We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Fancy but good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Roanoke, VA
Ranked #26 of 40 Hotels in Roanoke
Reviewed March 2, 2013

This hotel shows what can be done with the old-style motel with outside doors. In Hampton style, the interior is very nice though still configured like a familiar motel from the '60s. One odd thing for us was we were in the room to almost noon one day, then out and about, and the room was never made up. Not that we make much of a mess in one day, but having the tiny trash cans emptied would be nice. The location is very convenient for dining, shopping, or visiting Hollins.

Room Tip: If weather is bad, you might want to be close to the center area, since there are no inside corridor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthernFamilyOf3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert C, Manager at Motel 6 Roanoke, VA, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Good Morning and Thank You for relaying the experience of your stay thru trip advisor so we can be informed of how your stay went with us. We appreciate all of our valued guests feedback so that we can improve in areas of the hotel in order to make everyones stay a comfortable and pleasant one while they are with us. We do hope that when you are in the area again, we will get the opportunity to Welcome your return stay with us and we hope you had a safe trip once you left our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (272)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 272 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2013

While attending the Virginia State Wrestling Tourney, we stay at the Hampton Inn Roanoke Airport. For years they have been giving us first class service. You can't beat it. Great prices, great services, friendly people!!

Room Tip: King size bedrooms are on the back side of the hotel, and if a quiet stay is what you are looking fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert C, Manager at Motel 6 Roanoke, VA, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thank You for posting your recent stay with us on our trip advisor site. We are pleased that we kept our promise to you all as our valued guest and made your stay a enjoyable one.. We look forward to Welcoming you back to the hotel property when you are in the area, either as a group or leisurely trip. We do hope that you all had a safe trip to your next destination and wish you a very good day and once again, Thank You for choosing Hampton Inn as your location for your event group.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Outside entrance, not remodeled in this decade and within the first 5 minutes of coming in the room, we saw 2 stink bugs... need I say more. Maybe the positive comments were coming from the other Hampton Inns in the area. Now we know why it was cheaper than the other ones...

Oh, and by the way there was a post it on the one headboard saying the "duvet covers and sheets are clean for your arrival"...well thank you, I think we'll sleep on that bed! The other bed didn't have such a post it...

Thank goodness this is just a stop over.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank akd115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert C, Manager at Motel 6 Roanoke, VA, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Good Morning. I would like to Thank You for letting us know of how your stay went and I do apologize for the unfortunate experience that you encountered. The stink bugs in this area are a nuisance and as our valued guest, we do try our best to ensure you have a clean room when you checkin and unfortunately with apologies this did not happen during your stay with us. I do hope that the next time you are in the area, that you find lodging that lives up to your expectations and I hope you all had safe travels to your next destination.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Greatly enjoyed our stay, we don't go out too often so it makes a difference as to when the next time will come. It was a longer trip to the restaurants but the room balanced out that slight inconvenience. Look forward to our next stay. Thanks!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert C, Manager at Motel 6 Roanoke, VA, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Good Morning, we are happy to hear that during your recent stay with us that we lived up to your expectations, kept our promise to you and made your stay a pleasant one while you were in the Roanoke area. We do hope that you had safe travels to your next destination and look forward to the opportunity of Welcoming you back when you return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

The lady at the front desk was very polite and helpful. The room was clean and the heat turned on for us (it was really cold outside). The breakfast area was one of the cleanest ones I've seen and a Hampton Inn. We like to stay at Hampton Inns, and my only complaint is that the breakfast gets old fast. An omlet station and/or real sausage and eggs would be nice.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert C, Manager at Motel 6 Roanoke, VA, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Thank You for relaying your recent stay with us on Trip Advisor and we are pleased that as our valued guest that we kept our promise to you and anyone else associated within your reservation and made your stay a pleasant and comfortable one. We do hope that we get the opportunity to Welcome you all back to our property when you are in the Roanoke area again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

If you are comfortable with the current UPDATED Hampton Inn properties, you don't want to stay here. Walking in to the room was a flashback of a 1970's motel room.. After reading the other reviews maybe I got one of the antiquated rooms or an older wing. None of the furniture matched, carpet was well past the time to be updated. Positives: it had a nice tv???

I stayed for an hour, they were nice enough to credit my account - but I just was not comfortable. When you travel 100+ nights a year - you expect a certain level from Hampton. This one was clearly not met.

Room Tip: They do have a highway side - I would try and avoid it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orreo5859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert C, Manager at Motel 6 Roanoke, VA, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Thank You for supplying the feedback of your arrival experience and as to why you departed much earlier than expected instead of staying with us. I do apologize that our hotel property did not live up to your expectations when you arrived and I do hope that you found the type of lodging that met your needs while you were in Roanoke. I do wish that we would have known of this before you completed the checkin process and we would have been more than happy to find you a hotel that you felt was what you would expect because as our valued guest, your comfort and happiness is our #1 priority. I do hope that you had a safe trip to your next destination with no delay. Thank You once again and have a Great Day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Looks like a motel from the outside, and it is an older property. However, the room I had this trip was very spacious, clean, huge bathroom with a really good shower. Staff is very nice. Even though it's not far from the Interstate and the airport, the rooms are really quiet.

I didn't use the Internet as I have a Mifi that I feel more comfortable with. So i cant speak to that. Another thing I realy liked is that on the nightstand, they had a hard wired, secure 4 outlet box. Being a business traveler, I always carry a power strip, but not needed here.

I will return.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
Thank honaker6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert C, Manager at Motel 6 Roanoke, VA, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Thank You for letting us know how your stay went while you are in the Roanoke area. We Welcome all feedback from all our guests, whether it be during a good stay or maybe not such a good stay. I am happy to see that we kept our promise to you for a clean room, friendly service and comfortable surroundings. Our extra outletson the nightstand (cubies), which they are a Hampton standard does help alot of business and leisurely travelers with staying connected, or plugging in cell phones, or power strips as you had mentioned. Thank You once again for notifying us of your stay and we will await the opportunity to Welcome you back to our hotel property. Until then, have a Great Day & safe travels to your next destination.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Roanoke Airport
7.3 mi away
Sleep Inn Tanglewood
Sleep Inn Tanglewood
#21 of 40 in Roanoke
152 reviews
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - Roanoke - Airport
2.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Roanoke, VA
1.6 mi away
Residence Inn Roanoke Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Roanoke, VA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Roanoke, VA

Address: 6621 Thirlane Rd, Roanoke, VA 24019-2905
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Roanoke
#8 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range: $53 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Roanoke, VA 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Motel 6 is pet friendly and pets stay free at Motel 6. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Motel-6, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Motel 6 Roanoke, VA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Roanoke Airport Hotel Roanoke
Roanoke Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing