We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Overniter while travelling.”
Review of Ramada Roanoke

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Roanoke
Ranked #32 of 40 Hotels in Roanoke
Reviewed March 1, 2010

Stayed overnite enroute south, and found it to be clean, comfortable, and a good value for the price. Continental breakfast was more than adequate.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (769)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

738 - 744 of 769 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2009

water views are usually welcome sites but in the case of this motel it brought unwelcome consequences. We were awoken by a phone call some time after midnight telling us to move our car as it may be in a flood area. Then came the knock on the door saying we were being evacuated to higher ground as the water was quickly rising in the flood gate.
Groggily we packed our stuff and followed in a daze (in our nighties) the staff who gave us a room on the third floor. The sound of rushing water (and yawns) followed us into the night.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EastCoastTravelLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2009

I was very concerned after I'd read some of the reviews. Room #112 was clean, comfortable, with a fidge & microwave. Didn't see any evidence of bugs. Shower had great water pressure. Booked thru Hotwire & received a great value for the money. All the employees we encountered were couteous and gracious. I would stay again if I get back to Roanoke.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reynorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2009

I could not believe this hotel was a Ramada!! I have stayed at several Ramada Inn's in my travels throughout the world, usually because they are at least one step up from too thrifty if you know what I mean. My husband and I were travelling by motorcycle along the Blue Ridge Parkway and found several other great, inexpensive hotels along the way to stay at, but this one just didn't cut it.

This one was border line dumpy.....old and outdated, dark and dank bathroom area. The bed was was big enough, but the headboard was falling off the back of it....I am sure our neighbours thought there was some fun stuff happening next door everytime we sat on it.....it banged off the wall! The carpet was not bare feet material.....bring your indoor shoes for this tangy smelling villa. The room was big enough, but the fixtures were all old and wearing down. Chips, dents, broken, frayed, torn.....it's time for a room update folks! I am pretty positive that at one time, perhaps back in 1982 it looked and smelled ok here....and from the fake rose petals we found on the floor by the bed....someone, at some point tried to make this room romantic. Yikes!

The one gentleman on the front desk when we checked in couldn't have been more cheerful and helpful...but the gal the next morning looked and acted like she might have stayed there overnight.....not a morning person perhaps. The free continental breakfast was ok.....nothing special. Cereals, yogurts, donuts, muffins, juices.....great for kids I suppose.

Finding this hotel was really difficult....we saw a sign from the interstate we were on, and it said 3 miles in.....we must have travelled at least 6 or 8 all over the map before finally finding it. This Ramada is not in the best of spots.....not a very nice area of town. You need to travel to the nearest mall for restaurants, and if you are a non-smoker do not venture in to "Awful Arthur's Seafood".....we walked in to eat and felt like we just smoked a pack of cigarettes, so we walked right back out again. It smelled truly "awful in arthurs".

I would not go back to this hotel unless they upgraded their rooms and put in new fixtures..... even then, I would be hard pressed to stay in that area of town again too....it was one step up from a dump to be sure!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PipCheedwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2009

We booked last minute and I did not read any reviews, what a huge mistake! I new I made a mistake when a Police helicopter circled overhead, and the Rivers edge is a storm drain, Dirty Dirty Dirty. The room was filthy, there was a brown stain that was oozing down the wall. When I complained to the staff I was told I had a good room. STAY Away.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1_Picky_Customer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2008

Had to move to another room second night because of bed bug bites. Yes i did my home work as to what the bites look like.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank troubledVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2008

first of all, don't believe the pictures on their website. just imagine all the white surfaces stained with nasty black mold. This is the nastiest hotel i have stayed in EVER! We were even scared to sleep on the bed AND step on the floor in there. I can't believe the city even let's this hotel stay open. Those pictures were taken the first day that hotel was built and doesn't look nothing like that now. If you stay somewhere like that you might as well stay at a Motel 8 and get if for cheaper.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank tty21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
5.6 mi away
Motel 6 Roanoke
Motel 6 Roanoke
#25 of 40 in Roanoke
269 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sleep Inn Tanglewood
Sleep Inn Tanglewood
#21 of 40 in Roanoke
150 reviews
5.6 mi away
Quality Inn Roanoke Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Colony House Motor Lodge
Colony House Motor Lodge
#20 of 40 in Roanoke
135 reviews
4.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Roanoke - Airport
3.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn at Valley View
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Roanoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Roanoke

Address: 1927 Franklin Rd SW, Roanoke, VA 24014-1103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 40 Hotels in Roanoke
Price Range: $51 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ramada Roanoke 2*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada Roanoke, Virginia is next to Rivers Edge Park & across Carillon Roanoke Memorial Hospital and conveniently located near the Roanoke River, Roanoke Memorial Hospital, Mill Mountain and Historic Downtown Roanoke. The Mill Mountain Zoo, Roanoke Star, Roanoke Civic Centre, Roanoke Farmers Market and Tanglewoood Mall are all within 2 miles of this Roanoke Ramada. This Hotel is now under complete new management and we have enhanced our Services and Amenities. Ramada offers Free Full Breakfast Buffet, Free High Speed Wireless Internet in every room, Fitness Center, Business Center(free), Outdoor Pool, Meeting and Conference Rooms, Banquet, Ball Rooms for Wedding and Reception. Ramada has 124 guest rooms including King Bed Room, Double Bed Room, Queen Room and Suites. Ramada also offers wheelchair accessible rooms, non smoking and smoking rooms. Small pets are allowed. Every room has free wireless internet, Satellite TV with HBO, Pay per view movies, Refrigerator, Microwave, Coffee Maker, Hair Dryer, Iron & Ironing board and Air conditioner. At Ramada We have 2 Ballrooms, We can Customize them according to your requirement. Outside Food is allowed in Hotel. Outside Caterers are allowed at no extra Charge. Kitchen is also available at extra charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ramada Roanoke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn - River`s Edge Hotel Roanoke
Ramada Inn Roanoke
Ramada Inn Rivers Edge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing