We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Florida Panhandle, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

Great value, clean rooms, good service. This visit we ate at the attached restaurant and found the food to be a good value - nothing gourmet but a good value for the price!~

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DenPow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    110
    67
    30
    13
See reviews for
74
78
29
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, VA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

We got our room on priceline for much less than web rate. Everything was great here. Front desk was efficient. We were on 2nd floor with a King bed in the smoking section. If you do not smoke, make sure you get nonsmoking. My husband does so we got it. The smoke smell was very strong whenever you opened the door. You would think they would use room freshners. Otherwise it was great. There was a sofa and coffee table, desk Flat Screen tv with great picture, fridge and microwave. The room was very clean and NO bedbugs (I always check!). True the bathroom was very small, but it is a hotel. It had 2 vanities one inside bathroom and one out. Closet with mirror doors. The bed was comfortable with both firm and soft pillows.
Fitness room had up to date working equipment. There was an outdoor pool.
We ate breakfast at the restaurant the next morning, it was great, typical buffet bkt along with frsh waffles, omlets and eggs cooked to order for $7 per person. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gingerannlanier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Va
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

Stayed here when traveling on the Blue Ridge Parkway. The hotel was better than I expect from a Holiday Inn. The lobby looked new and modern. The room was large and recently renovated--new TV, bedding, carpet. Very comfortable mattress. Pleased to find a microwave and mini-fridge in the room. We ate in the restaurant for dinner, where the service was fantastic and the food was better than average hotel food. The breakfast was also good, with an omelet chef and full bar of meats, breads, cereals, etc. at a low price. I would stay there again if traveling through Roanoke.

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CultureBearer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

Booked this through Priceline, and am mostly just glad we didn't pay the rack rate for the room. The website for this property claims that all the rooms are newly renovated and that they have flat screen televisions. Neither of the two rooms that we are in have flat screens and the TVs in both are old and fuzzy. On the plus side, the room looks clean and has new-looking linens and the guy at the front desk was very nice.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rdw1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

The rooms are very very small. The furniture is old and bulky, which takes up more of the little space available. The bathrooms are small (don't expect two people to be in at the same time) and not very clean. The bed was comfortable (this is the only compliment I can give). I expected better because the lobby was so clean and inviting.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ieesha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida Panhandle, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

Room was very clean and pleasantly decorated. Had microwave and refrigerator. Staff was very pleasant. Very pleased for a stop while traveling.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DenPow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

We booked this place when we were looking for an apartment prior to our move to Roanoke. It was a wise choice. My parents now stay at this property every time they visit.

The building itself is a little aged, but certainly nothing to be concerned about. Our room as terrific, with a nice work area, an older but nice TV. The bed was excellent, as was the air conditioner.
The staff has always been friendly and professional.
The hotel has a standard restaurant, but the service has always been great. It also has EJ's Landing, a bar/lounge that boasts one of the best bartenders in the Roanoke, Tammy. She makes sure you'll enjoy yourself. We still occasionally go there for a night out.
The lobby has been recently renovated with new furniture and a LARGE flat-screen TV.
There is plenty of free parking on site, with multiple entry ways. The hotel is located across the street from a shopping center, and is about a block away from Tanglewood Mall.
Over all, I would readily recommend the Holiday Inn Tanglewood to anyone traveling to Roanoke.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pehland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
2.9 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#4 of 39 in Roanoke
4.5 of 5 stars 652 reviews
9.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
4.2 mi away
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood

Property: Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood
Address: 4468 Starkey Road Southwest, Roanoke, VA 24018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Blue Ridge Mountains, The Holiday Inn Hotel Tanglewood-Roanoke, has the best scenic views in the Roanoke Valley. Ideally located in beautiful Southwest Roanoke, we are just 2 miles from the Blue Ridge Parkway, and conveniently located adjacent to Rte 220 and I-581, the Roanoke Civic Center, Virginia Tech, Roanoke College, Hollins University, VA Western Community College, Smith Mountain Lake, Salem Civic Center, Historic Downtown Roanoke, Carilion Hospital, Lewis Gale Hospital, and Mill Mountain. Our hotel is the perfect location for your next business meeting or convention. Complimentary business center. Relax in the lobby by the fireplace or walk next door to Tanglewood Mall for a little shopping. Join us in the Elephant Walk Restaurant for "Comfort Foods Harvested Locally" serving Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner daily. The Elephant Walk Lounge is a great place enjoy our southern brand of hospitality and enjoy your favorite game on one of our 6 Big Screen TVs. Our beautifully renovated guestrooms were designed with the business traveler in mind. Each room has plush new linens, free WIFI, two dual-line speakerphones, extra outlets, new new carpeting and fresh new look on the walls and much more. King rooms include over sized desk with ergonomic desk chairs and sleeper sofas. All guest rooms have micro-fridges, great for family travelers. Pamper yourself in one of Jacuzzi Rooms/Suites. Priority Club Members enjoy special benefits at the Holiday Inn Tanglewood - Roanoke. Such as welcome bags & complimentary continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood Hotel Roanoke
Holiday Inn Tanglewood
Roanoke Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing