We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not So Bad”
Review of Ramada Roanoke

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Roanoke
Ranked #32 of 40 Hotels in Roanoke
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We were most apprehensive after the wide variation in Trip Advisor ratings but were interested in a room with a built in Jacuzzi. We e-mailed the manager before booking and our concerns were well enough addressed that we stayed here 1 night in late September, 2012.

More care had been taken of this room than had apparently been taken of other areas (based on other TA comments). The room was clean and well enough kept but the Jacuzzi is in the same room as the sleeping area as can be seen in their web site. That led, naturally, to more humidity in the room and it became more of a novelty than a significant asset. The bed was good and a reasonable breakfast was available. We did not leave dissatisfied.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WatacheCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (759)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

653 - 659 of 759 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

We were in a group with 4 rooms. All where in the same shape. Curtains were torn as was the dust ruffle. Room smelled horible but airing 30 minutes it out did help. Bedspread had holes in it and was slimey. Carpet was too nasty to walk on barefoot. Sheets seemed clean. Towels smelled of bleach but where covered in some unidentifiable grey flakes. Probably from the stink bugs we shook out of one. Bathroom was moldy on the walls and floor was filthy. Shower head fell off for one if our party. The included breakfast bar consisted of some mini muffins, bagels, oj and 4 empty coffee pots. After waiting 30 minutes with no sign if coffee we went to starbucks. I normally only review if I love a place. This was by far the worst. Simply cleaning the rooms would have been a huge improvement. Drive a little farther and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vashti42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

In my opinion the infrastructure must be renewed. they are old.
For the sleep, once have to accommodate. The noise can be overbearing.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank LEVI F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Had been Traveling to Texas and back to Roanoke, Va. were not sure when we would arrive back in Roanoke. Called the night before to see if I could get a Room and was pleased to be able to make a Reservation at the last minute. Was able to get a Great nights sleep before continuing on home to Upstate New York. Staff is always very Friendly and willing to help with any needs I may have. Thank You Roanoke, Va, Ramada !!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Emogene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

On a recent trip to Roanoke, we chose the Ramada inn mostly for its price and location, but it certainly gives credence to the old adage, "you get what you pay for." The service was very average, the desk clerk did not initially give us the room type requested, so we had to go through that "let me fix it and then you can change rooms" ordeal. The room itself was musty smelling and the beds not very comfortable. Unfortunately we strayed on a night when the weather became very humid. The room air conditioning labored to keep the room slightly below 80 degrees and combine that with the in-room mini-refrigerator, it sounded like we were staying next to an airport. The continental breakfast was probably the worst I have ever encountered, with everything having that just out of the can and microwaved taste. I rate this one, try at your own risk.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I live two hours from this hotel - my healthcare specialists are in Roanoke, VA. This afternoon I am going to stay for my fourth overnight stay at Ramada Inn- River's Edge. There are no rooms available comparable in price in this area. The manager of this hotel is very involved in the community - Last visit in the waiting room of the hospital for surgery (after staying the night at Ramada Inn) there was an article of the hotel and manager of donations he donated to some cause (I don't recall what it was.) The rooms are clean, breakfast great, staff extremely kind and helpful. If you compare this hotel to a $150.00 a night room, you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rexingergirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I was there August 12, the staff was friendly, warm and wonderful but that was about the only thing good about the place. Rooms are old and need remodeled. Bathroom tubs extremely stained and scratched. Pool area - dirty. Whole place needs a deep cleaning from top to bottom. Paint might help some but so would a lot of tender loving care. Breakfast - well, not great but plenty of old pastries. Had I known that this Ramada was like this would have never stayed. This place is really sad! Like review before - bulldozers might help and start it all over again!

Room Tip: Just so it is not this place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DianneF50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
2.7 mi away
Sleep Inn Tanglewood
Sleep Inn Tanglewood
#22 of 40 in Roanoke
147 reviews
1.6 mi away
Colony House Motor Lodge
Colony House Motor Lodge
#20 of 40 in Roanoke
131 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#7 of 40 in Roanoke
754 reviews
5.6 mi away
Motel 6 Roanoke
Motel 6 Roanoke
#25 of 40 in Roanoke
267 reviews
5.6 mi away
Quality Inn Roanoke Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Roanoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Roanoke

Address: 1927 Franklin Rd SW, Roanoke, VA 24014-1103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 40 Hotels in Roanoke
Price Range: $45 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ramada Roanoke 2*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada Roanoke, Virginia is next to Rivers Edge Park & across Carillon Roanoke Memorial Hospital and conveniently located near the Roanoke River, Roanoke Memorial Hospital, Mill Mountain and Historic Downtown Roanoke. The Mill Mountain Zoo, Roanoke Star, Roanoke Civic Centre, Roanoke Farmers Market and Tanglewoood Mall are all within 2 miles of this Roanoke Ramada. This Hotel is now under complete new management and we have enhanced our Services and Amenities. Ramada offers Free Full Breakfast Buffet, Free High Speed Wireless Internet in every room, Fitness Center, Business Center(free), Outdoor Pool, Meeting and Conference Rooms, Banquet, Ball Rooms for Wedding and Reception. Ramada has 124 guest rooms including King Bed Room, Double Bed Room, Queen Room and Suites. Ramada also offers wheelchair accessible rooms, non smoking and smoking rooms. Small pets are allowed. Every room has free wireless internet, Satellite TV with HBO, Pay per view movies, Refrigerator, Microwave, Coffee Maker, Hair Dryer, Iron & Ironing board and Air conditioner. At Ramada We have 2 Ballrooms, We can Customize them according to your requirement. Outside Food is allowed in Hotel. Outside Caterers are allowed at no extra Charge. Kitchen is also available at extra charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ramada Roanoke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn - River`s Edge Hotel Roanoke
Ramada Inn Roanoke
Ramada Inn Rivers Edge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing