, conferences, banquets, military and family reunions and corporate meetings. Maintain your exercise regimen in our fitness center, swim year round in our indoor heated pool or relax in our hot tub. Catch up on work in our complimentary business center at this Roanoke Hotel. We are the only hotel in Roanoke that offers a private outdoor recreational area featuring two volleyball courts, outdoor heated pool, horseshoe pit and picnic area. Unwind in our full service restaurant Passports, for a sumptuous Dinner, cocktail or start your day with a hearty breakfast. Relax, it's Holiday Inn! Area attractions nearby: Blue Ridge Parkway, Virginia Tech, Valley View Mall, Taubman Museum of Art, Martinsville Speedway, Roanoke and Salem Civic Centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View Hotel Roanoke
Roanoke Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing