We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Be Fooled.”
Review of Ramada Roanoke

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Ramada Roanoke
Ranked #29 of 40 Hotels in Roanoke
Maitland, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't Be Fooled.”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Initially attracted by the low price and good TA reviews, we soon realized that we got what we paid for. Scary, dirty, old and smelly.
Pluses: Very friendly staff and a river walk very near the hotel that was perfect for traveling with a dog.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    81
    127
    159
    247
See reviews for
232
159
79
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Title says it all! Run down and dirty. toilet is barely functional. AC leaks on carpet. Lights only work occasionally. We have a block of rooms and all are about the same.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjpic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Ok first I want to start off saying I got what I paid for. My husband and I stayed for two nights. Frist and for most our room was old they had drop cords running from one outlet running behind our bed for the clock,and light,and the rest of the lights didn't even work. If you ask me that violates a code for running a bussiness like that. Our bed had a cigarrette burn on the sheets,mind you this was a nonsmoking room. The bathroom was ok had stans at bottom of the tub. Need to change shower curtain. Just say a lesson learned we will never stay at this low quality hotel again....

Room Tip: Hotels near the Airport are alot better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jasmine905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

As a UK visitor for the last 20+ years and having stayed at hundreds of hotels/motels in US this is the worst ever!!
I booked assuming the Ramada brand had certain standards,This hotel rooms were dirty smelly filthy and defffinately not the standard I was expecting from the brand (The brand being something you rely on when booking from 3000 miles away)
Front of house reception modern smooth and clean.
Rooms completely different. Balcony on 3rd floor walkway had 6in gaps at bottom.
Door to room had obviously been forced and lock worked now and again.
Carpets in rooms stained and dirty, no bath plugs and smoke smell in no smoking room.
Breakfast ok but being accosted on way back to room and offered illegal substances was the final insult

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 16, 2012

i graduated from virginia tech a couple days ago, and this was the only hotel that was available in a 50 mile radius of vt. my parents stayed in one room, and my husband, my 8 month old and i stayed in another. from the outside, the place looks like a dumpy old motel, from the inside, it IS a dumpy old motel. i cannot believe ramada associates itself with this place. the room smelled of mold, and when i was looking around the bathroom, i opened the curtain and the shower was covered in mildew. one of the blankets had a blood stain on it, and when we went to undo the other bed we discovered a wad of hair. so we moved back to the other bed and undid it, and discovered a woman's BRA AND UNDERWEAR. this was the nastiest thing i have ever seen in my life. we called the front desk and demanded to be moved to another room. we were moved next door, and the room smelled like smoke (supposed to be a nonsmoking room), but the bed was a bit better. we did discover a 6'' blood stain on the side of the bed, but we were willing to live with it. the bathtub didnt drain when i showered, and by the time i was done with my 5 minute shower it looked like i had just taken a bath. there was mildew everywhere. my parents also had a horrible experience. the worst part of all is that since it was during graduation time, rooms were $150 a night.

i would have rather slept in a tent outside. or better yet, on the ground. it would've been cleaner.

do yourself a favor and don't come to this place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashley6hatesramada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, West Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

RAMADA should be ashamed of this hotel and do something about it. It is filthy, the rooms are filthy, the power outlets do not work, the air conditioning does not work, the room smells, the television looks like it has been recovered after a previous "guest" threw it down the stairs. There is no river nearby but a septic stream full of trash. This hotel needs to be demolished and please do it quickly. Please?

Room Tip: Do not do it. You will be sorry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheGrumpyGourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012 via mobile

Place needs serious updating and cleaning. Breakfast was a joke even its own staff chose take out. Bed bugs. Painting needed really anything would help

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
6.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood
0.3 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#4 of 40 in Roanoke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Sleep Inn Tanglewood
Sleep Inn Tanglewood
#24 of 40 in Roanoke
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
5.6 mi away
Motel 6 Roanoke
Motel 6 Roanoke
#22 of 40 in Roanoke
3.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
1.6 mi away
Colony House Motor Lodge
Colony House Motor Lodge
#20 of 40 in Roanoke
3.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Roanoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Roanoke

Property: Ramada Roanoke
Address: 1927 Franklin Rd SW, Roanoke, VA 24014-1103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 40 Hotels in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ramada Roanoke 2*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada Roanoke, Virginia is next to Rivers Edge Park & across Carillon Roanoke Memorial Hospital and conveniently located near the Roanoke River, Roanoke Memorial Hospital, Mill Mountain and Historic Downtown Roanoke. The Mill Mountain Zoo, Roanoke Star, Roanoke Civic Centre, Roanoke Farmers Market and Tanglewoood Mall are all within 2 miles of this Roanoke Ramada. This Hotel is now under complete new management and we have enhanced our Services and Amenities. Ramada offers Free Full Breakfast Buffet, Free High Speed Wireless Internet in every room, Fitness Center, Business Center(free), Outdoor Pool, Meeting and Conference Rooms, Banquet, Ball Rooms for Wedding and Reception. Ramada has 124 guest rooms including King Bed Room, Double Bed Room, Queen Room and Suites. Ramada also offers wheelchair accessible rooms, non smoking and smoking rooms. Small pets are allowed. Every room has free wireless internet, Satellite TV with HBO, Pay per view movies, Refrigerator, Microwave, Coffee Maker, Hair Dryer, Iron & Ironing board and Air conditioner. At Ramada We have 2 Ballrooms, We can Customize them according to your requirement. Outside Food is allowed in Hotel. Outside Caterers are allowed at no extra Charge. Kitchen is also available at extra charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Ramada Roanoke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn - River`s Edge Hotel Roanoke
Ramada Inn Roanoke
Ramada Inn Rivers Edge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing