We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81 to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7922 Plantation Rd., Roanoke, VA 24019   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
STOP CLICKING AROUND
Ranked #16 of 39 Hotels in Roanoke
Mattapoisett, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
244 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Excellent visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We arrived late due to winter storm. Check inn was about 2 minutes time . A great item was as I was going to ask about a place to eat, I noticed a typed hand out of staff's best and favorite place to eat. USing the list we went to a great place to eat. There were even driving directions included. The hotel is clean and comfortable. The fitness center is a good place to work out. The breakfast is perfect for us. The inn is off the highway and easy access. A great deal and place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colby R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    142
    93
    51
    28
See reviews for
189
140
27
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Maiden, NC
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

The place does have the typical Hampton rooms - Bed, Chair, Office Desk and Flat Screen TV.

There is an Indoor pool so available all year round, fitness center and an actual Business center instead of a typical cubby in the corner with a computer.

The one big complaint I had with the hotel was the mattress on the bed was hard a rock, not the slightest bit comfortable yet they boost on their sign feel the difference of a Cloud 9.

The majority of Hampton's (companies preferred hotel) I stay at beds range from soft to pillow soft but this was far from it.

Room Tip: If you don't mind a hard bed this place is very conveniently located to the highway if this is w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DACouture1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stayed here on a business trip to Blacksburg, VA. Because of a Thursday night football game at VATECH, the nightly rate was astronomical - which did not leave a good a very taste in my mouth. I know this is standard practice but in reality the rate did not match the accommodations. Hotel was clean, service as expected. No news is good news for these types of hotels.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelkey888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Could not find any place to stay for college visit to Va Tech until we found this hotel? Was a little worried because read a review about hard beds and not nice linens, but rest assured that is no longer true. Recently renovated, with new beds and wonderful duvet comforter and fluffy pillows the room was wonderful. The breakfast was nice and a great day to start a day of exploring Va Tech.

Room Tip: We stayed in suite with 2 queen beds and pull out coach. Very roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimbe22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

An excellent Hampton Inn. Clean, reasonable price and with a helpful staff. The written restaurant recommendations were very helpful, with Hollywood's Restaurant and Bakery, which is on the list, an excellent choice for dinner. Breakfast was ample and the attendant kept it refreshed. The motel is convenient to the Interstate, but far enough away that noise is not an issue. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shadyfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA
Level Contributor
97 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This Hampton offers easy access to Route 81 and was clean and up to regular Hampton Inn standards. However, I was not greeted at check-in and felt such little warmth and caring from the hotel staff. For a quick stop-off, this is fine, but if I were staying more than an overnight, I'd find a place with a little more charm and a LOT more personality.

I also feel like Hampton Inns in general have very hard beds. Their linens are decent, but aging -- those down comforters have gotten really lumpy and just don't look that great. But I do appreciate the fresh linens -- this is a much better option than a "bedspread" that has been used over and over again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmishLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
333 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Had a queen suite. Room was clean, shower was clean, beds were clean and room was very functional and great.

I would say a good hotel for the price. Better then the airport property with outside rooms.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank SalMTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Roanoke North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
9.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
5.8 mi away
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81

Property: Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81
Address: 7922 Plantation Rd., Roanoke, VA 24019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / i-81 Hotel Roanoke
Roanoke Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing