We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Beautiful hotel, horrible experience” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #17 of 39 Hotels in Roanoke
culpeper, va
2 reviews
“Beautiful hotel, horrible experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

I hate to contradict the other great reviews on the site but after my experience I felt I should share the good and the bad. I was in Roanoke to take a very important test, and many of the 1500 people that descended upon Roanoke were staying in the hotel. I was there for 3 nights and was told that the hotel was booked solid. Our first room was occupied. We used our key to enter and found that the top was locked. Both us and the occupants were confused and a bit miffed. They gave us vouchers for room service, which I'll get to in a bit. Our next room had double beds and was next to the ice machine. Since I had requested a king bed and a quiet room we moved yet again. The room was perfectly nice, even had a nice view of mountains, but since I was already stressed enough I didnt want my hotel experience to add to it. The third and final room was what we had asked for, though my husband had specifically asked if the room was adjoining (with doors to other rooms) and we were told it was not. The room in fact was adjoining to two rooms, which was a bit loud but we dealt with it.

The real issue was with the room service. Now if you can imagine hundreds of anxious people all staying at the hotel to take a test that begins at a specific time, we all ordered breakfast from room service at the earliest time they had allotted, 6:30 am. The food didn't arrive until closer to 7:30, leaving me 15 minutes to eat. Also, they forgot half of my meal. They didn't make us pay for the meal, but considering it wasn't what we ordered (my husband's food was incorrect too since there was meat in the dish and we're vegetarians). Anyway, the next morning we tried again since we're fools or were feeling optimistic. The poor server had to go back to the kitchen 3 times to get the order correct, none of which was his fault.

Anyway, between the room mix up and the horrific room service I wouldn't recommend the hotel. It is beautifully decorated and has a nice gym, but when I needed them to come through they didn't.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AMBH08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0701, General Manager at Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, August 15, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to comment concerning your recent stay at our Sheraton Roanoke.
I was so disappointed to hear of the unpleasant experiences you encountered, especially the way room service handled your orders. Please accept my apologies for this serious breach of service. I have shared your comments with our staff and have taken immediate measures with our room service operation to improve service to our guests.
Once again, I apologize for our errors, and certainly hope you will return to the Sheraton Roanoke, thereby allowing us the opportunity to be of much better service to you.
Sincerely,
Greg Hargrave
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    228
    106
    46
    39
See reviews for
198
171
47
157
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

Kristnia Littleton was my server at the Sheraton hotel and she did a fantastic job at making sure her guests were comfortable. Her outstanding ability of being hospitable to her guests is an intangible asset that the Sheraton chain should hold on to for a long time. She is very dedicated and served every guest (in my presence) in a very timely manner. With staff like Kristina, not only with the restaurant at the Sheraton in Roanoke be successful but the whole hotel will get an opportunity to attract more guests and generate incremental revenue.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cmafdss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0701, General Manager at Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, August 15, 2010
We are always happy to learn when our associates go above and beyond. We are also pleased to know that Kristina was especially helpful to you. I have copied your response in Trip Advisor to all departments, so that our associates will also know how pleased you were with your experience here at the Sheraton. We are, indeed, proud of our "team".
Once again, thank you for your comments, and we look forward to another opportunity to serve you when you are in the Roanoke Valley.
Best regards,
Greg Hargrave
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harleysville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
329 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

We just spent 4 nights here with a group of friends who all have the same breed dog. The hotel bent over backwards for us and our dogs. Its very dog friendly and ample places to walk dogs. We had the use of a conference room the entire time and they constantly checked to see if we needed anythings.
Rooms all beautifully furnished and very clean. Good toiletries.tv and electric outlets. Staff very helpful. Restaurant very good but breakfast is only a buffet and quite high. Not everyone eats a large breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thelrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0701, General Manager at Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, August 27, 2010
I want to thank you regarding your positive review of the Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center. The staff here is still talking about how nice your group was. And they especially liked the Westies. We hope on your next trip, you will allow us the opportunity to host your event here at the Sheraton.
Regards,
Greg Hargrave
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coopersburg,PA
Level Contributor
141 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

Trip was a weekend trip and arrival was at 3:00 PM. Everything was ready and check in was no hassel at all. The check in clerks at the front desk were very professional and courteous. We requested a stay away from any student groups that were there for the weekend and were given a room on the 8th floor . It was a very quiet room, even though it was right next to the vending and ice machines. We have stayed at many Sheraton hotels, but this was one of the greatest stays we have had. Clean towels, relaxing comfortable beds and staff that was very helpful. What more could a weary traveller ask for. Great experience!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveltrek57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0701, General Manager at Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, August 27, 2010
Thank you for your many fine comments about your stay with us.
We are always happy to learn we have done well, and wish you to know that your review has been copied to all departments, so that our employees will also know how pleased you were with their efforts. We are, indeed, proud of our "team".
Once again, thank you for your comments, and we look forward to another opportunity to serve you when you are in the Roanoke Valley.
Best regards,
Greg Hargrave
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

This was our second stay here and it was just as nice as the first last year. The staff is freindly and helpful, the restaurant is not over priced. The rooms are comfortable and clean. Great free computer lounge in the lobby. The interior design is so nice I want to move in.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jessicaroset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0701, General Manager at Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 29, 2010
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay with us for the second time. It's nice to hear we have stayed consistent in our service year over year. We are very proud of our associates as they work very hard do to make your stay an enjoyable one. We get alot of positive comments regarding our design in the hotel as well as the guest rooms. I hope that on your third trip to the Roanoke Valley ,you will stay with us once again.
Sincerely,
Greg Hargrave
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

The hotel is spacious, clean, has everything you need, is conveniently located, has free parking and the rooms are very nice. The entire staff is friendly, professional and a pleasure to deal with. We booked over 20 rooms for a wedding through the group sales department and they were terrific. With such a large group we had changes and the staff took care of everything and they were ALWAYS pleasant and smiling. All of our family and friends who stayed here were very happy

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Capetravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0701, General Manager at Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 29, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your stay with us here at the Sheraton. It's always nice to know when one meets or exceeds expectations. I will pass along the nice comments regarding the staff, and how pleasant everyone was. Again, thank you and hope to see you on your next trip to the Roanoke Valley.
Regards,
Greg Hargrave
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
124 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

We liked the Sheraton Roanoke (though the layout of the property is downright baffling). The late-night desk staff were a little loopy...hey, it's late...but the room was large and comfortable with all the usual amenities and services. The hotel is pet friendly, and the person who booked our reservation was sharp enough to put us on a first floor close to a good walking spot, which was great. We would definitely reocmmend it for Roanoke.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thelivingjuj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0701, General Manager at Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 20, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay here at the Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center. Sorry the layout was abit baffling. We are however nice and spread out which makes it nice for pet owners. I was happy to hear you were placed in a room that made it convenient for walking your dog.
Again, thank you for the nice comments.
Regards,
Greg Hargrave
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
3.2 mi away
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#3 of 39 in Roanoke
4.5 of 5 stars 673 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Roanoke
Hyatt Place Roanoke
#9 of 39 in Roanoke
4.0 of 5 stars 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center

Property: Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 2801 Hershberger Rd NW, Roanoke, VA 24017-1941
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#12 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center is a newly designed oasis of comfort and unassuming style surrounded by the majestic Blue Ridge Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Roanoke Hotel Roanoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing