We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Clean, but not comfortable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81
Ranked #13 of 39 Hotels in Roanoke
Hilton Head, SC, United States
1 review
“Clean, but not comfortable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We stay at a lot of Hamton Inn locations, and are familiar with thier standards. This hotel and the common areas was clean ... but air conditioning unit was load and not very effective. Mattress was not consistent with the high standards of Hampton Inn. Net net ... we will not stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Stephen J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    146
    97
    51
    29
See reviews for
199
146
28
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

hampton inn has been my favorite hotel for the value and the large array of hot breakfast items it has. it is truly family friendly and a great start of a day when you hit the large theme parks that charge an arm and a leg for food.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank johnnyslick1533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrisman, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Nice hotel, above average, nice breakfast included, nice pool, close to shopping food and entertainment. Clean room, easy check-in / check-out. pleanty of parking. Good value, would recamend to our friends. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

this was my stop over going and returning from florida from NJ...nice Hampton right off of the highway(but not too close). My biggest issue isn't with the hotel its just we couldn't find anyone one who delivers food there on a sunday..finally we found a place called Goodfellas after a while of searching and got sandwiches they were ok...

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rj321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Stopped at this Hampton Inn on a last minute road trip with no reservation. Was given a top floor room away from the elevator and ice machine as requested by friendly desk staff. Everything at this Hampton Inn was very much up to par. The room was comfortable, quiet ... nice pool and fitness areas. Breakfast was better than most with attentive staff working hard to keep up with demand. All the areas of the hotel were clean as was our room. Would not hesitate to stay here again when in this area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank unixwiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boonsboro
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I usually stay at Hampton Inns. Almost 75% of the time. This hotel was VERY easy to find. It is right off I-81. This hotel was just average. We did have a HUGE room (suite), but the water at the second sink did not work. One of the 2 A/C units did not work. The bathroom floor had some sort of odd finish on it. Not sticky or dirty, but almost as if they forgot to take off the polish. The beds were very comfortable. Very good nights sleep.

Check-in was odd. I was not greeted by name as most Hamptons do. It seemed as if the staff was called in to work. They were not dressed appropriately and one did not have a name badge on. They were not mean or rude... just ..... forgettable.

Breakfast was OK. Again, not the best..but it was free....

I am not sure I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joeboonsboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeastern, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Good facility with friendly front desk staff. Nice rooms and adequate breakfast. The service personnel in the food area took out all the trash liners at one time leaving no trash receptacles for the diners to use. Service personnel in food area need more training.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
3.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Roanoke North
9.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
5.8 mi away
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81

Property: Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81
Address: 7922 Plantation Rd, Roanoke, VA 24019-1612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / i-81 Hotel Roanoke
Roanoke Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing