We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs an update” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81
Ranked #16 of 39 Hotels in Roanoke
Southington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Needs an update”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Stayed here one night while on our way to the Gulf Coast. Arrived past the 6PM cancelation deadline or I would have moved. This hotel needs an update. Don't expect the typical Hampton experience. There are better choices in the area.

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BobHebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    142
    94
    51
    28
See reviews for
192
141
27
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
new england
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

We stayed here on 11/11 after visiting Virginia Tech. It was excellent. The service was polite but not overly friendly. We had two queen beds that were perfectly adequate. I like the large bathrooms and granite counters on the newer Hampton Inns and this one must have been newer. The place was spotless. The breakfast was excellent- omelets, Canadian bacon, waffles, muffins and bread, cereal, etc. We swam in the pool and worked out with free weights and good treadmills. Use goggles in the warm pool, my son had a terrible reaction to the chlorine. If you are visiting colleges, this hotel is a good choice.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbugNewEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

The rooms are amazing! breakfast in the morning was awesome! and customer service was great! front desk assistants were very friendly and gladly answered any questions that i needed. Thank you!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank george f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

after reading reviews, was hesitant to book. but when it's vtech football season, hotels are sold out in this area - even 26 miles away. it was a surprise how friendly front desk was. extremely helpful woman who was busily initializing room keycards for full house that night. we arrived around 2pm and asked if we could check-in early. room wasn't ready yet, but she gave us our room keycards and offered to drop-off any luggage if needed. given how early people start trying to check-in on football weekend - 7:30am. we're talking devotion. came back very late after bumper to bumper drive. room was welcome sight after night of rain. large, clean with all appointments as expected from Hampton Inn and more. Free breakfast was prepared nicely and diligently refreshed with fresh food. breakfast room was filled with travelers from all sides of the gridiron. morning discussions were reserved to family reunions and travel stories (thank goodness). Being right off of I-81, there are many choices for hotels at this exit. But found this Hampton Inn up to par and then some. was pleasantly surprised given some reviews. but as another reviewer said, right place when needed. friendly front desk and staff. no mean man here.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beaglegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
200 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

We stopped in Lexington Va hoping for a place to stay on a recent trip south. They were full but made a call further south to Hollins Hampton Inn which could accommodate us - even there was a Virginia Tech football game the next day. Check in was smooth and pleasant. When we asked about a place to dine they directed us to a very nice Mexican restaurant that we could walk to and we had an enjoyable dinner. Breakfast was very good - waffles like I like them and coffee was good. Cheese omelet was the usual. Location is convenient and rooms were fine.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GAretiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groveland, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

On a recent trip south, we travel and then stop and stay overnight at a hotel when we get tired. Since we don't like surprises, we always look for a Hampton Inn. Its not the cheapest in town, but so far, everyone we have stayed in has lived up to the quality and service we expected. Clean rooms, comfortable beds, free wifi, free breakfast, quiet room, pleasant staff. Just what we need after a long day of traveling.
Free coffee and cookies when we want them is always a plus
I will ding them on the powdered eggs in the breakfast, but I am more of a sausage and waffle man myself.
If you are expecting a five star hotel - this is not what a Hampton Inn is all about. It gets all the basics right for us when we are traveling.
Its usually just me and my wife, and sometimes friends. We don't stay for more than a night or two at most, but it certainly fits the bill for us.
As I said above, this hotel does live up to the Hampton Inn standard, and being right off 81 on our travel was obviously convenient.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovettsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

Ou bad experience with this hotel started at check-in. We had a reservation for the whole family (5 of us) for 2 queen beds and according to the reservationist a roll-away or a pull-out sleeper. When we got there, the clerk said they had no more roll-aways because they were sold out. He handed be the keys and said "enjoy your stay." No information on the hotel, no recognition of my Hilton Diamond status, no help for another bed, just enjoy your stay. then there was no Diamond snack in the room and not enough towels for the 5 of us. My daughter slept on the floor. The next morning, the breakfast area needed serious help as the food kept running out, even though the breakfast area was not busy or full. The staff was not very friendly at breakfast or even in the halls. One employee blocked the hallway with her cart and stood in the way so my wife could not get by and proceeded to tell her that she was upset because she had to deal with a problem room. Then she let my wife by, very strange. They did not ask how our stay was when we checked out, probably because they don't want to hear any more bad news. Overall, a poor stay and we will not be back.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AeroHokie92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Roanoke North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
9.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
5.8 mi away
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81

Property: Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81
Address: 7922 Plantation Rd., Roanoke, VA 24019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Cancelon and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / i-81 Hotel Roanoke
Roanoke Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing