We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ugh”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Airport Plaza Hotel
Ranked #37 of 40 Hotels in Roanoke
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

This has to be, undoubtedly, the nastiest hotel I've ever stayed in. Hustled by a panhandler upon arrival, lobby smelled like a scummy pawn shop, the room looked like a crime scene. I slept atop a "bath towel" (aka rag) the whole night. Room smelled musty and like smoke. Bathroom had a leaky toilet. We cancelled our second night's reservation and booked the nearby Howard Johnson.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 44 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2014

I can't believe we payed the money to stay here to have to be my own maid changing my own beds and rented a rollaway...had to go back to office to get linens for that. None of the laundry is clean the law there all the time we were visited by them but had wrong room how rude. Elavators worked when they wanted them too. I will never stay here again...

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

I would rather sleep in the snow. I took nfl ion at the room n I was gone...all the below reviews were TRUE stayfar far away........This hotel deserves no stars ... It needs to be shut down...,,,,,,,,,,!,,,,,,,

Room Tip: Look for a three star or higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Most staff members were rude, some were nice. The hotel had bugs roaches, spiders, bed bugs, and stink bugs. Some rooms didn't have a clock. Sometimes there was no one at the desk. Breakfast could have been better. Place is falling apart and should be shutdown. A health inspector should visit the place. It is filthy and disappointing. Pipe burst in a room and furnace caught on fire. People could rent rooms per hour. Manager walks in your room while your in it and is rude. They turn people away based on appearance.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tellinthetruth2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

This is the worse hotel I have ever seen. We booked online. When we got there and saw the staff and visitors we were afraid for our life. Very shady!!! We got back in the car, locked the doors, and got out of there as fast as we could.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 204Sherri_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stay in your car! Horrible---Drug infested, bug infested, dirty! Would rather not sleep than stay at this dump. Cops were there on several occasions and we heard a lot of noise from several rooms with strange people coming in and out all night. They would have to pay me to come to this place again and a lot of money at that. They probably rent these atrocious rooms by the hour but I did not check on that. STAY AWAY!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank richard n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

There was no one at the counter when I checked in and the bell to ring was far out of reach so I had to yell "Hello?" The hallways were filthy and the walls disgusting.. There were bugs (I think cockroaches) in my room!! I can't believe this place is in business. It surely would not pass a health inspection!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
0.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Roanoke - Airport
1.6 mi away
Motel 6 Roanoke
Motel 6 Roanoke
#25 of 40 in Roanoke
267 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
82.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Roanoke Airport
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn Roanoke Airport
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Roanoke Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Plaza Hotel

Address: 3695 Thirlane Rd NW, I-581 at Exit 3-E, Roanoke, VA 24019-3003
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 40 Hotels in Roanoke
Price Range: $43 - $51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Airport Plaza Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Airport Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Roanoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing