We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Roanoke Civic Center
Ranked #32 of 40 Hotels in Roanoke
Charleston, SC
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Poor choice”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed here for three nights and primarily choose this hotel because of its location to the civic center. It was very close but that is about the only good thing I can say about the hotel. They advertised that it was recently renovated but we must not have gotten one of those rooms because the walls were filthy, the bathroom was moldy and grungy, and the carpet had more holes and stains then the parking lot outside. We had a bottom floor room and heard every single step the person above us took. The room faced the street which is very busy all night long and makes it very hard to sleep. I killed two spiders and two roaches over our three night stay. The shower ran out of hot water after 6 minutes so if you like a longer hot shower or have multiple guests, you will be out of luck. The light in the bathroom made so much noise, we eventually just started using the bathroom in the dark so we would not have to hear it anymore. It did have a refrigerator that worked so that is another positive but it is a struggle to come up with any others. The bed was fairly comfortable but due to the noise from the road, it was just too hard to sleep. I realize the rooms are cheap and I usually do not expect a high quality for the budget rooms, but there still has to be a minimally acceptable standard and this hotel did not meet it. I would not recommend this hotel unless there is no other choice and you just do not feel like sleeping in your car...

Room Tip: Choose a room that faces away from the main road due to noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveldentist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    77
    107
    160
    275
See reviews for
228
137
88
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paynesville
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I requested a wake up call for 5am and never received it. The carpet was filthy, and faucet handles were hard to turn and made a loud noise.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Us Il
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Being close to the Civic Center is the only reason we stayed here. The bathroom was dirty. But the biggest problem was the room smelled like smoke. It was supposed to be a "nonsmoking" room. We couldn't change rooms because they were full. So we were stuck. They did send maintenance up with air freshener and it helped a little.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville
1 review
Reviewed October 6, 2013

No hot water on Sat am! No alarm clock . Blow dryer mounted to high up on wall and so the cord did not reach the plug in., Bathroom fan did not work and bathroom needed a face lift. Furniture worn looking. Only good thing was beds very comfortable.Breakfast OK but I have better continental breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
4.7 mi away
Motel 6 Roanoke
Motel 6 Roanoke
#25 of 40 in Roanoke
256 reviews
4.7 mi away
Quality Inn Roanoke Airport
4.9 mi away
Sleep Inn Tanglewood
Sleep Inn Tanglewood
#21 of 40 in Roanoke
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke - Downtown
3.7 mi away
Colony House Motor Lodge
Colony House Motor Lodge
#22 of 40 in Roanoke
123 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#4 of 40 in Roanoke
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Roanoke Civic Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Roanoke Civic Center

Property: Days Inn Roanoke Civic Center
Address: 601 Orange Avenue, Roanoke, VA 24016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 40 Hotels in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Roanoke Civic Center 2*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Roanoke Civic Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Civic Center / Downtown - Roanoke Hotel Roanoke
Days Inn Roanoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing