We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“worst hotel ever” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramada Roanoke

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ramada Roanoke
Ranked #29 of 40 Hotels in Roanoke
va
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“worst hotel ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2008

first of all, don't believe the pictures on their website. just imagine all the white surfaces stained with nasty black mold. This is the nastiest hotel i have stayed in EVER! We were even scared to sleep on the bed AND step on the floor in there. I can't believe the city even let's this hotel stay open. Those pictures were taken the first day that hotel was built and doesn't look nothing like that now. If you stay somewhere like that you might as well stay at a Motel 8 and get if for cheaper.

  • Liked — nothing, it was dirty
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank tty21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    77
    126
    154
    240
See reviews for
225
156
76
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2008

No reservation, just used a Interstate Guide and arrived to a run down, smelly room. Garbage still in the pail in the room. Musty smell. Stained carpets and ceilings. Totally unexpected from a Ramada named hotel. Obvious rentals to short term transients. front desk clerk polite and refunded our money without any problem at all but again I would not recommend this hotel as it falls far below the standard of the usual Ramada Inn.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank lormar53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2008

We booked 2 nights for a trip we were taking up through the Blue Ridge Parkway. We wanted to stay 2 days and then head back. We we arrived the room we were promised, which was supposed to be close to the elevator, which it wasn't , was not even ready. It was supposed to nonsmoking and the previous guests had smoked and drank plenty. The elevator and back partking lot looked like crack alley. I mean, it was scary. When we saw the room, we absolutely refused to stay. The beds were like pancakes and the rooms were old and dirty. I really would be scared to stay here. I will say the staff did not charge us and we got in our car and went to the Holiday Inn. Which looked like a palace after being at this hotel.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything, flithy and scary
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shermccormick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2007

We just arrived, coudn't find anything else in town, they wouldn't honour their own coupons, but we decided to stay anyway. I echo the other reviewers - it's filthy - corridors, lifts, rooms (even the walls of the rooms) do not stay here if you have a choice...

  • Liked — easy to find
  • Disliked — filthy
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SMENG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2007

I had to stay in Roanoke at the last minute for business. Unfortunately it was a Virginia Tech football weekend and there was little space available in the area. I booked using Hotwire and hoped for the best when Ramada popped up as my hotel.

The first room I received had something all over the carpet. Lights in the room barely worked. While my room was non-smoking, people on either side of me were smoking on the balcony so that smoke was coming into the room. I immediately asked for another room, which had a cleaner carpet, but one wall had rotted away from the floor. Light fixtures were clinging to the walls by wires. I had arrived at midnight, and began calling every hotel in the yellow pages to no avail. The bathroom was clean and was the room's only quality worth noting.

I could not recommed this Ramada to anyone. Oh, and the elevator I rode to my floor reeked of urine.

  • Liked — Check out
  • Disliked — Filth
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank merestead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, OH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2007

I booked this hotel so that we didn't have to drive the whole 12 to 13 hours straight from the Outer Banks on our way home to Ohio. When we drove up the "neighbors" we're out on the "veranda" sipppin moon shine. My husband turned to me and said "you go nowhere without me!"
This hotel was dirty and run down. It's only redeeming quality was the bed. At least it was comfortable and actually the mattress looked new. We were just happy to have somewhere to lay our heads and get some rest before getting up and driving another 6 hours. I also chose this hotel because they accepted pets. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. This place really gives Ramada a bad name.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank lyrehcsong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2007

When I went into the filthy oil stained elevator I should of RAN!!!
It was all to horrible , There were so many problems that I told
the front desk I was leaving and wasn't charged for the room. I made the choice NOT to stay please do the same

  • Liked — There was nothing to like except the first desk clerk was a very nice man
  • Disliked — Everything!!!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank TellAllInVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roanoke
6.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood
0.2 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#4 of 40 in Roanoke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Salem Roanoke Area
5.6 mi away
Motel 6 Roanoke
Motel 6 Roanoke
#22 of 40 in Roanoke
3.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
7.1 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Roanoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Roanoke

Property: Ramada Roanoke
Address: 1927 Franklin Road, Roanoke, VA 24014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 40 Hotels in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ramada Roanoke 2*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada Roanoke, Virginia is next to Rivers Edge Park & across Carillon Roanoke Memorial Hospital and conveniently located near the Roanoke River, Roanoke Memorial Hospital, Mill Mountain and Historic Downtown Roanoke. The Mill Mountain Zoo, Roanoke Star, Roanoke Civic Centre, Roanoke Farmers Market and Tanglewoood Mall are all within 2 miles of this Roanoke Ramada. This Hotel is now under complete new management and we have enhanced our Services and Amenities. Ramada offers Free Full Breakfast Buffet, Free High Speed Wireless Internet in every room, Fitness Center, Business Center(free), Outdoor Pool, Meeting and Conference Rooms, Banquet, Ball Rooms for Wedding and Reception. Ramada has 124 guest rooms including King Bed Room, Double Bed Room, Queen Room and Suites. Ramada also offers wheelchair accessible rooms, non smoking and smoking rooms. Small pets are allowed. Every room has free wireless internet, Satellite TV with HBO, Pay per view movies, Refrigerator, Microwave, Coffee Maker, Hair Dryer, Iron & Ironing board and Air conditioner. At Ramada We have 2 Ballrooms, We can Customize them according to your requirement. Outside Food is allowed in Hotel. Outside Caterers are allowed at no extra Charge. Kitchen is also available at extra charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Ramada Roanoke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn - River`s Edge Hotel Roanoke
Ramada Inn Roanoke
Ramada Inn Rivers Edge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing