We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient Location and Comfortable Accommodations” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View
Ranked #21 of 40 Hotels in Roanoke
Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Convenient Location and Comfortable Accommodations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2008

The Holiday Inn Roanoke is conveniently located near the airport, downtown dining, and other entertainment/shopping venues. The facility is well kept offering an indoor/outdoor swimming pool, small restaurant and bar, workout room, and other amenities. The room offered plenty of space with a comfortable king size bed, small couch, work area and a bathroom well stocked and relatively large.

I would definitely recommend this property for business and/or leisure travel.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Papdadio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nordway, General Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View, responded to this review, May 11, 2015
Dear Padadio,
Thank you for the review on our property, we value each and every comment! We look forward to your next stay with us, when your travels should bring you back through the Roanoke Valley!
Holiday Inn Management!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    71
    53
    18
    12
See reviews for
53
44
9
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, AL
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2007

I stayed in this hotel July 29th. We were traveling south on I 81 and needed a place to stay for the night. After seeing a billboard advertising an indoor pool we chose this property. My 3 girls wanted to swim and it was too chilly & rainy to stay somewhere with an outdoor pool. This hotel was off of I 581 near I 81.

We called home and my husband checked out TripAdvisor before we checked in and found that it was a newly remodeled hotel. The front desk staff was nice enough and assured me that all the rooms were completely remodeled and were nice. Upon entering the room we were sorely disappointed. It looks like someone picked and chose what to replace. The bedding and furniture were dated. The carpet seemed new, but the paint around the doorframes was chipped and peeling.

The bathroom counter area was a nice new granite counter-top with a modern mirror and light. But the coffee pot was very old. It looked like a Mister Coffee from 1981! The grout between the tile around the tub was full of mold/mildew. My kids said "yuck" when they came into the bathroom and looked into the tub. Luckily it was for only one night and they didn't need a bath. I would not bathe my kids in that tub. When I took my shower in the morning, I noticed that the plumbing behind the faucet was coming out of the wall. When I turned on he shower more water fell out of the shower head connection than sprayed out of the nozzle. I took pictures for you to see.

After consulting the in room book, we found out that the pool opens at 10:00 and breakfast is served daily from 6:30 - 10:30. We arrived in the lobby at 10:10 for a quick breakfast before swimming. When we got to the restaurant the hostess informed us that the book is wrong and that breakfast ended at 9:30. Luckily she was nice enough to give my kids cereal before closing down the buffet line. Another family showed up after we did and read the same thing in the room. There are no restaurants within walking distance to this hotel.

The pool area was nice enough, but it was not a true indoor pool. It was a swim-through indoor/outdoor pool and the water was too cold to enjoy. From the attached pictures you can see that everyone was swimming in the hot tub instead of the pool even though it was July.

I spoke with the front desk about the problems with the room and the breakfast notice in the room. He seemed surprised about the maintenance problems with our room, but I can't believe that he thinks this hotel is wonderful. It has very dated fake flower arrangements everywhere. The elevators are old and squeaky. Our room rate was $119 and did not include breakfast or any other benefits. The front desk staff quickly took $20 off of our bill we I told him we were not satisfied with our stay. Still the room was over priced for the amenities this hotel offered. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nordway, General Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View, responded to this review, May 11, 2015
Dear Michelle K,
Thank you for the review on our property, we value each and every comment!
Holiday Inn Management!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond,virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2007

I was temporarly transferred here with my company and they are useing this hotel for transferred associates. I will be staying here for a total of 2 months if not longer. Most of the front desk staff (with the exception of one or two) are very personable and friendly. Some even know me by my name. When you stay in a hotel for so long it (sort of) becomes like a second home. I definatly feel at home at this hotel. The only gripes I have about this hotel is the fact that the wireless internet has been down for 3 weeks, but after going down to the front desk about the issue (they have this posted near the front desk) they gave me a broadband connection cord and after a few tries I did finally get connected to the web. The broadband connection is fast and best of all no charge. The other gripe is that my room has an interior view (faceing the autrium) with is nice but when you are in a hotel for 2 months its nice to get a little fresh air and be able to see out side. I went down to the front desk serveral times until I gave up and made due with the room I am in. The hotel is older but its a good choice because of the land its on which makes it peaceful compared to a hotel over closer to the mall. I will keep you updated on my stay here!!

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank teebyrd86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nordway, General Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View, responded to this review, May 11, 2015
Dear Teebyrd86,
Thank you for the review on our property, we value each and every comment!
Holiday Inn Management!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2006

The hotel is situated in a very convenient area right off of I-581 less than 1/2 mile to a very nice shopping area with a good variety of food (avoid El Toreo). The rooms were very nice and clean, and the overall appearance of the hotel is very welcoming. The breakfast prices are very affordable, but no complimentary breakfast. The heated pool is a great break from the hustle and bustle of meetings and even perhaps a day of touring with children. But...the pool being in the same room as the lobby gives the whole atrium a chlorine smell. Avoid staying in rooms close or above the laundry room (307 for example). Apparently, they use natural gas to dry their laundry, seems there's a gas leak, since the rear entrance of the hotel wreaked of natural gas...in turn, our A/C system, even though turned off, sucked in the gas smell into our room, leaving us to change rooms at night. Must admit though, the front desk was more than happy to accomodate us.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darumscb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nordway, General Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View, responded to this review, May 11, 2015
Dear darumscb,
Thank you for the review on our property, we value each and every comment!
Holiday Inn Management!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2006

We haven't even arrived yet, and already the confusion has started. The Holiday Inn website for this property states the rooms have mini fridges and microwaves, but when I try to book my group into this hotel, I am being told that some rooms might have these ammenaties, and some might not.

If you are booking a room at this hotel and you are counting on taking advantage of this advertised ammenaty, beware and be sure to clarify that your room indeed includes a mini fridge and microwave.

Also, don't count on a buffet breakfast in the restaurant, this is only served if there are enought patrons staying in the hotel to make it worth their while, otherwise you will be ordering off the menu....too slow when trying to get a group going and out the door in the morning, which is why we wanted the mini fridge and microwave in the first place!!

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank ncmom65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nordway, General Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View, responded to this review, May 11, 2015
Dear NCMom65,
Thank you for the review on our property, we value each and every comment!
Holiday Inn Management!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlottesville, Va
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2006

The Holiday Inn on Ordway drive is tucked away across the interstate from the airport in a very private area. No problems with noise from airplanes taking off and landing. This hotel has been remodeled and I found it quite above average. The lobby was beautiful but smelled of chlorine from the indoor pool. The rooms were spacious and the beds were new. I had a microwave and a refrigerator in my room. The staff was friendly and accommodating too. If you are a Priority Club member, you can check out at 2 pm. I plan on staying there every time I am in Roanoke, which is quite a lot.

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
8 Thank kimberleighy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nordway, General Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View, responded to this review, May 11, 2015
Dear Kimberleighly,
Thank you for the review on our property, we value each and every comment!
Holiday Inn Management!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2004

The Clarion is a rarity in this era of low-cost, low-service, no-frills hotels. Although it suffers from 70s architecture and is somewhat dated (the Clarion began life as a Sheraton), it is truly full-service: large reception hall, indoor/outdoor pool, volleyball and horseshoes and basketball, full restaurant and bar with room service, business center, several large and small ballrooms and conference centers, etc. Rooms are large; bathrooms have "real" fixtures, etc. Yes, this is an "old-timer," but if you can get it at a good price, it's pretty hard to beat.

Helpful?
12 Thank radio71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nordway, General Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View, responded to this review, May 11, 2015
Dear Radio 71,
Thank you for the review on our property, we value each and every comment!
Holiday Inn Management!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Roanoke Airport
Courtyard Roanoke Airport
#16 of 40 in Roanoke
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.6 mi away
MainStay Suites Airport
MainStay Suites Airport
#14 of 40 in Roanoke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Roanoke
Hyatt Place Roanoke
#9 of 40 in Roanoke
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Roanoke Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View

Property: Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View
Address: 3315 Ordway Dr NW, Roanoke, VA 24017-1916
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 40 Hotels in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel Roanoke is nestled in the Blue Ridge Mountains and is centrally located to downtown Roanoke, 2 miles off I-81 and 1 mile from the Roanoke Regional Airport with complimentary airport shuttle. The hotel has 153 oversized guest rooms. All rooms have complimentary wireless and hardwired internet access. All public areas offer complimentary wireless internet access. Our event space and outstanding service makes Holiday Inn Roanoke the optimal meeting place in Roanoke. Our Catering Director coordinates every detail of your event, making us the favorite for weddings, conferences, banquets, military and family reunions and corporate meetings. Maintain your exercise regimen in our fitness center, swim year round in our indoor heated pool or relax in our hot tub. Catch up on work in our complimentary business center at this Roanoke Hotel. We are the only hotel in Roanoke that offers a private outdoor recreational area featuring two volleyball courts, outdoor heated pool, horseshoe pit and picnic area. Unwind in our full service restaurant Passports, for a sumptuous Dinner, cocktail or start your day with a hearty breakfast. Relax, it's Holiday Inn! Area attractions nearby: Blue Ridge Parkway, Virginia Tech, Valley View Mall, Taubman Museum of Art, Martinsville Speedway, Roanoke and Salem Civic Centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, IHG, Priceline, Agoda, Reservation Counter, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View Hotel Roanoke
Roanoke Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing