We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Hampton, but where was customer service?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81
Ranked #14 of 39 Hotels in Roanoke
Lancaster, PA
Level Contributor
97 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Decent Hampton, but where was customer service?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This Hampton offers easy access to Route 81 and was clean and up to regular Hampton Inn standards. However, I was not greeted at check-in and felt such little warmth and caring from the hotel staff. For a quick stop-off, this is fine, but if I were staying more than an overnight, I'd find a place with a little more charm and a LOT more personality.

I also feel like Hampton Inns in general have very hard beds. Their linens are decent, but aging -- those down comforters have gotten really lumpy and just don't look that great. But I do appreciate the fresh linens -- this is a much better option than a "bedspread" that has been used over and over again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmishLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    143
    94
    51
    28
See reviews for
193
141
27
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
333 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Had a queen suite. Room was clean, shower was clean, beds were clean and room was very functional and great.

I would say a good hotel for the price. Better then the airport property with outside rooms.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank SalMTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schertz, Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

My wife & I where on vacation and unfortunately had made reservations for 3 nights at this Hampton Inn.Was not up to the usual Hampton Standards.Carpet was very dirty and used a top sheet instead of fitted sheet on mattress,housekeeping was very poor,the Inn was just dirty,needs to be upgraded.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabash, North Carolina
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I needed to stop on my way to High Point NC. It was late so I did a GPS search. Right off the highway easy access. Very clean and nice staff. I was disappointed that they didn't have a snack to go when I left before the breakfast time? Room was as expected comfortable and fresh.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NCNEWLIFE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury,New Hampshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This hotel is extremely easy to get to off I-81. The check-in process was smooth and quick. Rooms were very nice, and the price was reasonable. We had a room with two queen size beds, which were clean and extremely comfortable. I appreciated the amenities they provided in the bathroom, which were more plentiful than most hotels. Staff was friendly and helpful, and the breakfast buffet the next morning was also satisfying, with a nice selection of foods.
The very next night we stayed in another Hampton Inn in another state, and the room and beds were much smaller, it had fewer amenities, and overall was not nearly as nice as this one and it was more expensive! So I would definitely recommend this hotel and will certainly return here next time we are in town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NHMHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
216 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

This hampton inn is a bit outdated compared to most current Hampton Inns. However, as one of the other reviews mentions, this is NOT a "doors on the outside" type of motor inn. That hampton inn is a little closer to downtown roanoke and looks a lot worse.

The staff here was also not particularly welcoming. So, ok for a night, but not the best hampton inn I've stayed at.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJ870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
216 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Chose this place because it is near I-81 and we were on a cross-country trip. We would not stay here again. Maintenance issues cry out for attention ... hole in wallboard next to electrical outlet ... cracks in shower area ... generally felt like it was old and tired. Got in very late so cannot comment on availability of restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TxTrvlr88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Roanoke North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
9.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
5.8 mi away
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81

Property: Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81
Address: 7922 Plantation Rd, Roanoke, VA 24019-1612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / i-81 Hotel Roanoke
Roanoke Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing