We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Avoid unless moldy, falling apart rooms are okay with you.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Tanglewood

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Quality Inn Tanglewood
Ranked #29 of 39 Hotels in Roanoke
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Avoid unless moldy, falling apart rooms are okay with you.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Spent the night here since it was the first motel we saw after a day on the beautiful Blue Ridge Parkway. The lady running the desk that night was very nice but that is where the good experience stopped. I will upload pics of the room showing mold in bathroom, empty kleenex box slot, burned or dirty ironing board cover, cigarette burns on carpet and bedspread, spiderwebs on the wall, peeling wallpaper and an electric cord challel falling off the wall.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gpintar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    11
    19
    22
    30
See reviews for
20
33
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kayuta Lake
Level Contributor
82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

I am a fan of Room Saver and planned to spend the night on Rte 81 but a helpful hostess at the Visitor Center in Fancy Gap told us that the ride to Roanoke on the Blue Ridge Parkway was beautiful and the Quality Inn would be comfortable. She called to get rates and it was under $60. The room was clean, in mostly good repair (the bathtub was botched) and the bed was incredibly comfortable. Would I stay there again? For Sure.. And The restaurant across the road, Montano's was outstanding.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KathyWalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
Level Contributor
151 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

I was worried after reading some reviews, but its not that bad. we slept great in our nice king bed. our room had a choice of a bathtub shower or stall shower. It was clean enough for a great price. The breakfast was good. Staff friendly and helpful. The room may not have been perfect but it was good enough for our 2night stay. Id stay again. The frig /freezer and microwave clean and I liked that it was in a separate area from our bed. I enjoyed my stay here.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank laurahollenbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doswell, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

I stayed here for a business trip and I didn't really enjoy it. I understand that this is a budget hotel. But that's no excuse for having cold water, a bug in the room and an overall crappy looking carpet. I don't know how I got any sleep here because the look of this room just creeped me out. I should've called my boss and asked for another hotel.

The front desk staff was friendly, and I appreciate that. But I will never stay here again, because it's not worth it to me.

Room Tip: This hotel is on the south end of Roanoke, so it's a little more residential/local-friendly than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeisureTravelLady_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Roanoke hotels

Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

We needed a safe,convenient, inexpensive hotel for one night in order to attend a memorial service the following day. It was only the two of us.

At less than $75.00 for the night ( including all taxes, a generic breakfast, and fast,free internet, this Quality Inn's location and comfort fit the bill.

Sure, it wasn't fancy, but the beds ( two doubles ) were comfortable and the room was clean.

Some caulk was missing around the CLEAN tub/shower, but the towels were fresh, the water was instantly hot, and the other amenities worked ( light switches/t.v./heat lamp-fan/heating/air conditioning worked well.

Check-in was easy. The night attendant was polite and efficient. parking was convenient. the non-smoking room was just that...smoke free, but you could hear the water pipes drain from the room above when the bathroom was used.

So, would I stay there for a family vacation? Probably not. But would I hesitate to stay there for a night or two because I had business to attend to near by? Not al all.

Like I said...Good Value and convenient.

Room Tip: The second floor rooms should have less/no drain pipe noise from a toilet being flushed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bluesteak86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

Front desk staff, friendly and professional. Bedroom, neat and tidy. HOWEVER, the bathroom had mold on every surface except for the sink counter and the floor. Above the door, in the shower, on the tub tiles, on the walls. Very unsanitary. There also was a leak from the unit above that made a large puddle in front of the toilet, during the night. I would not stay there again.

Room Tip: If you're not sure about the quality of the room being offered, take a few minutes to have them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oceangal60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

Save your Money, go elsewhere. They should have paid us to stay!

For 80.00 a night we got: 1. dirty bathroom 2. dirty floors, walls and surfaces. 3. Phone so dirty you could scrape the dirt off, if you were brave enough to touch it 4. Had to wash coffee maker before using, and clean someone else's hair out from under it, 5. No soap 6. No blanket on bed 7. Bed had definitely not been changed from previous guest and when complained, was handed "clean sheets and pillowcases to change it myself 8. baseboard had fallen off the wall and lying in the floor 9. dresser drawer fell off when opened 10. air conditioner did it's own thing, first hot air then ice cold all without changing the settings 11. refrigerator fell out of its cubicle when the door was opened. 12. small square hard foam rubber pillows 13. dirty bedspread (blood spots) 14. tub would not drain after taking a shower 15. shower controls were loose and operated somewhat like the air conditioner. I really don't think they have any housekeeping department.

If it hadn't been getting late and had already left one establishment because of the filth, would have never stayed but desperation kicked in ;(

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VirginiaBobbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roanoke
0.3 mi away
Colony House Motor Lodge
Colony House Motor Lodge
#20 of 39 in Roanoke
3.5 of 5 stars 106 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sleep Inn Tanglewood
Sleep Inn Tanglewood
#23 of 39 in Roanoke
3.5 of 5 stars 116 reviews
1.5 mi away
Corporate Suites of Overland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood
6.8 mi away
Quality Inn Roanoke Airport
4.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Inn at Ridgewood Farm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Tanglewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Tanglewood

Property: Quality Inn Tanglewood
Address: 3816 Franklin Rd SW, Roanoke, VA 24014-3044
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 39 Hotels in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn Tanglewood 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Quality Inn Tanglewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Tanglewood Hotel Roanoke
Quality Inn Roanoke
Roanoke Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing