We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #19 of 40 Hotels in Roanoke
Bangor, Maine
Level Contributor
1 review
“Fantastic Service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2010

Never have I encountered such fantastic customer service. I was met at the airport by a Roanoke native named Xavier Lafayette Fox. He was welcoming, friendly, and above all else he was a gentlemen. The staff at the hotel were very friendly, saying hello and welcoming me to the Sheraton. It was like I was a celebrity - but clearly, I am not. I would highly recommend anyone stay at this hotel. They have fantastic fitness facilities, a great restaurant, and if you want that personal service you will certainly get it here.

Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jade2099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0701, General Manager at Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, February 19, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to comment concerning your recent stay at our Sheraton Roanoke.
We were happy to learn that we succeeded in making your stay a pleasant one, and that we achieved the high standards for which we strive. We were also pleased to know that Mr. Fox, was especially helpful to you.
Once again, thank you for your comments, and we look forward to another opportunity to be of service to you.
Sincerely,
Greg Hargrave
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    236
    119
    59
    45
See reviews for
212
194
50
171
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2010

i really liked this hotel. i just cant believe it has taken me so long to write the review. we stayed here in september and travelled with my wifes parents, her mother is wheelchair bound so it isnt always easy to get a room that is suitable.

our first contact with the hotel was the concierge, a chap called Xavier. He was a complete gentleman and sorted out all our baggage while we checked in. This was great since we had driven about 6 hours from pittsburgh and were pretty tired.

The rooms are excellent and definitely have a 'kuxury' feel to them. My only complaint is the position of the TV which is a bit out of the way if you want to sit in the chair and watch it.

We ate breakfast in the restaurant every day and although very quiet, we got great service.

The hotel has a state of the art gym and everything seems brand new. The swimming pool area is also a nice area to relax. (indoor and outdoor pools)

all in all, a great stay. i dont know if i will ever be back in Roanoke, but if i am, i will definitely choose the Sheraton.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacarama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2009

I had the pleasure of staying at the renovated Sheraton while attending a conference. It's a beautiful property, with cutting edge style and amenities. The renovation was very thorough, leaving the hotel looking almost new. Rooms are large, and most have very small balconies. If you've stayed a renovated Sheraton recently, the decor and furnishings are typical with muted colors, rich fabrics, comfortable seating, a great bed, flat screen TV, and high quality finishes.

The hotel has the spacious, rambling feel of a resort as opposed to a large convention hotel. There are indoor and outdoor pools, a terrific fitness center, and business center. Though it is located right next to the interstate, with landscaped courtyards and paths throughout the property, it feels like a world unto itself.

The staff is exceptionally friendly and strives to provide a personal touch. Everyone from the front desk to the servers to the conference staff was pleasant and helpful and went out of their way to provide a comfortable stay.

On the downside, the hotel is renovated, but the bones are 25 years old. There are large expanses of poorly insulated glass everywhere, and on cold days, there are frigid drafts coming from all directions. I had to ask to be reseated twice in the restaurant because it was cold to the point of needing to wear a coat. The heat in my room didn't seem to work well, and along with the poorly insulated glass, made it feel like an icebox at night.

Sound insulation between the rooms is also poor. I could hear every word of conversation in the hall, as well as the activities of my neighbors through the closed connecting door.

Also in need of improvement is the quality of the restaurant and room service. The food was terrible and overpriced. There are lots of good restaurants within a five minute drive, so I suggest that guests eat off property until the restaurant improves.

Overall, the Sheraton provides a quality stay. There is, however, competition in the area, so the hotel would be wise to address the aforementioned issues soon.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0701, General Manager at Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, December 18, 2009
Thank you very much for your recent feedback about our hotel. As you know we are a recently renovated hotel and we do have a very good staff here. I appreciate your comments in that regard. As you mentioned HVAC is an issue and we are in the process to eliminate that issue as well. Have a great Holiday season and we hope to see you back soon.

Sincerely,

Per Nilsson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2009

Friendly, helpful staff. Great location. Parking was close to the door, easy, and free. The hotel itself is very nice after what I think was a recent remodel. The room was spacious, the beds comfortable, and my kid loved the little square ottomans so much we bought two like them for our house. It was just done, overall, very well.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank themic_virginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, England
Level Contributor
79 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2009

stayed in a king bed room, the room was very large...but it was a shame the bathroom was pretty small.
Fridge in the room was handy, and the bed was very comfy. The flatscreen TV was one of the best we had during holiday (out of 13 motel stays) but on the other hand Sheraton were the only one who wanted to charge us for in-room internet use.
Overall a good expirence.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank t-m-c-m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2009

The room was very comfortable. The entry way has a very nice wood floor. The large, flat screen T.V. is a pleasant plus. The staff is friendly and helpful. If you haven't stayed at a Sheraton before give this one a try.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 50_Star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2009

This hotel has been recently updated, and everything looks great. The televisions are nice and big. The workout room is the biggest and best I have seen in a hotel. The staff are the nicest people ever, and go out of their way to make sure your stay is enjoyable. The only downside is room service. There is only ever one person delivering meals, and it seems they are ALWAYS 'backed up'. The people are nice when they bring it to your room, but the wait times are unreasonable. The breakfast delivery person is also the coffee bar person, so if you want a coffee in the morning you have to hope they are not out delivering. All in all a wonderful hotel, but plan on getting all meals elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
4.1 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#4 of 40 in Roanoke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
5.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Roanoke
Hyatt Place Roanoke
#9 of 40 in Roanoke
4.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center

Property: Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 2801 Hershberger Rd NW, Roanoke, VA 24017-1941
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#12 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center is a newly designed oasis of comfort and unassuming style surrounded by the majestic Blue Ridge Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Roanoke Hotel Roanoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing