We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to airport and interstate”
Review of Motel 6 Roanoke

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Roanoke
Ranked #25 of 40 Hotels in Roanoke
Brooklyn, New York
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Convenient to airport and interstate”
Reviewed November 3, 2010

I had the opportunity to stay here for two nights when I was in town visiting family and found this a decent enough place to recommend.

Staff: Front desk was friendly and extremely efficient. Check in took about 60 seconds and the clerk reminded me of Hampton Inns satisfaction guarantee. Check out was even faster, maybe 15 seconds. I loved the speed! The breakfast hostess was very nice both mornings and the housekeepers were friendly and all said “good morning”.

Facilities: This looks like an old style motel with the doors from the room that open up right to the parking lot. However, everything was clean and did not appear worn down. The beds and linens were comfortable and I liked the pillows a lot. Towels were a little thin, but the toiletries provided were nice.

Loved the big screen tv and the free internet access. Breakfast in the morning was nice, with one hot item but not as good or with as much variety as I’ve seen at other Hamptons. The pool was closed for the season and looked kind of small and shaded but might be nice in the summer. The fitness room was tiny, with one treadmill, a cross trainer and an exercise bike. I used it twice and was the only person there so it was okay but it would get crowded quickly! However, water and towels were provided and there was a flat screen tv to watch, which was nice.

Highlights: The speed and friendliness of the service was outstanding. The towel animal was cute, like on a cruise ship.

Areas for improvement: None that I can really pinpoint. I prefer a hotel with doors that open into the hallways as that feels a little more secure. The ceilings are a little thin as I heard the people above me walking around and it sounded like they were having some kind of stomping contest.

Location: Good location on the north side of town. Five minutes from the airport and about 10 minutes to downtown, 15 minutes to Tanglewood area. You’re right on 581 so if you’re coming off the Interstate, it’s very convenient. There is a Waffle House as well as a Mexican restaurant within walking distance.

Overall impression: If you’re staying a couple of nights and need to be on the north side of Roanoke, this is a pretty good deal. Otherwise, the Hampton Inn over by Lewis Gale Hospital is a little more upscale (but also might be pricier).

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Watthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    84
    51
    29
    21
See reviews for
64
65
27
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Philly
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2010

Tried several Hilton properties in the Roanoke area, but this was the only one that fit my business allowance for this trip. The hotel is very close to Roanoke airport and sits back off a main road, even with GPS I had trouble finding, so pay close attention to directions. Most anything you'll want to do will require a drive. I'm almost certain this property was another brand hotel or a private label that was purchased and rebranded. All room entrances are outdoors, like a Red Roof or Motel 6. The property has two floors and only has stairs to get to the second level. The rooms are OK, nothing really stands out positive or negative. The lobby is quite nice and served a very nice breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
483 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2010

We have stayed in perhaps two dozen Hampton Inns, and this hotel had the biggest room by that we have stayed in at this chain. We booked from Hampton's website, and didn't check it very carefully, so were surprised to find the exterior corridors, which are not typical. But the room was good, a good Mexican restaurant is within walking distance, and the price was fine. Not bad for one night.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EC13091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2010

The staff was wonderful! The hotel is nice and the only issue was my friend's room had a terrible mold smell. However, the rooms are huge and the bathrooms are huge too. Loved having a fridge/freezer and microwave in my room.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank estutseobserver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2010

I would not have booked a stay at this property if I had known it had outside corridors (I was in a hurry to book and didn't checkTrip Advisor FIRST. Lesson learned.). However, you're obviously smarter than I am and since you are reading this, now you know it - respond appropriately.

Should you choose to stay here, be advised that my room was functional and clean enough, but there are no "style points" being awarded. The furniture is mostly laminate and the bathroom sink is located outside the small room where the toilet and shower are located (it reminded me of a Red Roof Inn's layout). The towels are pretty skimpy, but the bed was comfortable enough and the bed linens were the familiar Hampton ones. A "plus" was the cabinet next to the vanity that contained a microwave and a mini-fridge with a generously-sized freezer that actually kept my single-serve ice cream solid over night. The breakfast was everything you'd expect from a Hampton and the clerk at check-in was marvelously friendly and ebullient, even though it was close to midnight.

Because I am a solo female business traveler, I would prefer to stay in a Hilton property (I'm heavily loyal) that has interior corridors - like the OTHER Hampton in town. If you are likewise inclined, that Hampton is located on Plantation Road on the north side of Roanoke. It is probably 15 minutes or less from the airport and worth the drive. When I passed it on this latest trip, the marquee out front announced that it had recently been renovated.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2009

This Hampton Inn is a good place to stay. It has a close proximity to the airport, but not too close. The rooms are fairly quiet and there is very little "road or airplane noise." The room I stayed in was very large. They have nice flat screen Television sets. Apparently though they haven't installed their "famous" cloud mattress in this particular room yet, I found it a little hard for my taste. Would I stay here again? Yes.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 50_Star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
204 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2009

As with the other reviewers this is my experience of my stay:

Pros:

Check-in was fast & efficient
Was given a room on the 1st floor
Breakfast was suitable for a regular morning
Proximity to airport
Waffle House is only a 3 min walk.
Only 5 minute drive to Valley View Mall (big mall with lots of adjoining restaurants)
Only a 5 to 10 minute drive to Roanoke Civic Center
Only a 5 minute drive to Interstate 81 North of South

Cons:

All rooms are exterior (all rooms are outside)
All rooms on 1st floor will lead you directly into the parking lot
There are a number of trucks that go in and out, but i didn't really notice the noise

Would stay here again though since the price was very good.

  • Liked — Proximity to Airport & Interstate
  • Disliked — Outside Rooms that lead into Parking lot
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank caneshockey31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roanoke
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Roanoke Airport
7.3 mi away
Sleep Inn Tanglewood
Sleep Inn Tanglewood
#21 of 40 in Roanoke
138 reviews
6.5 mi away
Colony House Motor Lodge
Colony House Motor Lodge
#23 of 40 in Roanoke
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
2.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Roanoke Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Roanoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Roanoke

Property: Motel 6 Roanoke
Address: 6621 Thirlane Rd, Roanoke, VA 24019-2905
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#9 Family Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Roanoke 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Motel 6 is pet friendly and pets stay free at Motel 6. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Motel-6, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Motel 6 Roanoke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Roanoke Airport Hotel Roanoke
Roanoke Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing