We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Not the Ritz” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Roanoke VA

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Super 8 Roanoke VA
Ranked #25 of 39 Hotels in Roanoke
LIBERTY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Not the Ritz”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

The hotel is well worn but over all it seems that an effort is being made to improve. For example the rooms coat of paint was up to date. Our room was clean but my daughters room had dirt on the towels and mold along the edge of the tub. Our tub did show evidence of black mold but not as much. The room seemed clean over-all. We did have a slight leak in a supply line to the toilet which I told them about when checking out. The hall had a musty smell as there are smoking rooms available which I blame the smell on, right or wrong. Over-all for the money you really can not complain as we did not pay 5 star prices. The staff seemed quite willing to take care of problems and seemed to be very friendly. We stayed 2 nights and it was quiet both nights.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DONALD S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgie R, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Roanoke VA, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
We are currently making upgrades to the motel. We do offer limited smoking rooms at this motel, which could account for the smell. I do apologize. Your review has been sent to the manager so it can be handled properly with housekeeping. I hope overall you enjoyed your stay and will return. Thank you for your feedback,
Georgie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    55
    73
    55
    38
See reviews for
82
61
33
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Abbeville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

An Asian owned hotel by a proprietor who seems professional and accommodating. Budget priced with no serious deficiencies other then a few cosmetic issues in bathroom, (cracking drywall beside sink / tub and also on ceiling) Room furnishings including carpet seem to be quite worn, but everything WAS clean and the shower worked great! A basic continental breakfast is offered in a clean, private room. A 24hr. Waffle House is also located in the adjacent parking lot. Definitely not honeymoon or celebrating accommodations here but considering the $45 rate I would return!
(Located 15 minutes from the Blue Ridge Parkway off I -581)

Room Tip: All rooms are accessed from the interior hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthernWishbone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgie R, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Roanoke VA, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
We appreciate your positive feedback for staying at our property. In the near future, we are planning on upgrading property since the new management has taken over. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Thank you,
Georgie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Motel location seems to be a dangerous part of town. Toilet was cracked, Hall reeks of cigarette smoke. Seems to attract workers rather than tourists or families.
Would not recommend to a friend. Below standard for the money.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayla P, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Roanoke VA, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
We do greatly appreciate your business, and are sorry to hear that you feel the motel is below par for the money paid for the room. We do look forward to being able to serve you again in the future and hopefully you'll see that we do everything possible to ensure the safety of our guest and staff here, and that our customer service is exceptional.
Thanks again.
Kayla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roanoke
0.1 mi away
Motel 6 Roanoke
Motel 6 Roanoke
#21 of 39 in Roanoke
3.5 of 5 stars 227 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Roanoke Airport
1.4 mi away
Extended Stay America - Roanoke - Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Sleep Inn Tanglewood
Sleep Inn Tanglewood
#23 of 39 in Roanoke
3.5 of 5 stars 115 reviews
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
2.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Roanoke VA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Roanoke VA

Property: Super 8 Roanoke VA
Address: 6616 Thirlane Rd, I-81, I-581 Exit 2S, Roanoke, VA 24019-2906
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 39 Hotels in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Roanoke VA 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Super 8 Roanoke VA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Roanoke Hotel Roanoke
Super Eight Roanoke
Roanoke Super 8
Roanoke Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing