We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Spot for Last Minute”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81
Ranked #13 of 40 Hotels in Roanoke
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Nice hotel. Even though it is close to I-81, there is not a lot of truck noise. Staff was friendly. Food very good at the breakfast bar.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boltwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (571)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

522 - 528 of 571 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2012

Staying here for one night as it is the halfway point for a summer trip to the Smoky Mountains.

For starters, this location is right at the corner of I-81, so it's a good option for a quick late stop if you need some sleep on a road trip and don't want to leave the highway.

My problems with this place are with maintenance and cleanliness.

First off, the room had an old wet dog smell. Very musty. Sort of like carpets have not been cleaned in a long time. Also noticed a lot of cobwebs in the corner as well as candy wrappers behind a chair left by previous occupant. Room was a little beat up too.. Scratches all over the wall by the TV is a bit of an eyesore.

Secondly, the pool area. Half the lights don't work in the pool area, and on top of that all the under water pool lights are burned out. You can't see the bottom of a 3' to 5' hotel? Terrible maintenance practices and very unsafe I might add. SEVERAL people we were in the pool are with on our visit mentioned this. There were also no towels available in the pool area. We all had to go to the front desk and ask for pool towels?

Staff overall was pleasant. Cookies put out in the evening were good and fresh coffee was available even at 8 PM.

Probably won't stay here again. I prefer a good clean and fresh smelling room and this place did not offer that.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ravenboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

I was dissapointed with this Hampton Inn because the room were not at the standard I've come to expect from this franchise. I was first given Rm 114 which smelled musty/mouldy. Since I rejected this room I was told that the hotel was booked up there was only one other room available. This room has been sprayed with some overpowering perfume to mask the musty/mouldy smell. Since it was approaching midnight I put up with this sub-par room but I will never stay here again.

On the bright side, folks at the front desk were quite nice.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timbit_NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

good clean lodging and convenient to I-81. Rooms are quiet and spacious. Front desk staff could have been dressed a bit more professionally but we were checked in without a problem. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Not only was the property (Hotel) clean - the area around it was beautiful. The room was excellent and breakfast was tasty. The staff was helpful with recommending a place to eat - which was an added treat. I will always stay there while in the area

Room Tip: Second floor was quiet
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Spent one Saturday night, after a long drive. The hotel was right off I-81, very convenient with gas stations next door and restaurants nearby. Our room was clean and quiet and the front desk was very helpful. The next morning we ate the continental breakfest and then left on our way.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank decatur2712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Stayed one night - lobby smelled funky, room funkier. Carpet was filthy, we were so glad to leave the next morning

Room Tip: Go on down the road and find another place
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Lindsay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
6.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Roanoke North
6.9 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#6 of 40 in Roanoke
748 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81

Address: 7922 Plantation Rd, Roanoke, VA 24019-1612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range: $111 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / i-81 Hotel Roanoke
Roanoke Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing