We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“I WOULD HAVE THOUGHT A DAYS INN WOULD HAVE BEEN CLEANER...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Roanoke Civic Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Days Inn Roanoke Civic Center
Ranked #28 of 39 Hotels in Roanoke
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    62
    92
    137
    213
See reviews for
183
106
68
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

This is a cheaper hotel in a convenient location in Roanoke. No, the rooms are not as clean as you would find in a more expensive hotel, but if you're gonna complain, go down the street and pay twice the price. Or go sleep under a bridge for free, which will make you grateful for a roof and a lock on the door...
I happened to be there the same weekend as the bar exam, so the place was packed. Patricia bent over backwards to make sure I had a place to stay even though she was super busy. She's a cool lady and very helpful. So is Jojo for that matter!
--Greg

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Southpole2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia H, General Manager at Days Inn Roanoke Civic Center, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Greg,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review with the trip advisor community, I really appreciate it. It was so refreshing to read your review! I was more than happy to help in your situation, and I would do it again. Just for the record your pretty cool too! ;) I hope that you enjoyed your journey on the Appalachin Trail, and good luck with your new job. I am sure that you will be great at whatever you do in life. If you are ever in the area again we would love to have you as a guest! Until next time happy trails to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

First off, for the money and the proximity to where I needed to be, I can't complain too much. I also stayed in a smoking room, which may be different than the non-smoking rooms. However, you still expect the rooms to be relatively clean. Mine had burns on the furniture and stains on the walls and carpets. The mat in the tub was coming up so that when you took a shower, it just floated there. Oh yeah, and the wi-fi didn't reach my room so I had no internet connection anywhere. After my room was cleaned on the second day, there were stains in the sink from cleaning supplies that I needed to rinse off, and the carpeted floor was wet in areas.

The people working there were really nice, though, which is always refreshing, especially when you're under stress. Still, if you're going to Roanoke for the bar exam, you shouldn't be worrying about anything other than the bar. If I had to do it again, I think I'd just pay the extra money and stay in a nicer hotel. But like I said, for the cost, I knew it wasn't going to be the Taj Mahal and I was certainly right on that.

Room Tip: Ask for non-smoking and a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank samstuff29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia H, General Manager at Days Inn Roanoke Civic Center, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your review with the trip advisor community we really appreciate it as we do value each guest's feedback. I am sorry that we were lacking as far as the cleanliness goes, I will have a meeting with the housekeeping staff in regards to your review. I did notice that you were very pleased with the service that you recieved during your stay, thank you for that. If you are to take the Bar Exam next year in Roanoke please consider us, as I would like to hear our progress, and if you do I hope you get a nonsmoking room too! Just remember to book at least 10 months in advance as the nonsmoking rooms sell out first! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

My room was pretty nasty. The carpet had stains the bathroom was dirty and the toliet barely flushed. The ac did work well but it was very noisy. I took a look at the pillows and they were pretty dirty under the pillow cases good thing I brought my own.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank callen4827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia H, General Manager at Days Inn Roanoke Civic Center, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your review with the trip advisor community!
I will have a meeting with the housekeeping and maitenence immediately in regards to your complaint. I did notice that you were very plaesed with the location of this property and the service that you recieved, thank you! We are under new management and have many projects under way. We hope that you will stay with us next time that you are in this area so that we may have the opportunity to serve you better next time. Thanks again, and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
4.7 mi away
Motel 6 Roanoke
Motel 6 Roanoke
#19 of 39 in Roanoke
3.5 of 5 stars 225 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke - Downtown
4.7 mi away
Quality Inn Roanoke Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Colony House Motor Lodge
Colony House Motor Lodge
#21 of 39 in Roanoke
3.5 of 5 stars 101 reviews
3.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Roanoke - Airport
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Roanoke Civic Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Roanoke Civic Center

Property: Days Inn Roanoke Civic Center
Address: 601 Orange Avenue, Roanoke, VA 24016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 39 Hotels in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Roanoke Civic Center 2*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Days Inn Roanoke Civic Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Civic Center / Downtown - Roanoke Hotel Roanoke
Days Inn Roanoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing