We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For $99 a night in Roanoke, we expected much better.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood
Ranked #12 of 40 Hotels in Roanoke
Reviewed March 3, 2009

This was an awful Holiday Inn. The bathroom was small and old. The toilet didn't flush properly, the bathtub wouldn't drain, the wallpaper was peeling off in lots of places. The room smelled smoky even though we requested a non-smoking room. One night a huge group came in at 2:30am making an unbelievable racket and the staff did nothing to stop them though they must have heard them down the hall.

The location was the only saving grace. But, I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (450)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

424 - 430 of 450 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2008

My husband and I stayed here for one night. We needed to be in Blacksburg, but everything was booked. This hotel is about one hour away. The room was large and clean. The pillows were hard and uncomfortable though. The front desk staff at night didn't know much, but staff during the day were more helpful. We booked on Priceline and got an unbelievable rate of $70/night. We're priority club members and special services for members were disappointing. There's a cocktail reception on week nights that the front desk staff forgot to tell us about. The free breakfast (only available for priority club members) was a disgrace - two hard bagels that you can warm up and two selections of cereal. We left and ate at the restaurant. I'd stay away from eating at the hotel - there are lots of restaurant choices nearby. I'd stay here again if I get a great rate.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Love2TravelVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2008

My wife and I came to Roanoke for a short get-away to celebrate our 43rd anniversary. After reading many reviews we chose this hotel for location near shopping, the Parkway, and fairly easy to get to downtown. I had arranged in advance for a local day spa to give my wife a massage,etc for the first afternoon. So, I wanted to check-in early,if possible , so I could read and relax while she was at the spa. On arrival the woman at the front deskwas less than welcoming,and said my room wouldn't be raedy for several hours(I was early) but no greeting, no "I'm sorry, but can you come back in a little while?" I turned to leave , and she got a phone call so I asked the young man at the desk with her how tro get to the Visitors Bureau. He had never heard of it, and didn't make any effort to help me find out where it was located. With that start, when I got to the room, there was no liner in the ice bucket, and the ice machine on floor #3 didn't work and I had to work my way through the renovations in progress on #4 to retrieve a bucket of ice.Otherwise, the room is adequate, however the carpet in the hallways is filthy. WE left after the first night to stay elsewhere. I was very disappointed after reading pretty positive reviews. I wouldn't return there. Staff needs to be reminded that the GUESTS are the reason they are employed,not a nuisance to be endured.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kingfather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2008

I attended a business meeting at this hotel and I was very impressed. The rooms were comfortable and large and I loved the micro fridge! The staff was very nice to me and made me feel welcome. The rooms were clean and I enjoyed the outdoor pool and the restaurant. I also used the exercise equipment and everything worked! The location is excellent and I will stay there every time I go back to Roanoke!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mandrewsPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2008

My colleague and I checked in to two adjoining rooms and went to our meetings. When we returned in the late evening and went to our rooms for the first time we found our rooms to be filty. We contacted the front desk were told that the hotel was fully booked (not the truth) and there was no rooms to switch to. The desk clerk claimed that they would write our complaint down in their log. Being new to town, with bad weather and the late hour we had no choice but to stay. The dust in the room was so thick on surfaces, moulding and headboards, spilled bottles of shampoo lay opened in the shower. Yuck. We could not sleep in the room and had a fitful night's sleep, fearful of touching anything in the dirty room. On checking out we also lodged a complaint. Upon returning after our business trip we placed many phone calls to the front deak manager and the owner Bhu Pesh Patel that went unanswered for weeks. When we finally reached the man he told us that he could not help us because there was nothing listed in their log book. Someone is clearly asleep at this hotel and it isn't the guests. If you have a choice- book somewhere else.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LALADY613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2008

The hotel was very nice. We came for a convention, so we only got to stay 2 nights. When we first walked in, I noticed straight ahead a ATM, luckily, and the front desk. To the left was a nice seating area with leather couches and a big screen TV. On your right was a corridor leading to the guest elevator and the business center. They had a cool elevator! It had a glass window on the side so you could actually see out and see what was really happening outside. Cool!!
We stepped out of the elevator and took a very brief walk to our room. We opened the door and checked it out. I put all my stuff on the floor and jumped onto the bed. I grabbed the remote and turned on the TV. By the way, they have LodgeNet. In just a few minutes, we went back down to the 1st floor and explored the rest of the hotel. Very nice for a Holiday Inn. A upscale bar and dining area was just outside the lobby on the left and on your right was the confrence area. It was very nice!!! It also came in handy to have a wonderful complimentary bathroom just outside of the confrence center, which came in hand after drinking 4 full glasses of ice water. Just steps away from the hotel was a FYE Music Store, Food Lion, and the Tanglewood Shopping Center, an indoor mall which was very nice. It featureed many useful stores that came handy on our trip such as the Movie Theater (Carmike Cinema), Staples, AC Moore Crafts, Stein Mart, Applebees, Chick-Fil-A, and JC Penny and Belk, which were both 2 stories. They also had a Gamestop, Steve and Barries, and more!!! Very nice. I soon found myself back at the hotel, laying on the bed for hours at a time watching cartoons and stuff. Very confortable beds, might I add. I would highly reccomend this hotel to anyone!!!

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ilovewashingtondc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2008

Stayed here on a Friday night traveling on business as I do 5 or more nights a week. I stay in this area several nights a month and usually stay at the Holiday Inn Salem at I-81 Exit 137 or the Hampton Inn at Lewis Gale Hospital. I wanted to try this hotel after reading the reviews. Well...as a Priority Club member and a business traveler a Friday night here was a mistake. All the "perks" of priority club (Lounge, Breakfast, etc) only occur for those lucky enough to travel M-Th. I should have know better but I reserved a "standard room" with a "King" bed preference. I ended up with a two double, adjoining room. The room was average with borderline acceptable housekeeping...ran the vacuum and dusted but the out of the way places were not plesant (under TV...corners of bathroom...behind furniture...etc.) The TV was on it's last leg with the red/green colors splitting on the image (kinda felt like I needed 3D glasses!) so I made the mistake of turning the TV to try and find adjustment knobs....yuck!

There was a big convention and lots of noise...the pillows were standard issue...motel 6 style...

The service was ok other than when I requested a single bed room I was reminded of the conference and the fact that they were sold out.

Oh well...it was just one night and I lived to tell about it...but I would recomend the 15 minute drive to the other Holiday Inn or Hampton.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TravelinManEasternUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
3.0 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#6 of 40 in Roanoke
749 reviews
9.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn at Valley View
5.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Roanoke
Hyatt Place Roanoke
#10 of 40 in Roanoke
548 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood

Address: 4468 Starkey Road Southwest, Roanoke, VA 24018-0611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range: $98 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Blue Ridge Mountains, The Holiday Inn Hotel Tanglewood-Roanoke, has the best scenic views in the Roanoke Valley. Ideally located in beautiful Southwest Roanoke, we are just 2 miles from the Blue Ridge Parkway, and conveniently located adjacent to Rte 220 and I-581, the Roanoke Civic Center, Virginia Tech, Roanoke College, Hollins University, VA Western Community College, Smith Mountain Lake, Salem Civic Center, Historic Downtown Roanoke, Carilion Hospital, Lewis Gale Hospital, and Mill Mountain. Our hotel is the perfect location for your next business meeting or convention. Complimentary business center. Relax in the lobby by the fireplace or walk next door to Tanglewood Mall for a little shopping. Join us in the Elephant Walk Restaurant for "Comfort Foods Harvested Locally" serving Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner daily. The Elephant Walk Lounge is a great place enjoy our southern brand of hospitality and enjoy your favorite game on one of our 6 Big Screen TVs. Our beautifully renovated guestrooms were designed with the business traveler in mind. Each room has plush new linens, free WIFI, two dual-line speakerphones, extra outlets, new new carpeting and fresh new look on the walls and much more. King rooms include over sized desk with ergonomic desk chairs and sleeper sofas. All guest rooms have micro-fridges, great for family travelers. Pamper yourself in one of Jacuzzi Rooms/Suites. Priority Club Members enjoy special benefits at the Holiday Inn Tanglewood - Roanoke. Such as welcome bags & complimentary continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood Hotel Roanoke
Holiday Inn Tanglewood
Roanoke Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing