We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Tanglewood

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Quality Inn Tanglewood
Ranked #28 of 39 Hotels in Roanoke
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
“disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The price was right, person at desk was nice, and the location worked well for my purposes; however, the room was a big disappointment. Fortunately, I was not spending a lot of time in the room, but did expect cleanliness and comfort...received neither. A dirty washcloth was left lying on the back of the commode; supplies had not been replenished (such as paper cups...there was one!); floor was not clean, especially bathroom floor. Actually, the bathroom was so tiny that there wasn't much of a floor at all, so certainly it would not have taken more than a minute to clean it! I wonder if the room had really been cleaned at all. I did sleep, but woke up with a back ache. It's not likely that I will give this motel a second try, which is a shame because I often travel to the area and like this location.

Room Tip: You might want to ask to see the room before actually taking in your luggage. If there are issues, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lynnadance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    11
    18
    22
    30
See reviews for
19
33
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, West Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was a little old but once you got inside to check in and to your room you can tell that this hotel needs a lot of TLC. Front desk was excellent Brian and Roy were very helpful. Will come back in the near future!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AJMBJM2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewistown Pa.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed here one night and are glad we didn't have to stay longer!!! The staff at the front desk was very friendly and gave us the room we asked for at what we thought was an ok price using a coupon from a travel book. We were wrong!!! The room itself had been cleaned but not very well, it was very dingy and worn out with molding missing from different places, the mini fridge and the A/C unit rattled like a couple of freight trains, the toilet wouldn't flush every time and the door wouldn't shut proper even though it was locked. Forget about a quiet nights sleep, even if it wasn't for all the noise in the room, this hotel is just too close to a busy road. We will pass on this place next time!!

Room Tip: Choose somewhere that's not along this busy highway and noisy side road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clangonly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kibbutz Naan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The room was very comfortable and clean and the prices are always good but was so outstanding was the service of the hotel receptionist. He was so friendly and gave us some fantastic tips on how and where to continue our trip. Highly recommend this site..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MonaKibbutzNaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

No Quality at Tanglewood…..Just a Tangled Dirty MESS!

Arrived late Friday night 8/2/13 on business with early start necessary for the next day and given room 102. It was old and dated, and worse yet dirty. Should have trusted my instincts and checked out and gone to ANY other hotel. Markings on AC were worn off and unreadable….impossible to set to comfortable temperature.

Went to secure the door, dead bolt was loose and security latch hanging by one screw (damaged during a break in the previous night?). Sink did not have stopper (just a dirty drain), tub and shower were also dirty. Outlets were missing covers with hazard of shock. Electrical metal raceway below headboard was loose, rusted and dirty.

Carpet worn and dirty especially around baseboard. Worst of all…. air conditioning unit produced a loud ‘clunk’ every time the thermostat cycle and called for cooling. Continued AC cycling thunking made sleep impossible.

Quality Inn Tanglewood offered a $21.53 refund. Unacceptable. Contacted Choice directly via their Customer Service phone number, and supervisor John politely acknowledged my concerns, and offered additional support. Very satisfactory.

I will NEVER stay at the Quality Inn Tanglewood in Roanoke VA again…..and although Choice to its credit was courteous and supportive, I would suggest that they distance themselves from the Quality Inn in Tanglewood as it definitely does not meet the high standards of their other hotels at which I have stayed in the past.

If you have a choice, and want Quality Do NOT stay at the UN-Quality Inn Tanglewood 3816 Franklin Rd Roanoke VA…..avoid it…

you would be better off sleeping in your vehicle, at least your vehicle doors lock!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ConstantTraveler032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The room My husband and I stayed in was disgusting. Mirrors had toothpaste visibly splatered on them,shower was gross, microwave was filthy, fridge had what looked like crumbs in it. Horrible!! place. The lady that came to "clean" our room the second day didn't even Vacuum, She did not clean any thing. She came in took trash out left us one small bottle of shampoo and conditioner and she was out the door. When we tried to have breakfast there about 9 a.m they were out of most things, there were two people at front desk and they did not bring any more food out. They are supposed to have breakfast til 10.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 00LizB2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Our room was large with a fridge, microwave, 2 sinks, a walk in shower, and a separate tub and shower. We stayed two nights and had no problems. It was clean, great location too. We're from the area and were back in town on a visit. We would definitely choose this property again.

Room Tip: Room 113 on the end. Quiet with 2 showers!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
0.8 mi away
Sleep Inn Tanglewood
Sleep Inn Tanglewood
#24 of 39 in Roanoke
3.5 of 5 stars 105 reviews
0.3 mi away
Colony House Motor Lodge
Colony House Motor Lodge
#21 of 39 in Roanoke
3.5 of 5 stars 101 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Corporate Suites of Overland
6.8 mi away
Quality Inn Roanoke Airport
5.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - Roanoke - Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Tanglewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Tanglewood

Property: Quality Inn Tanglewood
Address: 3816 Franklin Rd. SW, Roanoke, VA 24014
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 39 Hotels in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn Tanglewood 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Quality Inn Tanglewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Tanglewood Hotel Roanoke
Quality Inn Roanoke
Roanoke Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing