We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #20 of 40 Hotels in Roanoke
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Superb”
Reviewed December 31, 2010

This was the best sheraton we have stayed over the last 5 years. The service was excellent! both at the Shula restaurant as well as in the lobby and the reception. Mr. Ashish Malhotra, Ms. Paula Dietrich, and the executive chef, James Andra made it particulary pleasant.
All of our 7 days of stay was very nice.
We will certainly recommend this Sheraton to all our friends.

Good luck with the inaugaration of Shula's in Feb 2011!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pkumta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    246
    123
    63
    49
See reviews for
223
201
52
178
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 22, 2010

This newly renovated hotel has a gorgeous lobby with working fireplaces, a beautiful flat-panel television in the room, very comfortable beds and very clean rooms. We had a four-star experience at a two-star price.

The front-desk staff made check-in a breeze. (The front desk is a fairly long walk from the front car port and there were no porters on duty when we checked in about 8 p.m., and it's a bit of a long walk from the parking lot to the elevators.) When we left, we called down for a luggage cart, and it was brought up to our room right away.

We opted to have breakfast delivered to us rather than go down for the buffet in one of the newly renovated restaurants. The order was correct when it arrived, and it was on time. More important, it was absolutely delicious and hot, and not too expensive. (The pancakes, omelet, and Starbucks hot chocolate were standouts.)

The hotel has one of the best fitness centers I've ever seen in a hotel, with lots of state-of-the-art machines as well as free weights. The indoor pool and hot tub, though very small, worked great for us, traveling with a young child. (It also has an outdoor pool, which was closed for the season.)

I would unconditionally recommend this hotel if not for two things: The heating system in the room was obnoxiously loud -- so much so that we opted to keep the room a little colder than we would've liked at night to avoid having to hear the heat going. (Fortunately, the comforters were soft and warm.) Also, the room walls are very thin. We were awoken at 5:30 a.m. by an alarm going off in an unoccupied room next door. (The staff did turn it off within 10 minutes of us calling the front desk.) On the other side, we could hear every word our neighbors uttered. And lots of noise filtered through the door from the hallway. If the hotel had been more crowded, I'm sure it would've been even noisier.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trvlstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0701, General Manager at Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, December 23, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel via Trip advisor. It is always nice to hear when we have met our guest expectations. We have spent that last year upgrading the facilities. Health Club, restaurant and all the guest rooms. The heating system is something we are presently working on, so hopefully on your next visit, your stay will be a little quieter.
Thank you again for your response, and we hope that your next visit to the Roanoke Valley, you will once again choose the Sheraton Hotel and Conference Center.
Sincerely,
Greg Hargrave
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
Reviewed December 15, 2010

My family (wife, son, daughter-in-law, and grandsons, age 3 and 1) spent three wonderful nights in the Sheraton in Roanoke, VA. We enjoyed every part of it, but I want to single out the service of the bellman, Xavier L. Fox. He was so kind and personable to us and every member of our family, and he took special interest in our two little grandsons. He is definitely an asset to the Sheraton, and since a person in his position doesn't always receive the gratitude and praise they deserve, it's my privilege to speak up in his behalf. Don't lose him! He's one of your best assets!
John M. Mulder

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnmulder1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0701, General Manager at Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, December 23, 2010
It's always nice to hear when one of our associates goes above and beyond. You are right in saying that Xavier is one of our best assets, as he continually gets kudos from our guests on a regular basis. I was happy to read that your three nights here at the Sheraton Roanoke were pleasant, and I hope that on your next trip to the Roanoke Valley, you will again stay here at the Sheraton. And I will be sure and pass along your kind comments to Xavier.
Sincerely,
Greg Hargrave
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kharkiv, Ukraine
1 review
Reviewed December 9, 2010

Cozy rooms, fitness center open 24/7 - very convenient, yummy-yummy breakfast buffet - and great friendly "you've-made-my-day" atmosphere every step you take on the hotel's carpeted grounds.
Kudos go to Glenford from the Pi Kitchen - for being such a bliss of our mornings:)
Thank you - from the Ukrainian team

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkraineTeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 30, 2010

The Roanoke Valley was beautiful, but I had no rental car to explore the Roanoke Valley, so it was a plus on this trip to have a hotel with a Starbucks on site, a restaurant with very good food, great business and exercise centers, comfortable beds, great service, and plenty of places to make yourself comfortable throughout the property. I didn't use the pool area, but it looked very nice, as I discovered when I found the ladies' room there, which I was thankful for, because several women streamed out of a conference room at the same time that the attendees at our conference took a break. I checked out and had to check back in, when I discovered our conference was going a second day. My second-floor room looked out over a gorgeous fall scene. The seventh-floor room looked out over the beautiful valley. I would return for a leisure trip.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kwann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2010

The staff who greeted me at the reception was friendly and very helpful in accommodating a special request. My room was very clean, and very well decorated. It appeared that my room and the lobby had been recently updated using quite nice, high quality materials. Small touches like the granite counter top in my room's bathroom were definitely nice.

Hotel architecture is almost never notable; however, this complex has a really captivating design, which is quite unusual and distinctive, but thoroughly charming. The first floor lobby area essentially consists of a series of separate spaces (for the reception area, lobby, restaurant, bar, coffee shop, etc.) that are interconnected by glass-walled corridors, that afford a view of the Asian inspired landscaping and the other areas of the lobby. The first floor has a contemporary lodge ambiance, which is really quite charming. This was certainly a very innovating approach to hotel architecture when it was designed back in the early 1980's.

This property has changed names many times. It used to be a Marriott, then it was a Wyndham, and now it's known as the Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whp81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0701, General Manager at Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, November 28, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to responed to Trip Advisor regarding your stay here at the Sheraton Roanoke. We did indeed go through a major renovation, and as you mentioned, it turned out beautiful. We completed not just the public space, but everyone of our 320 guestrooms as well. Also, we have just completed our new restaurant, Shula's 347. Hopefully on your next visit you'll experience the new room. I was also pleased to learn that our staff was friendly and helpful. Again, thank you and we hope to see you on your next visit.
Respectfully,
Greg Hargrave
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg,Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed November 2, 2010

went out of way to be helpful, even took luggage to rooms and helped park cars. Friendly capable and efficient. Hotel staff very good

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ableada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0701, General Manager at Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, November 28, 2010
I was pleased to hear how Chris helped you thoughout your stay here at the Sheraton. Chris has been a great example to the rest of the staff. He has always had that can do attitude, and it shows throughout the hotel. I want to thank you for taking the time to recoginze Chris, and hope that on your next visit to the Roanoke Valley, the Sheraton will be your place to stay.
Sincerely,
Greg Hargrave
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
3.2 mi away
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
4.1 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#6 of 40 in Roanoke
741 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Roanoke
Hyatt Place Roanoke
#10 of 40 in Roanoke
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke - Downtown
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn at Valley View
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center

Property: Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 2801 Hershberger Rd NW, Roanoke, VA 24017-1941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#12 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center is a newly designed oasis of comfort and unassuming style surrounded by the majestic Blue Ridge Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Roanoke Hotel Roanoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing