We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family vacation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Airport Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Airport Plaza Hotel
Ranked #33 of 39 Hotels in Roanoke
El Paso, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Family vacation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

The hotel is an older hotel but it was clean and the staff was really friendly. They helped with anything we needed and provided any extras. I was hesitant because of other reviews that I had read but my experience was not bad and the staff were never rude.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bree07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    5
    6
    28
See reviews for
13
7
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

I had stayed here back in July of 2011 and the place was undergoing some upgrading and repairs. I believed that it was a great place for the money and was within short distance from shopping malls, restauraunts, and activities. I just stayed at the motel again with some friends and seen some changes that had been made. The rooms seemed to be cleaner and accomodations were newer or repaired so they would be dependable. I also noticed that both elevators were working properly and I was able to access the computers available with out waiting long time. The overhaul experience was 7 times greater than my last stay in July 2011 and I will recommend if you want the best value for your budget, this is your place.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crystal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Browns Mills, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

I booked my room off of an internet deal at a good price. But after two days of not having my room cleaned, and two days of complaining I got into an arguement (who I later found out was the owner of the hotel). He told me "you no pay full price, you no get full service". I was furious, with the way he treated me.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank valerie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

Its ok motel with basic amenities. Price was very attractive but not the neighborhood. Its OK for one night stay if you are single and you don't bother about neighborhood.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jammie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

First time I have ever written a review. Cab driver said we'd be safe if we didn't open the door. He became our friend very soon and took us to another hotel. My wife is no longer in charge of "finding us someplace cheap for the night". Do not stay here, even if you are high school kids looking for a place to party. I am scarred for life.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canes222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

Since my flight was getting in late I just wanted a hotel right near the airport, for one night. I was wary of choosing this place, but I did. I liked that they offered a free shuttle service. However when I called them, they refused to come pick me up (something about how late it was), even though I had called them a week prior to make sure it was okay. I was close to tears, and a stranger at the airport saw this, and took the phone and argued with them, and got them to come pick me up. The shuttle was funny to see as it was some terrible 90's car extended into a limo. At the front desk, I don't think they were happy with me, though I'm not sure what I was supposed to do otherwise. They did not treat me very nicely.

The room I had reserved was not available anymore, so they stuck me in a smoking room. The room was very spacious, had a decent bed, an old small tube tv, and a hair dryer. The walls were paper thin, and I heard people arguing the entire night. I struck me as the kind of place hookers, and drug dealers would go.

I only regret that I was a woman, not yet 21, staying alone there. I felt very uncomfortable and not safe there (did I mention there was a huge gap in the door frame where I could see people walking by in the hallway!) The next day when my taxi picked me up my driver thought it was hilarious that I had actually stayed there, because to the locals of the area, the hotel was known to be in an unsavory neighborhood.

For the price I would say it is good for one nights stay. Just make sure you're comfortable enough to handle it.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyLeia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

When assessing this hotel the word "hotel" is very misleading. We stayed here in August along with our six pets as evacuees from Hurricane Irene. The Airport Plaza "Hotel" is less a hotel and more of a really, really amazing and affordable hostel. If you approach it with this mindset you will not be disappointed.

This "hotel" is a wonderful value for the price, for about $25-50/night you get a very well stocked, nice size room. Each room includes a mini fridge with freezer, microwave, tv, table with chairs, iron and ironing board, as well as a hair dryer. No, the rooms are not immaculately clean, there isn't always someone at the front desk, and there are lots of people gathered in the front lobby on the computers or chatting. But, these are all things you expect walking into a hostel.

And, to top it off, the service was great, they didn't even charge us the additional fee for our pets as we were evacuating from the hurricane. My husband, mother and father-in-law couldn't have been happier with our stay. Alter your thinking, don't expect luxury, and you will be happy too. This place is perfect for people traveling with pets, on a budget, or large families. The price cannot be beat!

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor are perfect for people with pets with direct access to the large back y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnthroNerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
0.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Roanoke - Airport
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Roanoke Airport
0.3 mi away
MainStay Suites Airport
MainStay Suites Airport
#12 of 39 in Roanoke
4.5 of 5 stars 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn Roanoke Airport
1.6 mi away
Motel 6 Roanoke
Motel 6 Roanoke
#19 of 39 in Roanoke
3.5 of 5 stars 225 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Plaza Hotel

Property: Airport Plaza Hotel
Address: 3695 Thirlane Road NW, I-581 at Exit 3-E, Roanoke, VA 24019
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 39 Hotels in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Airport Plaza Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Airport Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Roanoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing