We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Second Visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Roanoke

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hyatt Place Roanoke
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
PA
Level Contributor
128 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Second Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel for the second time. Room was almost identical to the first one, but this one had a hook on the back of the bathroom door and the AC unit worked more quietly, welcome changes. The desk staff are very friendly and helpful. Our housekeepers were perfect. The lobby is wonderful for socializing. The breakfast is adequate. The woman who was serving breakfast was not friendly. I greeted her and she seemed reluctant to return the greeting. The biscuits were cold and very dry (sufficient to cover with gravy but not to eat by themselves), I got the last juice glass which was dirty on the outside. Had the server been more friendly or had there been staff in the breakfast area, I would have let them know about the glasses. I did get a latte one day which was very poor quality. I had to add sugar and a flavored creamer (although I had asked for a flavored syrup) to make it more than a cup of coffee with cream. Although beverages are offered, they are quite pricey. We paid about $5 for two bottles of water. Our room had no microwave, which would have been nice to have, and the sofa was a little stained and worn. There was a strong aroma of smoke in our hallway, both from the outside door which guest propped open while they smoked and from a service room (electrical?) which we noticed every time we walked to our room. However, it was a great stay and we look forward to our next one. The location is wonderful, convenient to many restaurants, nice mall, and the downtown.

Room Tip: We had a first floor room, which we liked because we had a lot of items to bring in and out. Howeve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yucatan-Admirer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    110
    70
    25
    8
See reviews for
134
85
25
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Davenport
Level Contributor
147 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We ended up here after deciding not to stay at the hotel we had reservations at. We were impressed the minute we walked in. The hotel has food for purchase 24 hours a day and a bar (though the bar is a bit pricy. Off the pool area was a space with tables and chairs for people to eat at along with the tables in the breakfast area. The employees were very friendly and helpful. The employee who checked us in upgraded us to a suite for the same price as a regular room so our two granddaughters would have a little separate space of their own. Food for breakfast was good. Only improvement I would make would be to add a laundry room for their guests.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavenportPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

I stayed for a couple of days this weekend, and my stay wasn't too bad. Compared to other reviews the staff seemed nice. The room my husband and I stayed in was spacious although our microwave didn't work. The bed was really comfortable. I only had a few issues. The place needs a deep clean, probably a new cleaning staff. There were holes in our sheets and when they were changed there was a stain on our new set of sheets. We also don't eat sunflower seeds but there were a couple on the floor, which needs a shampoo. The walls should also be washed, and the couch had a stain on it. The A/C unit should be cleaned. Also, there should be more options for breakfast and the food should be warm. All in all the hotel does have a lot of potential but just needs a deep cleaning and a new chief.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank tbell2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
102 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Beds seem a little old, they squeaked when we moved. Black out curtains worked good we slept til almost 9. Pull out couch was nice to have for the kids. There is a little wall to give the bed a little privacy from the couch. Bathrooms are small and could use and update. Wet bar area is nice. Doesn't seem like a new hotel but very nice especially for the price and if you need a bigger than average room. Would be good for business travel or families for sure.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank everm2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Tennessee
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This trip was to see family and our main interests are convenience to our route, good neighborhood, restaurants close by, comfort, and cleanliness. Breakfast was exceptionally good! I really enjoyed the breakfast sandwich. The charming hostess was just an added plus. We will definitely choose the Hyatt Place Roanoke on our next trip North.

Room Tip: Our first floor room was AOK!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TN_Traveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc
Level Contributor
102 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Our room was clean, the cookies on sale on the lobby were yummy, and the breakfast was average. All around what you would expect. Only problem was lack of foam pillows -- the hotel had none. Was able to get a better price than they offered on Priceline.com within minutes of pulling in.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank evieao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

We happened upon our first Hyatt Place by accident years ago due to a late arriving flight in Boise Idaho. We loved our experience there but rarely do we get a hotel when we travel. We have stayed at this Hyatt place in Roanoke twice now (2 years apart) and both times it met the high quality we experienced in Idaho. Nice pool for the kids to play in, decent breakfast, great tool layout and friendly staff. My only suggestion or complaint is that they brew the coffee so hot that it gives it a very burned taste.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank DoubleDec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
3.8 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#4 of 39 in Roanoke
4.5 of 5 stars 652 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Roanoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Roanoke

Property: Hyatt Place Roanoke
Address: 5040 Valley View Blvd NW, Roanoke, VA 24012-2038 (Formerly AmeriSuites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Roanoke
#9 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Roanoke 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great location at Valley View Mall; 2 miles from the airport, 5 miles from downtown Roanoke & 25+ restaurants within a 1 mile. Complimentary shuttle service within a 5 mile radius; including the airport.All rooms are suite style with living & sleeping areas, sofas, 42" HGTV, Free high speed WiFi throughout the hotel. Large indoor heated pool & fitness center. Complimentary hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hyatt Place Roanoke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Roanoke Airport/Valley View Mall Hotel Roanoke
Hyatt Roanoke
Roanoke Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing