We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Eh just ok” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Place Roanoke

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hyatt Place Roanoke
Ranked #9 of 40 Hotels in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Sanford, North Carolina
Level Contributor
175 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Eh just ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

We were in Roanoke for a large volleyball tournament. We were greeted when we walked in and check in was quick. We had 2 rooms, king and double. Double was much larger than king but both good size. Unfortunately, king was right outside elevator. Lots of noise all hours. Elevator was loud as well as people getting on and off. Some of the noise was obviously from the tournament but heard several families with younger children discussing everything, starting at 5:39 am. Could not get wifi to work in room. Walked down to front desk as room phone did not work. Told to restart computer. They fixed room phone. Wifi still did not work but just told sorry. Workout room had 1 elliptical, 2 treadmills and 1 bike. Used treadmill, worked fine. Bed was comfy, so many pillows. Breakfast is fruit, bread and cereal unless you pay. We chose to eat fruit and then drive through mcdonalds. I was a bit disappointed in the continental breakfast though always appreciate fruit. Hotel is beautiful. Pool was fun for the teens. Oh air was not working in second room but we did not report it.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IMHO2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lcamper, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Roanoke, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
Thanks for taking your time to write a review on our hotel. As you can imagine the Shamrock Volleyball Tournament brings a lot of teams to the Roanoke area & our hotel. This is always one of our busiest weekends of the year; several people staying in each room creates a little more chatter & noise than you would experience on a weekday.

I apologize for the elevator noise & the Wi-Fi not working; I will be sharing your comments with our management staff for them to address with their departments.

Our breakfast will be changing in the next few months; it will include hot breakfast sandwiches plus other yummy delights. Hyatt has heard the feedback from Hyatt Place guests and are answering their request for an expanded selection.

I hope you will consider staying with us in the future & I appreciate your comments.

All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    127
    74
    33
    10
See reviews for
158
102
27
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

The room was excellent. We stayed at the Hyatt Place for a short romantic getaway and to see the sights in Roanoke. This was our first stay, but definetly not the last. My husband and I loved the room and the whole hotel. King size bed was super comfy. The room was perfectly clean. For the price we paid, this room was more than we could ask for. All the staff were super nice and very accomidating. We will definetly stay again on our next weekend getaway! Thanks Hyatt Place!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amytclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lcamper, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Roanoke, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
I am glad that we were able to help you make a memory making get away weekend. Our suite style rooms give you extra room to move around & the sectional sofa is great for relaxing & watching the 42" HDTV. The Hyatt Grand Bedding makes every bed so comfy you won't want to get out of it!

We look forward to your return & thank you for such a glowing review!

All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

Staff was outgoing and helpful! Suite had a nice lounging couch, desk, large tv, & refrigerator. Bathroom sink area is large and separate from the toilet and shower. Room had 2 comfortable double beds in a separated area. The free breakfast was ample with other options you can purchase. It was the perfect room for reuniting with an old friend. A great chinese buffet is in walking distance.The mall and almost every chain store are within a mile as well as several restaurants. Downtown Roanoke is just a 5-10 minute drive. This hotel is well worth the great deal you can get at Priceline!

Room Tip: Double beds seem small for more than 1 person. Bedrooms at the back of the room best because noise c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Awaywithyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
24073
Level Contributor
76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

This Hyatt had a self-check in which we loved. We got to pick which floor we wanted and the type of room. The pool looked nice though we didn't get a chance to use it. The Wi-Fi worked great. The bar area was nice both in both our room and downstairs in the lobby and there was a waiting area when you walk in with tables and such that were convenient. The bathroom in our room would be my only complaint. It is TINY. The sink is located outside of the bathroom area which some love but for me, I'd rather have space to get out of the shower without the toilet being in my way. The location is excellent. We went to Carrabas for dinner and it was one of about 50 choices of restaurant all within 5 minutes. There even a nice chinese place right in front of the hotel you can walk to. Overall... fine stay..

Room Tip: There are no jacuzzi suites in the hotel :(
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank candicegaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

After a snow-storm socked it to Roanoke and our flights were cancelled, my husband and I needed a place to stay near the airport that also offered a shuttle service. Another stranded couple let us know that they were staying the Hyatt Place, so we Pricelined the hotel and called for the shuttle. Within 15 minutes the shuttle arrived and we had a quick ride to the hotel. All the rooms are basically suites – large and roomy with a ½ wall separating the living area, with a sofa sleeper, from the bedroom. The rooms were clean and quiet, and the beds were very comfortable.
There is no restaurant or bar/lounge on the premises, but they do sell Starbucks coffees, alcohol (wine and beer only) and some sandwiches, etc. at the lobby counter.
There is also a large continental breakfast in the morning, though we left for the airport too early to enjoy.
A couple of negative items: 1. The sink is not in a separate room, so if you are sleeping and someone is using that area, the light and noise of the water, etc. is annoying. 2. The shuttle doesn’t start until 7 AM so we had to order a cab to get to the airport early in the morning.

We really liked the accommodations at this Hyatt Place and recommend it for business or casual travelers.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alarones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lcamper, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Roanoke, responded to this review, February 25, 2012
Thanks for taking your time to write a review on your recent stay at our hotel. The snow storm was our first for the season & it caused flights to be cancelled for most of the day. I am glad that you enjoyed your room & our complimentary breakfast.

As you mentioned the rooms are set up with the sink outside of the toliet & shower; this works great if 2 people are getting ready at the same time. But it can be annoying if someone is trying to sleep a little longer.

I hope that you enjoyed your trip & will stay with us again when you are in the Roanoke area.

We appreciate your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

Really liked this place. Self check -in was fast. The room has a nice sitting area and tv that swivels to be seen from bed or living area. Many media plugs are readily accessible on the wall of the tv for connecting PS3, iPad, etc. WIFI connection only requires your name...no ridiculous password to enter. Nice touch.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lcamper, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Roanoke, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
What a great endorsement of our hotel!

Thanks for sharing your positive review; it's great when everything works the way it is supposed to.

I hope that you will stay with us the next time your travels bring you to the Roanoke area.

We appreciate your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narberth, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
469 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2012

The personnel are friendly, but this does not make up for the cramped rooms and the mediocre bathrooms. I realize that this was not a Hyatt originally, but the the place is just so-so. While there is a complimentary breakfast, it is not suitable for those wishing a low carb selection of food. The wi-fi continues to be a problem.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank larryderm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lcamper, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Roanoke, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Thanks for sharing your experience during your recent stay at our hotel.

Let me share the BIG News on our breakfast offerings; they are changing to reflect the feedback from our guests on what they want for breakfast. The new offerings with include a rotation of breakfast sandwiches, waffles, pancakes along with the cerals, oatmeal, fruit, juices, yogurt & coffee. The new Breakfast Skillets are scheduled to be in place in ALL Hyatt Place hotels by June 1, 2012.

It sounds like you might have gotten one of our smaller rooms close to the elevators during your stay. Most of our rooms are very spacious with a distinct living & sleeping area.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again to check out the new breakfast & a standard sized guestroom.

Thanks for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
5.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center
3.8 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#3 of 40 in Roanoke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Roanoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Roanoke

Property: Hyatt Place Roanoke
Address: 5040 Valley View Blvd N, Roanoke, VA 24012 (Formerly AmeriSuites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Roanoke
#9 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Roanoke 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great location at Valley View Mall; 2 miles from the airport, 5 miles from downtown Roanoke & 25+ restaurants within a 1 mile. Complimentary shuttle service within a 5 mile radius; including the airport.All rooms are suite style with living & sleeping areas, sofas, 42" HGTV, Free high speed WiFi throughout the hotel. Large indoor heated pool & fitness center. Complimentary hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Odigeo so you can book your Hyatt Place Roanoke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Roanoke Airport/Valley View Mall Hotel Roanoke
Hyatt Roanoke
Roanoke Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing