We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Always lovely” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Place Roanoke

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hyatt Place Roanoke
Ranked #9 of 40 Hotels in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

We happened upon our first Hyatt Place by accident years ago due to a late arriving flight in Boise Idaho. We loved our experience there but rarely do we get a hotel when we travel. We have stayed at this Hyatt place in Roanoke twice now (2 years apart) and both times it met the high quality we experienced in Idaho. Nice pool for the kids to play in, decent breakfast, great tool layout and friendly staff. My only suggestion or complaint is that they brew the coffee so hot that it gives it a very burned taste.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank DoubleDec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    128
    74
    33
    10
See reviews for
158
104
27
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Petal, Mississippi
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Stayed with my wife and two children (3yo and 1yo) and had an excellent stay. Great service, updated clean rooms with refrigerator and microwave, good location at valley view mall and airport, and a great fresh breakfast with a ton of options. Thank you Hyatt Place - we enjoyed our stay.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank mkolvites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

Beautiful hotel with large comfortable rooms. The front desk staff was very friendly helpful. There's a bar and small area with cupcakes, cookies and desserts along with drinks, salads and sandwiches available for purchase in the lobby. Breakfast was suprisingly substantial with 3 different hot breakfast sandwiches, oatmeal and other standard breakfast food available (included in our rate).

The room was large with a separate seating area with a large L shaped sectional couch and ottoman, a desk and small wet bar area with a mini fridge. The flat screen tv was very large and turned to face either the living area or the bed so you could watch tv anywhere in the room. The room was very clean and comfortable. The mattress was a little firmer than we are used to, but we were very comfortable in the room altogether. We will definitely stay here again if we are in Roanoke.

Room Tip: Room 101 was quiet and close to the lobby and to the side door - very convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoxieDoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

I made reservations for a 3-night stay in a two queen bed suite about 4 days in advance directly with the hotel's reservation service, not through a site like travelocity or anything. After traveling about 8 hours with two little kids, checking in around 8pm, they tell me that they don't have any more two queen bed rooms (what we reserved) but that they have a couple of king suites available. I even called them the day before to check on the room and told them that we wouldn't be in until evening. The girl spoke with a manager on the phone and said that was all they could do. I then left and went across the street to the Hampton and booked a room instead, went back to Hyatt to cancel the reservation (since it didn't seem to matter if you had one or not) and was told the girl that helped me just a bit before was out on a shuttle run and there was no manager in until 11pm. Was able to at least get the new lady to get a manager on the phone to be sure we weren't going to be charged for the cancellation--the room looked great (from the pictures) and the lobby was neat, but they booked right over our reservation---their fault not ours! They tried to blame it on pilots that stay later or if people book from third parties like travelocity (which we didn't). BEWARE if you book a reservation with this hotel (even directly), they probably won't have your room when you get there!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tkress06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

My mother did me the favor of booking my hotel for tonight in Roanoke. Unfortunately, she booked my room at the Hyatt for the wrong date. The hotel had no more rooms, so the desk clerk called around and found me a room nearby. The real Roanoke stars are their staff. That kind of service would make me choose the Hyatt in Roanoke for a future stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjfore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

This was my second time staying at a Hyatt Place this year. The rooms are spacious and clean. I like the breakfast layout and the amenities such as the gym and indoor pool were nice. I'd definitely recommend!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

It wasn't really anything special... I've had better as well as worse hotel stays. The kids seemed to enjoy it, especially the pool, but nothing to write home about if you ask me... This was also like a year ago so it may be different now....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank raneshowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
5.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center
3.8 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#3 of 40 in Roanoke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Roanoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Roanoke

Property: Hyatt Place Roanoke
Address: 5040 Valley View Blvd NW, Roanoke, VA 24012-2038 (Formerly AmeriSuites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Roanoke
#9 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Roanoke 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great location at Valley View Mall; 2 miles from the airport, 5 miles from downtown Roanoke & 25+ restaurants within a 1 mile. Complimentary shuttle service within a 5 mile radius; including the airport.All rooms are suite style with living & sleeping areas, sofas, 42" HGTV, Free high speed WiFi throughout the hotel. Large indoor heated pool & fitness center. Complimentary hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hyatt Hotels Corporation so you can book your Hyatt Place Roanoke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Roanoke Airport/Valley View Mall Hotel Roanoke
Hyatt Roanoke
Roanoke Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing