We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor Customer Service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81
Ranked #12 of 40 Hotels in Roanoke
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor Customer Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

When I arrived to check in, there was one person working the check in desk (Jim). Jim had to get towels and other items for a family which made us have to wait a few minutes but its understandable since they were there first. After he came back to the desk to help us, he asked how he could help but then stopped so he could take a phone call. Jim then made us wait while he told the person what the availability was, the different rates, then took their reservation while we were waiting in front of him. In the middle of the process, a second worker came to the desk but he took the person behind us since he assumed Jim was helping us. After the second guy checked in this guest behind us, he asked if we needed help. He checked us in less than a minute. It was a quick and easy process from that point. What could they have done differently?, when they answered the phone, tell the person to hold please while you help the customer who was their first and you already have their reservation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Atlantaguy0778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    165
    106
    55
    30
See reviews for
220
169
28
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed at this property several time as we travel I-81, and found it to be a convenient and a good value. Breakfast was good (liked the biscuits); rooms were okay. Had an issue a few years back with a group of kids on a mission trip, should have changed rooms, but complained and the manager handled...

Room Tip: High rooms are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frankied92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
280 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

This a on par Hampton Inn, Clean, comfortable, convenient, and friendly staff. We like Hampton's because they are consistent and dependable. This one is all of the above. However, most of the good restaurants are about 3 or 4 miles away.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chadz52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

I don't know if our GPS led us astray, but we traveled through a residential community in order to find the hotel. I was thinking...seriously....there is a Hampton Inn near here? But we found it, and it was nearby. We were satisfied with our stay. The best part was the authentic Mexican restaurant (El Rodeo) next door that we could walk to. What a special treat. Romantic. Good food for a good price. I am always very pleased with Hampton Inn Hotels, but this time I noticed a very odd smell in the bathroom (smelled like cat). Was not very pleasant. Other than this, we were satisfied. Small indoor pool. Good complimentary breakfast, but missed not having a meat item offered.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We were looking for a convenient and clean place to stay on our drive home from Florida. It was just what we needed. The check in was quick and the staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and quiet. There was plenty of variety to the breakfast items

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, VA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

This hotel has very helpful staff and is quite clean. The breakfast is absolutely wonderful and everyone in the hotel does their best to make sure your stay is a pleasant one. The location was great for local shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wemyss98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013


This hotel is the worst Hampton Inn we've ever stayed in! The linens are old and of poor quality , the room maintenance is not uo to par. The lobby extremely unattractive and uninviting. Dingy, unkept, noticed odor as soon as we went through the front door - in the room ,too. There are other choices in the area and other Hamptons within a reasonable drive that are a better choice than this hotel. We always stay in hamptons when traveling but this one was terrible. Not a good experience!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hhfamacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
3.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Roanoke North
9.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
7.0 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#4 of 40 in Roanoke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81

Property: Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81
Address: 7922 Plantation Rd., Roanoke, VA 24019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / i-81 Hotel Roanoke
Roanoke Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing