We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Quick stop on road trip” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81
Ranked #13 of 39 Hotels in Roanoke
boonsboro
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Quick stop on road trip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I usually stay at Hampton Inns. Almost 75% of the time. This hotel was VERY easy to find. It is right off I-81. This hotel was just average. We did have a HUGE room (suite), but the water at the second sink did not work. One of the 2 A/C units did not work. The bathroom floor had some sort of odd finish on it. Not sticky or dirty, but almost as if they forgot to take off the polish. The beds were very comfortable. Very good nights sleep.

Check-in was odd. I was not greeted by name as most Hamptons do. It seemed as if the staff was called in to work. They were not dressed appropriately and one did not have a name badge on. They were not mean or rude... just ..... forgettable.

Breakfast was OK. Again, not the best..but it was free....

I am not sure I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joeboonsboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    146
    98
    51
    29
See reviews for
200
146
28
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Southeastern, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Good facility with friendly front desk staff. Nice rooms and adequate breakfast. The service personnel in the food area took out all the trash liners at one time leaving no trash receptacles for the diners to use. Service personnel in food area need more training.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

This was our first experience with a Hampton Inn and I must say it was one of the best. From arrival to departure everyone was pleasant and very helpful. The rooms were exceptionally clean and most importantly the AC was working!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Douglas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortlandt Manor
Level Contributor
371 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This is a mixed review.

Stayed two nights and two rooms with family. Hilton Hampton Inns and Hilton Garden Inns are usually my preferred properties for both leisure and business.

Pluses:
+ Usual comfy Hilton beds
+ Clean room with modern shower
+ Convenient location right off I81
+ Fridge in room

Gripes…Hotel Manager Tony Thornhill has some serious management and training issues:
- Wake-up call occurred 20 mins late. No apology offered.
- Rate dispute upon check out was treated as my problem. No apology offered.
- Single toaster in breakfast area is so slow to toast that the Berlin Wall fell in less time. If this were in your home, you’d throw it out. No apology offered since no one seems to care.
- Breakfast server whined about how she’s just one person. Maybe she needs help on weekends. Guests don’t want to hear this.
- A/C had to be set to 61 degrees to cool the room. Control on Wall doesn’t work, but control on A/C was working kind of. Why have an inoperative wall thermostat that confuses guests?
- No receipt under the door for either room upon day of departure. When asked why, no apology or explanation was offered.
- Finally, no recognition of Diamond HHonors status.

I never gripe about just one issue. But there were so many issues, be forewarned about management problems with this hotel.

I will not return. I’m told that a Hilton Garden Inn is under development on other side of Roanoke. Hope it is not the same management company.

Room Tip: Choose room in rear away from front that faces main roadway if you are sensitive to road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AisleSeat01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed at the Hampton Inn at the Hollins Exit of Rt 81 and very much enjoyed our stay. The rate was very affordable, the rooms were quite nice and the complimentary breakfast was great. Parking is very close and the hotel and staff exceeded all of our expectations. I would highly recommend staying at the location.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank jsbailey1026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Not exceptional. But not bad either. Had a good night's sleep. That is all that really matters, right? Breakfast was decent, but not as good as other Hilton members. All in all, it was worth the stop if you are in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Nicholas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
231 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

It's a typical good Hampton, easy access, good location and super clean. Son loved the fresh baked cookies which were a nice touch. Breakfast was the typical Hampton Hotel breakfast and in general everything up to par. Staff was a bit unfriendly but they had some rude guests right before me. Shower was really nice and wifi worked great.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ncjcbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
3.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Roanoke North
9.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
5.8 mi away
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81

Property: Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81
Address: 7922 Plantation Rd, Roanoke, VA 24019-1612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / i-81 Hotel Roanoke
Roanoke Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing