We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Quality Inn Tanglewood
Nearby Hotels
$129
Residence Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
Country Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$112
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Roanoke Airport(Roanoke)(Great Value!)
$84
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$124
$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (106)
Filter reviews
106 results
Traveler rating
12
16
23
24
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
12
16
23
24
31
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 106 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I am one of those reviewers who hesitate to give negative ratings to hotels. I am aware of the fact that some people are too demanding. When you book a hotel room, you generally know what to expect, because you have read the ratings and you know the hotel category. In this case we were disappointed. We expected a clean, comfortable room and got a dusty, smelly, partially dirty room. The sheets were clean, so that was a plus, but the carpet and the bathroom were dirty. They offer nice continental breakfast, but the breakfast table was so sticky we had to clean it first, there was food on the floor and juice dripping from the machine. Granted, that was the work of irresponsible hotel guests, but no one came to clean up the mess. All in all I cannot recommend this particular Quality Inn. If you can, go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabrina68_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

There was mold in the shower, the the tile floors where dirty cause after the floor towel git wet from my shower all the scunge git wiped up, floor spill stains on tile by coffee pot so it had not been moped for awhile, splatter stains on tile wall, bed hard and uncomfortable, 3 small pillows on a king bed, 2 bath towels, one hand towel (that I used to step on after shower) and only one wash cloth. Tea water was not hot and i along with other guests had to keep asking fir breakfast stuff. It was 8:15 and they ran out if stuff. Thought it was a quick place to stay but I should have read the reviews first. Never again - thus is by far nowhere near Choice Hotel Standards!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kitten395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is a nice place to stay. It has everything going for it. The room was very clean and looked like it had been recently redone. The staff was so friendly and helpful. The breakfast area was nice and inviting, and everything was well stocked. They had French toast, bagels, donuts, fresh fruit, sausage, juices, and assorted cereal.
Please note, this is a two story property with no elevator. Be sure to ask for a first floor location if the stairs will be a problem.

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the rear as some face the front and roadway. We were in the back and it was very quiet.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank barbaragwen270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Have stayed at this place on business several times, each time swearing I would find another place in Roanoke. But the $59 AARP rate kept me returning. The place has continued to deteriorate, unfortuately, over the past 2-3 years.

This is an old converted Holiday Inn, with the aluminum window frames and outside doors. So the sounds from outside come right through the outside walls. This QI is quite dated, and lacks the basic upgrades I have come to expect with Choice properties. Bedding is OLD and worn. Pillows are OLD and need to be replaced. A/C units in the several rooms I have used rattle when the compressor engages. Then there are the VERY BRIGHT lights outside, that cannot be shaded out by the old drapery in the rooms. So the room is lit up like morning even though it is really dark outside. Not sure why they do that, except maybe the fact that this is not in the most desirable part of Roanoke.

The killer which drove me away include a VERY SLOW WiFi system which has a terrible range, and the attitude of the desk clerk who basically didn't give a rat's rear end if I stayed there or not, and I am a Diamond Elite member with Choice. The guy probably isn't a bad guy, but he's just turning the crank, waiting for his shift to end.

Finally I have switched to a more expensive ($10), but much better hotel in Salem, VA, about 10 miles away. I would not recommend this Quality Inn, especially if travelling with children.

Room Tip: If this is a last resort, try to get a room on the BACK side. The outside lights are les intrusive, and the noise from the highway will be less (unless the construction crews are partying outside at 11:00PM). A/C units are all noisy from my experience in several different rooms.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bizz-Traveler987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Spent the night here since it was the first motel we saw after a day on the beautiful Blue Ridge Parkway. The lady running the desk that night was very nice but that is where the good experience stopped. I will upload pics of the room showing mold in bathroom, empty kleenex box slot, burned or dirty ironing board cover, cigarette burns on carpet and bedspread, spiderwebs on the wall, peeling wallpaper and an electric cord challel falling off the wall.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gpintar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews