We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here!! Sleep under a tree it's cleaner”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Airport Plaza Hotel
Ranked #37 of 40 Hotels in Roanoke
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Oh my God! This has to be the nastiest hotel I have ever seen. And shady also. The carpets in the hallway have never been vaccumed. The bathroom was Filthy and due to a power outages this was the ONLY room left in the valley and surrounding area when I booked. I went and bought bleach and cleaning products to clean the room. The bathtub had brown dirt in it (washed away with bleach) the toilet had pee under the seat (I kid you not) and there was hair on the bathroom floor. I was terrified I would catch something! I had nothing to clean the NASTY FILTHY carpet and the beds?? OH MY the mattresses were STAINED with something (Im guessing pee) the plastic bottom mattress cover was ripped on both beds and falling off, the sheets were dingy, the pillows were stained, the towels in the bathroom where brown (suppose to be white) the man (Mr. bill) checking me in looked like he had just cleaned a cow pasture. I'm not sure where the other people who reviewed this hotel live but this was by far the nastiest place I have ever seen. In the future I will pitch a tent in the woods before I EVER stay here again. The girl sitting at the phone was polite and sweet but I cannot stress enough how NASTY this place is.

Room Tip: Don't book at this hotel and you should have a happy trip
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frafancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
There are newer reviews for Airport Plaza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 44 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2012

Hotel is older and has a transient population. Bed was clean and comfortable. 'Bathroom was clean. Some furniture was in need of repair.Breakfast was ok but limited. I would not stay here with wife nor children. Was told by long term guests that hotel offered weekly rates.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grenville F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

The hotel is an older hotel but it was clean and the staff was really friendly. They helped with anything we needed and provided any extras. I was hesitant because of other reviews that I had read but my experience was not bad and the staff were never rude.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bree07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

I had stayed here back in July of 2011 and the place was undergoing some upgrading and repairs. I believed that it was a great place for the money and was within short distance from shopping malls, restauraunts, and activities. I just stayed at the motel again with some friends and seen some changes that had been made. The rooms seemed to be cleaner and accomodations were newer or repaired so they would be dependable. I also noticed that both elevators were working properly and I was able to access the computers available with out waiting long time. The overhaul experience was 7 times greater than my last stay in July 2011 and I will recommend if you want the best value for your budget, this is your place.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crystal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

I booked my room off of an internet deal at a good price. But after two days of not having my room cleaned, and two days of complaining I got into an arguement (who I later found out was the owner of the hotel). He told me "you no pay full price, you no get full service". I was furious, with the way he treated me.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valerie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

Its ok motel with basic amenities. Price was very attractive but not the neighborhood. Its OK for one night stay if you are single and you don't bother about neighborhood.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jammie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

First time I have ever written a review. Cab driver said we'd be safe if we didn't open the door. He became our friend very soon and took us to another hotel. My wife is no longer in charge of "finding us someplace cheap for the night". Do not stay here, even if you are high school kids looking for a place to party. I am scarred for life.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank canes222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
0.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Roanoke - Airport
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Roanoke Airport
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Roanoke Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Motel 6 Roanoke
Motel 6 Roanoke
#25 of 40 in Roanoke
263 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn Roanoke Airport
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Plaza Hotel

Address: 3695 Thirlane Rd NW, I-581 at Exit 3-E, Roanoke, VA 24019-3003
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 40 Hotels in Roanoke
Price Range: $46 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Airport Plaza Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Airport Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Roanoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing