We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View
Ranked #22 of 40 Hotels in Roanoke
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Spent one night here at the Holiday Inn. As some others have commented the bathroom could use some updating, but the room was large, clean and the beds were comfy. Very close to the airport, free wifi and a very nice breakfast, absolutely worth the stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nordway, General Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Janly,
Thank you for the great feedback! Whenever your travels should bring you back through the Roanoke Valley, we look forward to your stay with us! Please let me know if there is anything that we can do in the mean time!
At your service,
Neil B. Ordway, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    73
    54
    19
    12
See reviews for
54
46
9
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
va
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed for a convention in early October. Had a king room on the 4th floor. The room was clean, very spacious and included a double bed pull out couch. Two sets of elevators, one close to the lobby and one midway on the floors made getting back to the room after meetings very convenient. Loved the indoor /outdoor pool and hot tub. Food was good but know that the restaurant does not serve lunch, just breakfast and dinner.
Would definitely reccommend this hotel when visiting Roanoke. Close to the mall and many restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nordway, General Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Rudd21,
Thank you so much for the great comments on your most recent stay with us! I certainly will read your review at our next Employee Meeting on 10/31 and celebrate our success! We look forward to your stay with us soon we hope!
Please let me know if there is anything that I can do for you!
At your service,
Neil B. Ordway, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We have stayed in this hotel for many years on the same dates (even before it was a holiday inn). We have always loved the set up of this hotel. The lobby area holds the restaurant, bar AND pool/jacuzzi. We find this convenient and quaint. The show is always in the ballrooms down the hallway. How convenient! We also love Roanoke and head to the restaurants downtown each night. The rooms are always clean and nice and the hotel is very quiet. The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. I highly recommend this place for a nice weekend in Roanoke!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marileemed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nordway, General Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Marileemed,
Thank you so much for the GREAT feedback and for being such a loyal customer! We love our guests and certainly LOVE you! Can't wait to see you again next year! Please let me know if there is anything that we can do prior to them!
Happy Holidays! & Happy New Year!!!!
At your service,
Neil B. Ordway, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

I stayed here prior to using the Roanoke airport - just about 5 minutes away. First of all, the HI is very modern and well laid out. Plenty of parking. Not right on a busy street so you feel safe leaving you car in the parking lot. The restaurant and bar are raised and right in the lobby. Nice! The pool is enclosed and also just off the lobby. The room was modern, roomy, quiet and comfortable. The shuttle had me to the airport on time for my flight and picked me up after a call from a dedicated line located in the baggage pick up area upon my return. Nice folks from the front desk to the shuttle driver, too!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim4249541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nordway, General Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Jim4249541,

Thank you for the great feedback above! We certainly appreciate it! Whenever your travels should bring you back through the Roanoke Valley, we will be anticipated your arrival!
Please let us know if there is anything else that we can do for you!
At your service,
Neil B. Ordway,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
searcy
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Its really great when the staff is truly glad to see you. I have stayed in many places. This place truly has heart. And i have never stayed at this hotel before that what makes this stay truly remarkable. The rooms are remolded old, but good. Its away from the city and the drive in and out was tiresome. The beds were really good.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lonelytraveler107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nordway, General Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Lonelytraveler107,
Thank you for you most recent comments on TripAdivsor! We great appreciate the positive feedback! We love our beds too! I even purchased one for our home! We look forward to your stay whenvever your travels should bring you back through the Roanoke Valley!
At your service,
Neil B. Ordway, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake City, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I spent 8 nights here and had a nice stay overall. I asked for a quiet room upon check-in and the front desk clerk switched me to the pilot's hallway on the 4th floor. My window faced the rear volleyball court and quiet it most certainly was. All rooms have a fridge/microwave with my executive room also having a king size bed and sofa. Lots of space, newer carpet, clean paint and wallpaper. The only thing I noticed were the bathroom floor tiles had a slight creaking sound. Additionally, the hot water in the faucet and shower were a little slow to heat up a couple times. Other than that the renovations here look pretty solid.

Comfortable beds, reliable internet, a few HDTV channels amongst the wide channel selection, fast elevators, outstanding housekeepers, nice solid-built gym equipment are some of the many plusses of this location. The elevators are a bit noisy, but they are some of the fastest I've seen in a Holiday Inn. The lobby here is very nice with a huge restaurant area and bar. Several conference/meetings took place while I was here, but never once did I feel crowded or heard excessive noise. It's one of the few locations I've seen with both an indoor and outdoor pool. You'll also find a volleyball court and basketball goal here.

Overall a nice quiet 8 nights with a friendly staff. For a Holiday Inn that's at least a decade old, it's definitely one of the better ones. If working in the Roanoke area again I'd stay here for a second time.

Room Tip: For a quiet room ask to stay in the 4th floor hallway with the flight crews which is on the north/no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinlifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nordway, General Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Pinlifter,
Thank you! Your comments were read in our employee rally this month! We appreciate the positive feedback and the great tip for future travelers! We hope that your business will require you to come back to the Valley! Look forward to accommodating you again in the future!
At your service,
Neil B. Ordway, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlett, IL
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed here 3 nights for a convention. Ok hotel, the staff was friendly and accommodating, they even decorated the hotel for our event, which was a nice touch. But, i don't think they were prepared to host an event. And mind you our event wasn't that big. The banquet we attended on the Friday night, they ran out of food. Many people we hungry and had to wait. And some of the waitstaff were rude to our people. The next night at the dinner, it was much better, they seemed to get their act together. So, kudos for that. My roommate and I had trouble in our room with ants, which we found disgusting! They were all over our nightstand, and the desk...and we were up on the third floor! We did like the shuttle, very convenient for the airport...only minutes away. All in all, an ok hotel, but they really need to clean up their act.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nordway, General Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Noeau,
I apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced while attending the ECC! I have forwarded your comments to our Food & Beverage Department and the Maintenance department. Hopefully your convention will be back with us in 2014 if they choose Roanoke as their destination! Please let me know if there is anything that I can do for you!
At your service,
Neil B. Ordway, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Roanoke Airport
Courtyard Roanoke Airport
#18 of 40 in Roanoke
272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Roanoke Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Roanoke Airport
0.6 mi away
MainStay Suites Airport
MainStay Suites Airport
#14 of 40 in Roanoke
167 reviews
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Roanoke - Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View

Property: Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View
Address: 3315 Ordway Dr NW, Roanoke, VA 24017-1916
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 40 Hotels in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel Roanoke is nestled in the Blue Ridge Mountains and is centrally located to downtown Roanoke, 2 miles off I-81 and 1 mile from the Roanoke Regional Airport with complimentary airport shuttle. The hotel has 153 oversized guest rooms. All rooms have complimentary wireless and hardwired internet access. All public areas offer complimentary wireless internet access. Our event space and outstanding service makes Holiday Inn Roanoke the optimal meeting place in Roanoke. Our Catering Director coordinates every detail of your event, making us the favorite for weddings, conferences, banquets, military and family reunions and corporate meetings. Maintain your exercise regimen in our fitness center, swim year round in our indoor heated pool or relax in our hot tub. Catch up on work in our complimentary business center at this Roanoke Hotel. We are the only hotel in Roanoke that offers a private outdoor recreational area featuring two volleyball courts, outdoor heated pool, horseshoe pit and picnic area. Unwind in our full service restaurant Passports, for a sumptuous Dinner, cocktail or start your day with a hearty breakfast. Relax, it's Holiday Inn! Area attractions nearby: Blue Ridge Parkway, Virginia Tech, Valley View Mall, Taubman Museum of Art, Martinsville Speedway, Roanoke and Salem Civic Centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View Hotel Roanoke
Roanoke Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing