We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good property for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn Tanglewood
Ranked #28 of 40 Hotels in Roanoke
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Our room was large with a fridge, microwave, 2 sinks, a walk in shower, and a separate tub and shower. We stayed two nights and had no problems. It was clean, great location too. We're from the area and were back in town on a visit. We would definitely choose this property again.

Room Tip: Room 113 on the end. Quiet with 2 showers!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 95 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is the first review that I have ever written,this was the most disgusting room that my family ever stayed in.The room smelled terrible,the molding on the floor was not connected to the floor,the bathroom floor was filthy,the telephone was disqusting.The televison worked on some channels but there was no sound on some channels.We wore flip flops because the carpet was so dirty.My sister stayed next store to our room,her phone did not work.Her room was as bad as ours.I told the person as we checked out,he hung is head.l

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lori b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I rarely leave reviews but didn't want anyone to run into what we did. When you walk in the room it smelled musty. I am adding a picture below. The bathroom floors were so filthy. The grout was literally black and the tile which was textured had black dirt caked up in all the crevices. It was nasty. We went to breakfast at 8:30 thinking to take it easy before we left. Breakfast goes til 10...so they say. But not if you want to eat! They were out of ALL hot food, fruit cups, yogurt, milk was out, butter, and peanut butter. And 4 more people came in to eat as we were leaving! They don't come in and monitor anything. One woman went and asked for some milk which they did fill. We stayed at a comfort Inn the night before and it wasn't much better. BEWARE! I would not recommend this Quality Inn in Tanglewood. We have always used Clarion hotels but after this trip we will be avoiding them.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 706JosephC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

The reason we stayed here is because they allow pets. The room smelled like dirty dog really bad, which especially sucked since we just got ours groomed yesterday. The carpet was nasty as if it had never been vacuumed, we never took our shoes off for fear of getting foot fungus. There were pubic hairs all over the sink and the bathtub was dingy looking. My husband awoke feeling poorly like his lungs were on fire (he's a non smoker too) and has felt sickly the rest of today, pretty sure it had something to do with the air quality. Would have asked to change rooms but were too tired to deal with that after driving all day. The room had no smoke detector or fire suppression system, which I believe is an OSHA law and the fire Marshall should inspect them for violations. Never staying anywhere again without consulting tripadvisor! The staff was nice but that's about it.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grlinthevalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This was booked for a wedding party, a 3-night stay. A college football game had other motels booked solid, but we would have moved if we could have.

This was an older building, with all the earmarks of attempted do-it-yourself rennovations, messy caulking, peeling vinyl wallpaper, poorly fitting vanity tops, etc, but the unforgivable offense was the NASTINESS. It was just plain dirty. Rug was stinky and stained, tub was grimy, hairs in the lavatory.

Room felt "damp" in its overall atmosphere. An electric outlet had been installed (DIY job), and was quite loose, so when you plugged something in, or unplugged it, the outlet pulled out of the wall about an inch -- quite unsafe. The metal wire molding running along the wall was actually rusted all along, which indicates that some water had been leaking into the wiring (never a good thing!). Bathroom door and hinges were rusty, too.

The bathroom had BLACK MOLD (see attached photo). I realize it's a humid place, and being wedged up against a mountain, this location is doubly damp, but a little bleach and a sponge would take care of that! It simply had not been cleaned.

Bed was okay, sheets seemed clean, pillows were numerous but lumpy. Lighting very poor. Not enough electrical outlets. But these are all pretty typical econo-motel features, I suppose.

Housekeeping did not come to make up our rooms until 5 o'clock in the afternoon, at which time we were all busily dressing for the wedding we had come to attend. We told her we needed 30 minutes, please, but she never did come back. So that night we slept in unmade beds, had to go to the office for towels, etc.

Because a block of rooms had been blocked for visiting wedding guests, we received a discounted rate of $70-odd dollars per room, but it was definitely not worth that amount!

Overall, it was a bad experience, and we would certainly never stay there again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wearinganapron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Our team tends to stay at higher end hotels but we were very happy with James and his team as they did their very best to accomodate us. We booked 28 rooms and had no issues. The price was good, our families that wanted to were able to bring their pets and James even had them start breakfast 30 minutes early so that we could make our game time.

The restaurant next door had great prices and great food.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank HockeyMom1114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This was our first Quality Inn, I think, not a usual stopping place for us, and it will be the last, based on this property. Not remembering many specifics, as I didn't make notes along our trip, my bad, all we can both say is it was a dump. It looked & felt dirty from the outside and inside as well, the carpet was torn up in one corner, the $84/night rate was outrageous for this place, the staff incoming & outgoing were cold & indifferent. Never again. We probably chose it because other area motels were even more pricey but we know better and will spring for an extra $20 somewhere else in future.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bonnie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
0.8 mi away
Sleep Inn Tanglewood
Sleep Inn Tanglewood
#21 of 40 in Roanoke
152 reviews
6.8 mi away
Quality Inn Roanoke Airport
5.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - Roanoke - Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood
0.4 mi away
Colony House Motor Lodge
Colony House Motor Lodge
#20 of 40 in Roanoke
135 reviews
8.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Roanoke, VA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Tanglewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Tanglewood

Address: 3816 Franklin Rd SW, Roanoke, VA 24014-3044
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 40 Hotels in Roanoke
Price Range: $57 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Tanglewood 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn Tanglewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Tanglewood Hotel Roanoke
Quality Inn Roanoke
Roanoke Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing