We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Overnight Visit” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Roanoke Near I-81

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Days Inn Roanoke Near I-81
Ranked #18 of 39 Hotels in Roanoke
Boxford
1 review
“Overnight Visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Rooms were nice. Doors were heavy so they had to be slammed to be shut-- which made for a noisy night when other guests checked in.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Deanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    92
    88
    38
    30
See reviews for
133
70
36
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Virginia
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We live locally, but rented a room to go swimming and check out the band in the restaurant that evening. We couldn't see the pool until after we checked in and I knew something was wrong as soon as we drove around and no one was using it. The water was green and cloudy. When we called the front desk, they assured us it was clean, but needless to say we didn't get to swim. The room was ok and the bed was comfortable, but it did have an odor of cigarettes, even though it was supposed to be a nonsmoking room.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardners, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

Stopped at 4 am and had to check out by 11 am after driving half the night... And of course paid full price. Asked for a later check out and only offered an extra hour. Put DO NOT DISTURB on door and maid still came knocking on door in morning! She barely spoke English and apparently couldn't read it either!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

I usually don't write negative reviews, there are enough of those, but I felt he need to let travelers with pets considering this hotel to know to avoid room 106. I do not know about any of the other rooms. But that room smelled like a convention of dogs had been held there. It was awful. Everything else about the hotel was fine friendly staff, etc.

Room Tip: Avoid room 106
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita23890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We stopped .8-2-14 in on our way to Nashville,and a nice surprise.We were looking for a clean room that would not break the bank and found it Going to the room you could tell the rooms were freshly painted,so much so our door was a bit stuck LOL but no problem. Bed's were confy and the sleep was quiet.Breakfast was not the best though sausage was swimming in oil and the Eggs were cold some were still frozen oh well.Had a nice little newly opened bar was nice to go in for a drink but coming from MD we were not use to allowing Smoking in bars it's been 10 years since we've had that.we usually stay at Marriot Places but the Residence in just down the street was 179 compared to this place was 79 so a win.Over all nice place

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canessebastion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

My room was clean, the bed was comfortable, and the room reasonably priced, but there were issues. The non-smoking room smelled like smoke. The hair dryer didn't work and the hotel did nothing to resolve the issue. I reported it first morning, and the response was we're full so I can't get you another one. So 5 days of air drying long hair was a "joy". The sink drained extremely slow which meant you could not keep the water running for more than 10 seconds. After 3 nights I asked for clean sheet - my bed was not made AT ALL that day. The AC unit was so loud that I never would have slept if I hadn't had ear plugs with me. I'm giving it an average only because I got such a great deal online - other wise I'd have to rate it poor.

The staff was friendly, the hotel is pet friendly which is great. But when checking out and reviewing all the issues, they had no record I had reported anything already - so I doubt the issues will be fixed after my visit.

The continental breakfast was decent and had more than just "bready" type items. The coffee at the breakfast was colored water - so make your own in the room.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SLK507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn Roanoke Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81
2.8 mi away
Motel 6 Roanoke
Motel 6 Roanoke
#19 of 39 in Roanoke
3.5 of 5 stars 225 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Roanoke North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Roanoke Near I-81? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Roanoke Near I-81

Property: Days Inn Roanoke Near I-81
Address: 8118 Plantation Road, Roanoke, VA 24019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Roanoke Near I-81 2*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Days Inn Roanoke Near I-81 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Airport-Roanoke Hotel Roanoke
Days Inn Roanoke
Roanoke Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing