We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“I stayed here because of this web site.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Econo Lodge Civic Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Econo Lodge Civic Center
Ranked #10 of 40 Hotels in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Morrisville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“I stayed here because of this web site.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

I stayed at this place because of reviews I read in this very column. I agree with the general consensus--a good value at a place run by caring people. At $50/night, I can't be too picky, but there were two glitches worth mentioning. The first is that my room must have been a "smoking" room way-back-when, because the residual tobacco odor was noticeable. There is no easy fix to this, and it didn't bother me. The other is that the bathtub bottom was quite slick, and I had to be very careful while taking a shower. (I have a mobility problem related to balance.) This one could probably be fixed by a rubber mat or some adhesive strips for a couple of bucks. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phm3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhavik P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Civic Center, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Paul,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

I am sorry that you smelled a tobacco smoke in your room. The management of the Econo Lodge Civic Center has changed Since April 2013. Your room was and is classified as non-smoking. I would not be able to comment on if previous management used that room as smoking in the past. We'll look into getting that room treated as non-smoking so there will not be any residue tobacco smell. Thank you for your suggestion about a mat in the bath. We are in the process of placing an order for the mats to install them in the room that do not have it.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Bhavik Patel
General Manager
Econo Lodge Civic Center
(540) 343-2413
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    87
    25
    7
    10
See reviews for
56
72
22
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
oxford
Level Contributor
48 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

The lodge is old but the room was clean. Bedding and towels all clean too. No horrid smell to room either. For the money this is a bargain. The road is very noisy but this is not the motels fault. Overall if you are on a budget then you cannot go wrong staying here. The lady at front desk was very helpful on check in too.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sammie18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhavik P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Civic Center, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

I want to thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us.

It is great for us to be on the main road which makes it easy for everyone to find us; however, the traffic noise is downside. We do have rooms away from the traffic that are very quiet. In addition, we are constantly working hard to improve the hotel. In last few months, we have replaced 10% of the old toilets with new dual flush toilets, 10% of the AC units, 20% of fridge and microwave. We have also installed curved shower bar in 100% of rooms. In addition we have also got our carpet cleaned by Stanley Steemers. In additional we have also cleaned all of the AC units in the room.

We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know we're doing something right. We wish you would give us a second chance to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Bhavik Patel
General Manager
Econo Lodge Civic Center
(540) 343-2413
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vestal, New York
Level Contributor
175 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

My stay here was fine; the proprietor was pleasant and earnest and the motel is well located near downtown. Room was a little tattered but I could tell that updates had been made and I felt that it was appropriately priced. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rjr0810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhavik P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Civic Center, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

I want to thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. It is great to know that you were able to enjoy your stay with us.

As you noticed, we are constantly working hard to improve the hotel. In past several months, we have replaced 10% of the old toilets with new dual flush toilets, 10% of the AC units, 20% of fridge and microwave. We have also installed curved shower bar in 100% of rooms. In addition we have also got our carpet cleaned by Stanley Steemers. In additional we have also cleaned all of the AC units in the room.

We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know we're doing something right. We wish you would give us a second chance to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Bhavik Patel
General Manager
Econo Lodge Civic Center
(540) 343-2413
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

I stayed here mid-August and was very happy. The room was clean and smelled fresh. The service was friendly and most helpful to a weary traveler. You can tell the owners are hard-working and care about their property and customers. I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annacorey8187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhavik P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Civic Center, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

I want to thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. It is a great pleasure to hear that we could make your stay enjoyable.

Thank you for your kind word. We work very hard to keep the rooms clean and friendly. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed the customer service we strive to provide to each guest.

We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know we're doing something right. We look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Bhavik Patel
General Manager
Econo Lodge Civic Center
(540) 343-2413
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
183 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

This older tattered property while a good value is stuck with a very busy truck route in front and a front desk that only could speak the very barest of the english language. The room itself was serviceable and clean with no amenities or extras. If you are looking for a clean bargain and do not mind the noise this could be your place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the back of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bradford7050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhavik P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Civic Center, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

I want to thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. I am sorry that we were not able to meet your expectation. It is great for us to be on the main road which makes it easy for everyone to find us; however, the traffic noise is downside. We do have rooms away from the traffic that are very quiet. In addition, we are constantly working hard to improve the hotel. In last few months, we have replaced 10% of the old toilets with new dual flush toilets, 10% of the AC units, 20% of fridge and microwave. We have also installed curved shower bar in 100% of rooms. In addition we have also got our carpet cleaned by Stanley Steemers. In additional we have also cleaned all of the AC units in the room.

We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know we're doing something right. We wish you would give us a second chance to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Bhavik Patel
General Manager
Econo Lodge Civic Center
(540) 343-2413
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

This was a really great find! Traveling through. Great price. So close to downtown; great service and very clean! Bhavik was very nice and hospitable!! We found thr room clean fresh and what we needed. We would stay here again! Very reasonablevey friendly staff!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cd2010tn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhavik P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Civic Center, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

I want to thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. It is a great pleasure to hear that we could make your stay enjoyable.

Thank you for your kind word. We work very hard to keep the rooms clean and friendly. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed the customer service we strive to provide to each guest.

We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know we're doing something right. We look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Bhavik Patel
General Manager
Econo Lodge Civic Center
(540) 343-2413
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

I travel to Roanoke for business every couple weeks, and have stayed here several times. Nothing fancy, of course, but everything is neat and clean and whatever you need, they'll get it for you. Renovations and upgrades are an ongoing project — new A/C units, tile in bathrooms, etc. — and are much appreciated.

The manager, Bhavik, goes out of his way to make sure your stay is a pleasant one. That's the main reason we come back time and time again. It's nice to be reminded what good customer service is all about.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toby R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhavik P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Civic Center, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

I want to thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. It is a great pleasure to hear that we could make your stay enjoyable.

We try hard to provide the best possible service to our customers and their satisfaction is our reward. Your positive feedback will motivate us to work even harder. We are always making changes to improve the guest experience.

We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know we're doing something right. We look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Bhavik Patel
General Manager
Econo Lodge Civic Center
(540) 343-2413
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
0.6 mi away
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
1.9 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#3 of 40 in Roanoke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
4.5 mi away
Quality Inn Roanoke Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Civic Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Civic Center

Property: Econo Lodge Civic Center
Address: 308 Orange Ave NE, Roanoke, VA 24016-1510
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Roanoke
#10 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Econo Lodge Civic Center 1.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Econo Lodge Civic Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Roanoke
Roanoke Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing