We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Clean Convenient and Cheap” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Roanoke VA

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Super 8 Roanoke VA
Ranked #25 of 39 Hotels in Roanoke
Bangor, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
115 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Clean Convenient and Cheap”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Hotel is located right off Rte 581 exit 2. There are a group of hotels in the same area typical hiway type clustering.

Room was more than adequate - relatively clean - about what you would expect for a $45 a night hotel. The manager Mr Patel was very nice, when I asked about the ice machine not working he apologized and got me some ice from the kitchen.

The room is quiet - air worked - fridge worked - I have stayed at way worse.

Nice restaurant across the street "El Toreo" Decent food there too

All in all a decent 1 night stay over when going from here to there.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pastor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee F, General Manager at Super 8 Roanoke VA, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Hello Mr.Pastor
We appreciate your business and very happy that your stay at our Motel was pleasant. Thank you for taking your time out to input the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    56
    74
    57
    38
See reviews for
83
63
34
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

I realize this is a budget hotel but was disappointed in the cleaniness. The bathroom tub and toilet were not clean. There was a used washcloth n the shower curtain rail and the mirror had splatters on it. It was nice to have a refrigerator but it needed to be wiped out. The carpet appeared to be new so that was a bonus. The ice machine was on the fritz. I brought all this to the attention of the manager and he reduced my bill which I thought was a god business decision. The staff was friendly and helpful but I was put off by the dirty areas in he room.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee F, General Manager at Super 8 Roanoke VA, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Hi Joan
Since you pointed out the issue of cleanliness we took serious action on housekeeper and fired her for poor job! I do apologize and also reduce your bill to help out on your frustration. The ice machine got fixed one part was bad. And thankful for compliment on our friendly staff. Hope to serve you in a better way in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

I booked my non smoking rooms online and was told I had two smoking rooms. The manager told me he was all booked and would give me some air freshner if I wanted it. I went to check out the room and it was bad. It took hours to get the smell out of my clothes. I returned to the front dest and recieved a refund. I was not pleased at all.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee F, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Roanoke VA, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Hello
I do apologize about your visit at our Motel during that busy weekend when we were sold out. Honestly i tell every customer about this issue once you book online through third party reservation we cannot do any changes to this reservation they are blocked reservation so no changes or update we can do at property. The best way to save all this hassle and frustration customer should contact directly to property for booking and their request get right answer. Unfortunately your reservation was made by online on very busy time we do feel sorry that couldn't help out on your trip. Hope in future you do contact directly to property about your reservation. Thank you for your review so we can help more out to customer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Va
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

This hotel is nasty. There were so many things that did not work or were broken, including the lock on the door and the smoke detector. The hair dryer was partially melted, the toilet leaked, It was a miserable 2 day stay. When we arrived there my husband went to check in and asked to use the restroom as we had been travelling a long way and he was told there is no public restroom. He ended up having an accident. It was just awful. We have stayed at super 8 before in other areas and they have always been clean, This one was not. There was a soda can in the floor and some BB's. I dont think the vaccuum had been run for weeks. It was also more expensive by twice than the other area hotels. Awful awful we will not stay at a super 8 again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank chefrjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee F, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Roanoke VA, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Sorry to hear that you had bad experience at our property. You should have right away notified the front desk and had switch the room and we can notified Maint. dept and house keeping dept. to fix the issues in the room. We apologize and in future would love to serve you and every customer in a better way only if you let us know right away about the situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
0.1 mi away
Motel 6 Roanoke
Motel 6 Roanoke
#21 of 39 in Roanoke
3.5 of 5 stars 231 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Roanoke Airport
7.1 mi away
Sleep Inn Tanglewood
Sleep Inn Tanglewood
#23 of 39 in Roanoke
3.5 of 5 stars 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Extended Stay America - Roanoke - Airport
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Roanoke VA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Roanoke VA

Property: Super 8 Roanoke VA
Address: 6616 Thirlane Rd, I-81, I-581 Exit 2S, Roanoke, VA 24019-2906
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 39 Hotels in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Roanoke VA 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Super 8 Roanoke VA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Roanoke Hotel Roanoke
Super Eight Roanoke
Roanoke Super Eight
Roanoke Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing