We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Clean and friendly, nice business and small family oriented.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Roanoke

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hyatt Place Roanoke
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Clean and friendly, nice business and small family oriented.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Arrived during a softball and soccer tournament but overall, it was very quiet. Room was spacious and nice, better than expected. Came here for a church related issue, but really close to airport. Again, not an issue for me but might be for others.

Very close to shopping and food, anything from fast casual to casual full service. I love that the hotel has a bar and Starbucks coffee. Very convenient. Would stay here again if I come this way, but Hyatt has definitely been added to my preferred chains.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NicholasAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd R, General Manager at Hyatt Place Roanoke, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for the opportunity to serve you during your travels for church. We are happy that you were able to enjoy some of the added amenities such as the onsite Starbucks and bar. We hope that your travel does bring you back and soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    110
    70
    25
    8
See reviews for
133
84
25
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Ga
Level Contributor
109 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I chose this property over my normal go-to, Hampton Inn, because of location and price. I wasn't disappointed. The rooms are spacious, the location is convenient. The employees that I encountered were all very helpful. The hotel could do with a refresh (my couch was beat!) but overall I would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobZAtlanta_Ga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd R, General Manager at Hyatt Place Roanoke, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for giving us the chance to hopefully bring your loyalty to the Hyatt Place during your travel to Roanoke. We are so happy to hear that you left more than satisfied when staying with us. In addition, I want to thank you for the feedback regarding our couch. We are in the beginning stages of a massive room renovation to improve these details in our guest rooms as you mentioned. We hope that you will come back and see the newly renovated hotel if your travel ever brings you back to Roanoke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

the property is beautiful, great staff with good personality-everybody were extremely nice-quick check in, huge and modern rooms, lots of shops and great restaurants near by. the breakfast was great, with large variety of food.got great deal from hotwire.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaked p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd R, General Manager at Hyatt Place Roanoke, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
We are so happy that we could meet your family’s needs during your travel to Roanoke. I will be sure to pass these comments on to our staff to show what a positive impact they made on your stay. We hope to serve your family again if your travel ever brings you back to Roanoke.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This is your standard Hyatt Place, same layout, different city. It may have some age on it as the carpet was frayed and not as clean as I would like and the tile was stained. The room looked worn. The people are nice and welcoming and the prices are certainly good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cookie548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd R, General Manager at Hyatt Place Roanoke, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for allowing us to serve you during your travel. I want to make you aware that we are in the planning stages of a large renovation to include updating all of our bathrooms and many other items in our guest rooms. We hope that we have to opportunity to serve you again after the renovations are completed on your next business trip to Roanoke.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This was my last stop in a three day tour of the area. I got in after a very long day of driving. The check in was courteous and friendly, despite not mentioning my elite status (not that it matter much in a Hyatt Place, but my Diamond bonus points were not posted automatically after the stay). I declined the offered tour of the facility.

The hotel is situated next to a shopping mall with plenty of eating options in several minutes’ drive.

The room is a typical Hyatt Place room. What one would call a studio apartment with a living room, working area, bath room and a bed room, all connected with only the bathroom having a door. The room was comfortable and clean. In short the room was exactly one would expect. The only problem was that the air conditioning unit was quite loud.

Breakfast was a little of a letdown, although it did include hot and cold items. Variety was lacking; although what was there was indeed quite good.

All in all a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MDDCFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd R, General Manager at Hyatt Place Roanoke, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for taking time out of your day to give your review. I want to apologize for the air conditioning being loud and disrupting your stay. We have been in the process of replacing our units to ensure this does not happen in the future with any of our guest. I also want to apologize for not having the amount of variety that you were looking for with our breakfast options. Comments such as this will help us look at areas that we can continue to improve on. Lastly, I want to make sure that you did get your bonus points. If we failed to do so please let me know and I will get them added as promptly as possible. We look forward to seeing you again if your travel ever brings you back to Roanoke.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moneta, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This hotel is a great place to stay overnight when catching a flight out of Roanoke Airport. The rooms are spacious and clean, and breakfast is available, even if you are flying out early. If you prefer not to pay for parking and leave your car at ROA Airport, there is a free shuttle service to the terminal, which is only 1 mile away.

Located just around the corner from Valley View Mall, shopping is an option if you have time to kill. There are also several restaurants in the area if you need lunch or dinner.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd R, General Manager at Hyatt Place Roanoke, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for such positive reviews. We are so happy to meet your needs for breakfast early in the morning and providing the shuttle for your flight out. We hope to see you again when you need to catch another flight.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I have been in the hotel for one night on the 4th of july 2013 vacation. The place is nice and clean. The room is fairly big. The breakfast was really good with many variety, hot and cold. I will stay again if the hotel will be in the same condition.

One last thing is that we ask (when we checked in at 8:00pm) for the infant creb but this was not fulfilled and we all slept on the bed. may be this day was busy because of the 4th of july :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Omar_Almazroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd R, General Manager at Hyatt Place Roanoke, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
First let me start off by apologizing for not meeting you needs with the crib for your young child. Although it was busy it is not an excuse to fail to meet you needs. In addition, I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your travel needs during the 4th of July and the positive feedback you gave our hotel. It is our number one priority to stay in good condition and offer top notch service to each and every one of our guest. We look forward to seeing you again if your travel ever brings you back to Roanoke.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
3.8 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#4 of 39 in Roanoke
4.5 of 5 stars 652 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Roanoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Roanoke

Property: Hyatt Place Roanoke
Address: 5040 Valley View Blvd N, Roanoke, VA 24012 (Formerly AmeriSuites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Roanoke
#9 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Roanoke 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great location at Valley View Mall; 2 miles from the airport, 5 miles from downtown Roanoke & 25+ restaurants within a 1 mile. Complimentary shuttle service within a 5 mile radius; including the airport.All rooms are suite style with living & sleeping areas, sofas, 42" HGTV, Free high speed WiFi throughout the hotel. Large indoor heated pool & fitness center. Complimentary hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hyatt Place Roanoke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Roanoke Airport/Valley View Mall Hotel Roanoke
Hyatt Roanoke
Roanoke Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing