We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good property for the price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Tanglewood

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Quality Inn Tanglewood
Ranked #28 of 39 Hotels in Roanoke
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A good property for the price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Our room was large with a fridge, microwave, 2 sinks, a walk in shower, and a separate tub and shower. We stayed two nights and had no problems. It was clean, great location too. We're from the area and were back in town on a visit. We would definitely choose this property again.

Room Tip: Room 113 on the end. Quiet with 2 showers!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    11
    18
    22
    30
See reviews for
19
33
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Syracuse, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is the first review that I have ever written,this was the most disgusting room that my family ever stayed in.The room smelled terrible,the molding on the floor was not connected to the floor,the bathroom floor was filthy,the telephone was disqusting.The televison worked on some channels but there was no sound on some channels.We wore flip flops because the carpet was so dirty.My sister stayed next store to our room,her phone did not work.Her room was as bad as ours.I told the person as we checked out,he hung is head.l

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lori b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I rarely leave reviews but didn't want anyone to run into what we did. When you walk in the room it smelled musty. I am adding a picture below. The bathroom floors were so filthy. The grout was literally black and the tile which was textured had black dirt caked up in all the crevices. It was nasty. We went to breakfast at 8:30 thinking to take it easy before we left. Breakfast goes til 10...so they say. But not if you want to eat! They were out of ALL hot food, fruit cups, yogurt, milk was out, butter, and peanut butter. And 4 more people came in to eat as we were leaving! They don't come in and monitor anything. One woman went and asked for some milk which they did fill. We stayed at a comfort Inn the night before and it wasn't much better. BEWARE! I would not recommend this Quality Inn in Tanglewood. We have always used Clarion hotels but after this trip we will be avoiding them.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 706JosephC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

The reason we stayed here is because they allow pets. The room smelled like dirty dog really bad, which especially sucked since we just got ours groomed yesterday. The carpet was nasty as if it had never been vacuumed, we never took our shoes off for fear of getting foot fungus. There were pubic hairs all over the sink and the bathtub was dingy looking. My husband awoke feeling poorly like his lungs were on fire (he's a non smoker too) and has felt sickly the rest of today, pretty sure it had something to do with the air quality. Would have asked to change rooms but were too tired to deal with that after driving all day. The room had no smoke detector or fire suppression system, which I believe is an OSHA law and the fire Marshall should inspect them for violations. Never staying anywhere again without consulting tripadvisor! The staff was nice but that's about it.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grlinthevalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This was booked for a wedding party, a 3-night stay. A college football game had other motels booked solid, but we would have moved if we could have.

This was an older building, with all the earmarks of attempted do-it-yourself rennovations, messy caulking, peeling vinyl wallpaper, poorly fitting vanity tops, etc, but the unforgivable offense was the NASTINESS. It was just plain dirty. Rug was stinky and stained, tub was grimy, hairs in the lavatory.

Room felt "damp" in its overall atmosphere. An electric outlet had been installed (DIY job), and was quite loose, so when you plugged something in, or unplugged it, the outlet pulled out of the wall about an inch -- quite unsafe. The metal wire molding running along the wall was actually rusted all along, which indicates that some water had been leaking into the wiring (never a good thing!). Bathroom door and hinges were rusty, too.

The bathroom had BLACK MOLD (see attached photo). I realize it's a humid place, and being wedged up against a mountain, this location is doubly damp, but a little bleach and a sponge would take care of that! It simply had not been cleaned.

Bed was okay, sheets seemed clean, pillows were numerous but lumpy. Lighting very poor. Not enough electrical outlets. But these are all pretty typical econo-motel features, I suppose.

Housekeeping did not come to make up our rooms until 5 o'clock in the afternoon, at which time we were all busily dressing for the wedding we had come to attend. We told her we needed 30 minutes, please, but she never did come back. So that night we slept in unmade beds, had to go to the office for towels, etc.

Because a block of rooms had been blocked for visiting wedding guests, we received a discounted rate of $70-odd dollars per room, but it was definitely not worth that amount!

Overall, it was a bad experience, and we would certainly never stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wearinganapron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Bragg, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Our team tends to stay at higher end hotels but we were very happy with James and his team as they did their very best to accomodate us. We booked 28 rooms and had no issues. The price was good, our families that wanted to were able to bring their pets and James even had them start breakfast 30 minutes early so that we could make our game time.

The restaurant next door had great prices and great food.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank HockeyMom1114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This was our first Quality Inn, I think, not a usual stopping place for us, and it will be the last, based on this property. Not remembering many specifics, as I didn't make notes along our trip, my bad, all we can both say is it was a dump. It looked & felt dirty from the outside and inside as well, the carpet was torn up in one corner, the $84/night rate was outrageous for this place, the staff incoming & outgoing were cold & indifferent. Never again. We probably chose it because other area motels were even more pricey but we know better and will spring for an extra $20 somewhere else in future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
0.8 mi away
Sleep Inn Tanglewood
Sleep Inn Tanglewood
#24 of 39 in Roanoke
3.5 of 5 stars 105 reviews
0.3 mi away
Colony House Motor Lodge
Colony House Motor Lodge
#21 of 39 in Roanoke
3.5 of 5 stars 101 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Corporate Suites of Overland
6.8 mi away
Quality Inn Roanoke Airport
5.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - Roanoke - Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Tanglewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Tanglewood

Property: Quality Inn Tanglewood
Address: 3816 Franklin Rd. SW, Roanoke, VA 24014
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 39 Hotels in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn Tanglewood 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Quality Inn Tanglewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Tanglewood Hotel Roanoke
Quality Inn Roanoke
Roanoke Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing