We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best,not the worst” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 Roanoke VA

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Super 8 Roanoke VA
Ranked #26 of 40 Hotels in Roanoke
Saint John
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not the best,not the worst”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed here during a recent trip to Florida. Picked this Super 8 because of positive comments on trip advisor. Our room was a good size and clean. Lady at check in was pleasant and polite. Breakfast was disappointing as there is no breakfast room and no place to sit other than in the lobby. Poured myself some cereal and there was no milk. I was told that no milk had been delivered that morning. How hard would it have been for an employee to go and get some milk for their guests? Try eating dry cereal. Not good and not a good way to start the day. This experience has kind of turned me off with regards to this motel. I don't plan to return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Overdue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelli G, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Roanoke VA, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
I do apologize about breakfast area and milk was out. Secondly since your visit we do now have complete new Breakfast room done recently by management because lack of space in front desk area and breakfast area were close enough. I do recommended you to visit again at our property and will give you a discount since you went through trouble. Also now we do keep more back up product like Milk and breakfast product in stock since your issue has been pointed to management meeting and serious steps are taken. Thank you again for letting us know about front desk was helpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    59
    78
    59
    41
See reviews for
88
66
36
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gordonsville
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights. We were touring area vineyards. The room was clean and quiet. It is a convenient location for restaurants and shopping. The day and night staff are wonderful. we would definitelystay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Garen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D P, Manager at Super 8 Roanoke VA, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thanks for posting your comments! Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
189 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

If you just want a place to sleep with no frills with a good location this S8 isn't bad. Great little Mexican restaurant right across the street with a super happy hour. Waffle house next door, and easy access to I-581. We did detect a bit of a smoky odor on the entire property--there are some smoking rooms and non smoking right next to each other. All on one floor smoking might be a remedy. Nice staff and an adequate little continental breakfast--not much selection but decent coffee, waffles, toast etc. The property is quiet and seems secure. King size bed was more comfortable than many more expensive motels we have been in.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
2 Thank CvilleMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelli G, Public Relations Manager at Super 8 Roanoke VA, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive feedback on your stay at our hotel. I am glad to hear that you tried the Mexican restaurant across the street. It is one of my favorites. I am also glad to know that you found the bed to be more comfortable then most hotels. Again we thank you and hope that you will stay at our location the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roanoke
0.1 mi away
Motel 6 Roanoke
Motel 6 Roanoke
#23 of 40 in Roanoke
3.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Roanoke Airport
7.1 mi away
Sleep Inn Tanglewood
Sleep Inn Tanglewood
#22 of 40 in Roanoke
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Salem Roanoke Area
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Roanoke Airport
2.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Roanoke VA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Roanoke VA

Property: Super 8 Roanoke VA
Address: 6616 Thirlane Rd, I-81, I-581 Exit 2S, Roanoke, VA 24019-2906
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 40 Hotels in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Roanoke VA 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Super 8 Roanoke VA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Roanoke Hotel Roanoke
Super Eight Roanoke
Roanoke Super Eight
Roanoke Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing